We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Killer Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By the Sea Casitas and Guest House
Ranked #16 of 28 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Long Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Killer Place to Stay”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

By the Sea Casitas is really quite nice. The only amenity that it it missing is A/C but that was not really a problem for us. The cabanas all have big shutters on the windows which can be opened and they provide a nice ocean breeze.

The bathroom and showers were nice and clean and the water stayed hot. The kitchen with two full size refridgerators was cool and helped when we wanted to just stay in and cook our own food some nights. The wireless is fast enough to stream music and reached all the way out onto the dock.

The owners were building a second bathroom and a shade canopy to go on the dock so the property is just getting better.

We filmed this little video while we were there which shows off pretty much the whole property.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y08swMz_PjY

Great for large parties wanting a semi private space. I say semi private because the owners store their boat on the dock at the back of the property and walked through a few times. Also some children from another island got a ride to and from school via this dock so there were a pair of kids coming through in the morning and evening. Not a bog deal.

Room Tip: The room closest to the ocean probably gets the best breeze at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gold_Squadron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akik926, website manager at By the Sea Casitas and Guest House, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thanks for the positive review and we hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Love love love this place! I have travelled to many corners of the world and Casitas by the Sea still comes top of my list. Donna Manfrino is a superb hostess. The casitas and the boat house are a great place to put your feet up. Simple, clean and homily. Hammocks on the end of the dock are where I spent hours with a quick dive into the crystal clear waters to cool off, or for exercise a swim against the current. Local indians selling fresh lobster and crayfish off their canoes topped the bill, to be cooked in the boathouse kitchen if you know how! Water taxis will take you direct from the boathouse dock to any of the neighbouring islands and nightclubs/restaurants for a couple of $s. A short walk from the centre of town in a local neighbourhood, quiet and peaceful, canoes and bicycles can be rented a few doors down. I stayed on my own for a few weeks and also had the entire boathouse and casitas booked with all my friends for a great party time. Friends have since returned for a repeat stay. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akik926, website manager at By the Sea Casitas and Guest House, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Glad you enjoyed yourself and welcome back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at the Casitas by the Sea with some friends and had a blast. Walking in to the grounds you are welcomed by a stone path through a garden. The casitas are brightly painted and separate, and there's even a spa casita if you want to spoil yourself. We stayed in the orange one with a big bed for two and friends stayed in the yellow one which has twin beds. They are cute and simple with tasteful decor and everything is clean. The best feature is the breeze off the water and the communal boathouse which is a living room and kitchen right over the water! Showers are hot and outdoor and there's a shared bathroom. This is a special place to stay, close to town but away from noise. We had a great stay and would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Great to rent out the entire space for your group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mrolfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bocas Beach House
The Bocas Beach House
#12 of 40 in Bocas Town
20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
#4 of 40 in Bocas Town
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Sea Casitas and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Sea Casitas and Guest House

Property: By the Sea Casitas and Guest House
Address: North Ave and 7th Street | Bocas Del Toro, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Sea Casitas is a traditional Bocas syle guest-house featuring three simple yet yet everything you need, individual casitas on the water. Casitas are painted in bright colors and sleep a total of 8 people (purple sleeps 4 with 4 twin beds, orange 2 in a double bed and yellow has a king sized bed). They are paired with an ex-boathouse( now the main house) over the water that is home to a shared living room and fully equipped kitchen for guests to use at their leisure. Hammocks on the over-the-water dock become a place to hang out and enjoy the North side of Isla Colon (the breezy side).2 Hot water showers and private bathrooms complete the home. It is also walking distance to town or boat drivers can pick you up right off our dock.We have a swim ladder when you want to swim out front.Friendly owners are around the property every day and spa clients may occasionally need to use one of the bathrooms. If traveling in a group this is an ideal place to stay because you can take over the whole space! Spa services available if you want to spoil your self. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
By The Sea Casitas And Guest House Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing