We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bocas del Toro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Bocas del Toro was the best stay of our entire vacation. It's centrally located and and close to everything. It sits on the water overlooking the beautiful scenery. The room was big! We had a queen and two twin beds, great for our family. The hotel was quiet and clean. The hospitality and service was great as well. The only downside I'd say is the restaurant inside of the hotel. The food wasn't good and was overpriced. Other than that, it was a wonderful place!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank scfennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review! Convenience, comfort and we offer large rooms to accommodate families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    93
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
38
152
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This small hotel is just a few doors down from where the water taxi drops you off and is about a 5 minute drive from the airport in Bocas del Toto on Isla Colon. It is central and is located near many of the tour companies, restaurants, and markets. It is also close to the main town square/park. Don't expect a 5 star hotel but the rooms are clean and the window/wall air conditioner, while pretty loud, is effective. I would rather stay at a lower end hotel with a great location like this one than a 5 star resort located away from town. If you are looking for a 5 start resort, this is not it. This is for someone who wants a comfortable room with a great location.

While I was there, I met the owner, Miss Claire, and the bartenders were nice to me. They all speak both English and Spanish so Americans who cannot speak Spanish can get good service.

I also like that they allow late checkout (2 PM) for $40 extra. This will allow you to do something the day you leave and come back and shower before leaving.

Room Tip: I think there are only 11 rooms so I don't know if any one is better than the other. My room ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Location is everything! From the front steps of Hotel Bocas del Toro, you're just a few steps away from everything you'll need for a fun island vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
206 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel Bocas del Toro was a terrific hotel located right in the middle of town and right on the water. With our ocean view balcony we were able to drink in the special feeling of this island. The hotel had a wonderful staff and the Happy Hour Drink specials were unbelievable. When is the last time you had a beer for $1. The room was lovely with a nautical theme.

Room Tip: The ocean view was well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debrahawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We're happy all the time, not just during Happy Hour! Glad you enjoyed the hotel, the restaurant & bar and of course the beautiful view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel because our original hotel was not as advertised (you get the idea). It was ideal. Great location, fabulous, impeccably clean room, amazingly helpful front desk staff and invested owner. We are so thankful they rescued us from our original nightmare of a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAteacherkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
To the rescue! Everyone at Hotel Bocas del Toro is glad to help. Thanks for commenting on our great view, friendly staff and 'impeccably' clean room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Had a wonderful ocean view room at the Hotel Bocas del Toro. It accommodated the 3 of us quite easily. We loved sitting on the balcony reminiscing over the day's events. Carla, the owner was amazing and showed us some lovely beaches we would never have found on our own. All in all Hotel Bocas del Toro was the highlight of our visit to Panama. In addition, the margaritas at the bar were over the top and I think they were only $6.00. We'd return for another any day! Thanks wonderful staff at Hotel Bocas del Toro for an unforgetable experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pennylinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Bocas del Toro. We're so pleased you enjoyed the veranda and the maracuya margaritas! We look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Last minute decision to go to Bocas so ended up with an inside room, would have loved one facing the sea however can't complain room was pretty basic but clean and I slept well. I was surprised at the difference in cost and quality compared with Boquete but accommodation is generally more expensive in Bocas. Staff were very friendly and helpful, enjoyed the breakfast, all in all can certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 6491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
We're pleased to know you enjoyed your stay, the friendly staff and breakfast in the restaurant. Prices in the islands tend to be more expensive because everything is brought over from the mainland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Thanks to Danica and the owner Karla for making our one day stay more than just a whirlwind. A surfer dude on the boat ride over told us that it wouldn't cost us more than 50 bucks. Surfer dudes being more dufus dudes that wasn't the case.
The nightly cost was much more, but it didn't matter. Our first point of contact was with Danica, a ten year veteran of the establishment whose demeanor and engish were very impressive. She knew lots about the wooden history of the hotel. Which is its signature; nicely finished moderately wide wood panelling, with a nautical theme.
As we left late in pm to fly back to Panama City, she said it was no problem to use a room to shower off the salt from our day at the beach.
We were fortunate to meet Carla, the lovely owner of the hotel. She queried us extensively of what we thought was good and/or bad of our stay, and we had a frank and honest conversation, that included much interesting anecdotes of her 10 year ownership and Bocas del Toros itself.
Though our stay was short, I would think that this is and will be a long term landmark location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thanks for recognizing Hotel Bocas del Toro as an important landmark. Bocas is surrounded by gorgeous nature and has great nightlife, but It is also steeped in rich history. Our staff are pleased to provide great customer service and speak English as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#7 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#1 of 2 in Carenero Island
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#5 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
3.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bocas del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Toro

Property: Hotel Bocas del Toro
Address: #2 Calle | No 2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#4 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bocas del Toro 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly upgrade high speed internet along with Hotel Bocas del Toro Restaurant & Bar honored as one of the "Top" Caribbean Bars in the best spots in the world on Conde Nast Traveler's Gold List, ¨Cuisines & Bars, IPAPP. The Hotel consistently receives TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence". We've discovered that understated elegance in our Caribbean Wood Design and superior service are essential. From every vantage point, the ocean & island views inspire us to respond to the elements. 2013 Hotel Bocas del Toro was chosen and featured in the Conde Nast Traveler January issue under ¨Caribbean Secret Islands, The Bliss of Bocas¨, for our commitment to Sustainable Tourism over the last 11 years. Bocas del Toro's oceanfront boutique hotel, restaurant & bar are unique to this island paradise. Eleven perfectly appointed nautically inspired rooms, displaying thirteen different types of exotic Panamanian hardwoods, custom built furnishings, some with ocean view or town balcony rooms. We invite you to join us for a memorable experience at the best sustainable boutique hotel in Bocas del Toro, Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Del Toro Hotel
Del Toro Bocas Town
Hotel Bocas Del Toro Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing