We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The best part of my 6 weeks in central america” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bocas del Toro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
minneapolis
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The best part of my 6 weeks in central america”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here and got a last minute price and was very pleased. Room was on 3rd floor and view was to town which we loved very much. Sun was very hot on water side. Staff are absolutely lovely. Carnival was going on for 3 days of our stay. Very cute. Flying pirates quad rentals are a most. Island was very fun to ride around and see. Starfish beach is a must spend the better part of a day. Take water taxi to Bastimentos really cute and a fun little restaurant for beers and burgers. Take the water taxi's to Isla carenaro too and have lunch at pickled parrot and at lulus also.This area will not be a secret hang out long. It has so much to do and you will not be disappointed with this hotel. Carolyn does the best job along with her staff. This is to me the best place to stay. A tip do not get drunk and eat burger off stand at 2:00 am no matter how hungry or good they smell. I was ill for days and had to antibiotic. Remember this was still our best in the 6 week vacation in central amercia.

Room Tip: there are all types of rooms here to select from. Find whats in you're budget or you can splurge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elzabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    93
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
38
152
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a charming wooden framed building over the water in Bocas town, we had a town view balcony room that was beautifully decorated in a nautical style. Bocas is a lovely place to stay and this hotel is in the middle of the town and ideally located. The room was comfortable and one of the few paces we stayed with a TV. The only let down was the breakfast, which wasn't very imaginative, so we didn't stay for dinner. Otherwise the staff were friendly and the cocktails tasty!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah2JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The location is perfect. Everything was clean and neat. Coffee maker in the room didn't work, but that's ok, as friendly as the staff was, I'm sure that if I had said something they would have taken care of it. Staff was super nice and helpful. I upgraded my free breakfast with no problems (huge portion of bacon, eggs, and quality thick toast for just a small price to upgrade from the continental. Hotel was right on the water. Everything was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Unfortunately for some....my job is to travel the World.So there is many places i get to enjoy and visit.But Hotel Bocas Del Toro is a hidden gem.The hotel itself is very charming and impeccably kept.It sits over the water on the edge of the Harbor,where you can see the buzz of everyday life. The locals getting around in their out-board skiffs,taxiing the tourists to nearby islands,bars and restaurants.
I enjoyed sitting on the waters edge in the Hotel,indulging in their famous house cocktail,while the Hummingbirds flew around me.
The town itself is very colorful,the buildings are unique,the locals are very friendly and there is plenty of surf and diving.
Carla the owner was outstanding with her hospitality,and obliging a wealth of information of places to visit and see.
I highly recommend Bocas Town as a must see and Hotel Bocas del Toro a must stay!

Room Tip: Balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missjch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this cute little hotel, right on the water in Bocas Town. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and we were able to walk everywhere we needed to go in town. Since the restaurant doesn't open until later in the day, hotel guests can use the lounge chairs at the end of the dock throughout the morning which was a lot of fun! Overall, staying here ended our trip throughout Panama on a great note!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in mid-june 2013. Great location right on the water. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very comfortable. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bocas del Toro.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. Terrific service, fantastic view rooms, great restaurant, located right in the middle of Bocas.
Our room could have slept a whole family, three single beds and and a King. Nice large balcony with a great view of the Caribbean.
The entire staff was so helpful and so kind.
I would stay here again for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#7 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#1 of 2 in Carenero Island
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#5 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
3.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bocas del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Toro

Property: Hotel Bocas del Toro
Address: #2 Calle | No 2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#4 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bocas del Toro 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly upgrade high speed internet along with Hotel Bocas del Toro Restaurant & Bar honored as one of the "Top" Caribbean Bars in the best spots in the world on Conde Nast Traveler's Gold List, ¨Cuisines & Bars, IPAPP. The Hotel consistently receives TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence". We've discovered that understated elegance in our Caribbean Wood Design and superior service are essential. From every vantage point, the ocean & island views inspire us to respond to the elements. 2013 Hotel Bocas del Toro was chosen and featured in the Conde Nast Traveler January issue under ¨Caribbean Secret Islands, The Bliss of Bocas¨, for our commitment to Sustainable Tourism over the last 11 years. Bocas del Toro's oceanfront boutique hotel, restaurant & bar are unique to this island paradise. Eleven perfectly appointed nautically inspired rooms, displaying thirteen different types of exotic Panamanian hardwoods, custom built furnishings, some with ocean view or town balcony rooms. We invite you to join us for a memorable experience at the best sustainable boutique hotel in Bocas del Toro, Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Del Toro Hotel
Del Toro Bocas Town
Hotel Bocas Del Toro Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing