We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel great service”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a great stay. It is centrally located yet quiet. Very comfortable room and extremely helpful and friendly staff. I appreciated the access to restaurant menus, Miami Herald newspaper, coffee in the room for early risers. The hotel is beautifully decorated and maintained.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Panamachristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    109
    38
    11
    3
See reviews for
50
179
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel Bocas del Toro for one night with my boyfriend. We stayed during the Feria Del Mar, which is a festival they have every year.. food, crafts, souvenirs, and discos set up on the main beach on Isla Colon in Bocas. Because of this festival Panama was a little bit more crowded, and therefore prices were more expensive. I loved the design and architecture of the hotel, made of beautiful wood, on the water. They have a restaurant, and a bar area, plus breakfast is included. Breakfast was eggs, bacon, toast, juice and coffee or tea.

The room was clean and comfortable, but I think for the area, it was a little bit dated and small for the price you pay compared to other hotels close by. That being said, the location can't be beat. You are close to all of the best restaurants/bars and activities.

All of the receptionists were very nice and helpful, and one of them helped us book a taxi to Boca del Drago and Playa Estrella for the day. I highly recommend doing this! It's about a 1 hr drive to the other side of the island, but Playa Estrella has beautiful crystal clear waters, you can see starfish, there are several local restaurants on the beach as well. We went out on a small boat to a coral reef close by and snorkeled for awhile.

All in all it was a great trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mangohamaca11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Bocas was the first stop in our Panama trip, just after leaving the Costa Rica border. We stayed a couple of nights at the beautiful Hotel Bocas del Toro. The hotel is built on stilts, raises above the water like many other buildings in this area. Fine craftwork in wood, a beautiful decoration, comfortable, clean, and spacious rooms plus being close to the downtown action make of this hotel a very special and unique accommodation in Bocas del Toro. The restaurant has a nice view and allows you to have lunch on the outdoors terrace facing the ocean. Staff is nice and attentive and always willing to help you in whatever you may need. Special thanks to Carla the owner.

Room Tip: We liked best upper floor rooms. Streets can be a little bit noisy if you want to go to sleep early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christih85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

It is confortable, clean, hot water, a/c and very nice rooms. It is in the towncenter close to all the good spots. They have their own restaurant that is also very good and has a nice view. If you need some advise ask the girl in the front desk, she will give you good tips

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeydianaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

During the Bocas leg of our trip to Panama, my wife and I stayed at the fantastic Hotel Bocas del Toro. The wonderful wood craftsmanship, decor and placement (over water) makes you feel like you're actually on boat ready to sail out! The proximity to both the water & the town's warm & relaxing vibe makes it a perfect vacation spot.

When we arrived we enjoyed a great lunch on the outside terrace overlooking the ocean. The staff was really friendly and made us feel at home immediately. I still think of that delicious fish sandwich and Balboa cervesa I had!

Our top-floor room overlooking the town made us feel close to the action. The streets came alive from early morning and into late evening as we were there during Carnival! There was some outside noise at night, but with the door closed and AC on, we slept like babies. The bed was very comfortable. Linens were clean and comfortable as well. The AC worked great and kept us cool while we slept. We did have a few problems with the water pressure but the staff took care of getting the issues resolved quickly. That's something you should expect throughout Panama, infrastructure can sometimes be faulty. So keep this in mind when you visit and don't get irritated... you're on vacation!

The food overall was great. Service was also really nice and attentive. The breakfast was good and plentiful (although not their strongest service). The hot sauce served there was out of this world! We bought two bottles of it from the chef.

The staff gave us great recommendations of things to see and places to eat. I thank all of them for making our stay there a joy! A special thank you goes out to the owner Carla who went out of her way showing up at the airport to hand me my sunglasses (which I had left at a wine bar across the street). I really appreciated the kind gesture!

We loved our stay and if we're lucky enough to return someday, we'd stay there again without any hesitations. We definitely recommend Hotel Bocas del Toro...you wont want to leave!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PierreLFromMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2012

When I first arrived to Bocas, I wasnt quite sure where to go except "head to the water". From the airport to the water (a short 5 min walk), Hotel Bocas caught my eye. I typically "rest my head" at eco-lodges because the majority of my day is spent out side, but when I stopped into Hotel Bocas for a refreshment on the water and was greeted by the owner Carla, she was so informative and delightful with an absolutely amazing wait staff (hotel and restaurant), I decided to inquire about rooms for the evening. She had one! Beautiful nautical decorations, comfy beds, security locks for your valuables, hot water, A/C and windows. I was very pleased. Be sure to ask about the balcony rooms and inquire about "music nights" because sometimes (depending on the night), the entire town "shakes" with the base of the local clubs. Part of the local flare, but best to prep yourself for it so you are not irritated with a surprise disco party when you want some good shut eye! Thank you for a great stay Carla! Dr. Michelle Wolford

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMichelleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas del Toro Province, Panama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My parents and i stayed at hotel Bocas del Toro and had a Wonderful experience. We received an upgrade upon arrival since all the standard rooms where booked. We had planed a reunion with our friends and family in the restaurant at the hotel and the chef prepared a very delicious seafood dinner including lobster that my parents still talk about a year later.
The staff is super friendly and the central location of the hotel makes it a great choice for lodging to explore the town and surroundings.
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DolphinBayHideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
497 reviews
4.7 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
303 reviews
1.6 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bocas del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bocas del Toro

Property: Hotel Bocas del Toro
Address: #2 Calle | No 2 Calle, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 77777, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#4 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bocas del Toro 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly upgrade high speed internet along with Hotel Bocas del Toro Restaurant & Bar honored as one of the "Top" Caribbean Bars in the best spots in the world on Conde Nast Traveler's Gold List, ¨Cuisines & Bars, IPAPP. The Hotel consistently receives TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence". We've discovered that understated elegance in our Caribbean Wood Design and superior service are essential. From every vantage point, the ocean & island views inspire us to respond to the elements. 2013 Hotel Bocas del Toro was chosen and featured in the Conde Nast Traveler January issue under ¨Caribbean Secret Islands, The Bliss of Bocas¨, for our commitment to Sustainable Tourism over the last 11 years. Bocas del Toro's oceanfront boutique hotel, restaurant & bar are unique to this island paradise. Eleven perfectly appointed nautically inspired rooms, displaying thirteen different types of exotic Panamanian hardwoods, custom built furnishings, some with ocean view or town balcony rooms. We invite you to join us for a memorable experience at the best sustainable boutique hotel in Bocas del Toro, Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bocas del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Del Toro Hotel
Del Toro Bocas Town
Hotel Bocas Del Toro Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing