We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best guest service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Laguna
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Los Yoses, San Jose
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best guest service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Initially, Hotel Laguna was not my first choice because being a hotel their prices might be too high for a seasoned backpacker as myself, but was recommended by a source and later learned after a series of email correspondence their prices were reasonable and provided security within the room. Felix, the Administrator General, was also very sensitive toward my situation when I had to change my arrival dates unexpectedly and didn't charge my credit card till I had a confirmed date. The room, although not very large, was comfortable nevertheless, for a backpacker my main concern is where I sleep and feeling safe,and convenient to the local markets. If and when I return to Bocas, I'd book again at Hotel Laguna!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    17
    12
    8
See reviews for
12
27
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the experience. The hotel is conveniently located downtown, close to restaurants, boat tours/taxis, and a grocery store. There is a giant building being constructed across the street so the view wasn't so great and the noise was a little unbecoming while trying to have a peaceful breakfast. But that's not the hotel's fault. The complimentary breakfast options are okay - nothing spectacular but a good way to start the day. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioner worked great. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only complaint was with the bathroom - it was a little "worn-down" and the hot water stopped working on my second day there (of course, you don't really NEED hot water in Bocas!).

Room Tip: Because of the construction happening across the street (as of July 2012), it's probably not wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crista W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panamá
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I am from Panama city and I love Bocas. Ths last time I decided no pay more for an hotel. In previous trip I paid lot quantities for a room and did not deserve that. Hotel laguna is clean is centric and the service is excelent. The recepcionist is very focus in customer service and the ownership is always pending about any requirements that you need. But like in everything take in consideration the following:
- Rooms are noisy I was in room 3 and you can hear steps from the top. The second floor is made by wood and if you were bottom you hear all the noise. Ask for a room in the top but not for th front due to the front is the main street and is very noisy.
-they could offer you ice. I the rooms you have a mini refrigerator but it is not too cold just fresh and at the end of tours when you arrive at the hotel a cold soda or juice or water will be nice.
-Cable TV is acceptable but sometime the signal is not too clear.
Good things are:
-nice amvient good service.
-delicius breakfast three options mmm
-good air condition and very clean
I was very happy my family and I with this hotel highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panaglori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. The hotel is really nice and clean and the rooms are really comfortable.
The only complaint would be how loud the air conditioning is. We had to move rooms after the first night because in our first room it was sooo loud, sounded like an aeroplane was in our room and caused the walls to vibrate. It was much better in the 2nd room and the staff were really nice and had no problem moving us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cday84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The hotel and management were just fine for the price range. Yes you have to have ear plugs BUT you also can get a deck with a view of the main street and the park plus you are in the middle of the town with access to everything. Why walk when a clean, a/c room with good management is right there in the middle of town?

Room Tip: There is a building going up across the street during 2012. The noise can bother you if you stay too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed at the hotel 2 days, February 27-28, 2012. This hotel is right in the middle of everything you need : tour operators, restaurants, groceries, bank, bus, taxis! Prices are really good. So overall, this is a good hotel!

BUT... what makes Hotel Laguna an EXCELLENT hotel is the staff! First, Felix is soooooo helpful! Before I came to Bocas, we exchange quite some emails and he always answered me quickly and he can give you excellent advices about tours and everything. On the same day I arrived, he quickly booked me a taxi to Bocas del Drago because I arrived too late with the taxi-boat.

AND... Finally, another GREAT person is Andrea at the reception! Wow... she's been soooooooo helpful too! I lost my key, my money and my credit card at sea (yeah... what a nice day!!! haha), and she helped me transfering international calls to arrange everything and she's been extremely patient with me... she's a gem! :)

So... if I come back to Bocas, I will definately come back to Hotel Laguna! :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredzWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I rented a suite for 2 weeks and a regular room for a day. The suite was a good an especially good value. Quality beds and bedding. Cable, nearby store, right across the street, wi fi, Quality hotel and Excellent service from both Felix and his brother, Antonio They were quite knowledgeable about tours, day trips,schedules for all busses, and hooked me up with a wonderful and safe tour guide named Raphael Clark, who showed me around the area and then went into Panama City with me. I really had a good time art the hotel and found the rooms and the staff to be THE MOST efficient and clean hotel I have stayed at in years. Any concern I had was immediately addressed. THANKS ALL.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nightskydreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#7 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Property: Hotel Laguna
Address: Third Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laguna 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Bocas Town
Hotel Laguna Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing