We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A piece of history that needs a paint job in the rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Bahia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Hotel Bahia
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A piece of history that needs a paint job in the rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in August 2011 for 5 nights. The location is very close to everything and it's fun to stay in a historical building but there are some things I did not enjoy...
1. The reception people at the front desk were not very friendly even though I spoke to them in Spanish.
2. The walls of the rooms are very dirty and need painting.
3. The music from the club El Canto across the street can be heard inside the room even when the windows are closed.
4. The free breakfast is nice but it's basic and the menu never changes.
5. We only had hot water 50% of the time.
6. The view from our window was a broken down dirty home.

For the price, $67 it was fine for 5 nights. They will offer you a higher rate but if you speak Spanish you can get them down about $20 a night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia_TravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    48
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
17
50
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
185 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

This is the second time we stayed. Two years ago we satyed here after coming back from other island. This time, our flight got cancelled so we chose this hotel to stay.
Nice old Boca style wooden building is nice and a shared big terrace on second floor is very nice. But room is just ok. What you pay is waht you get. Location is great. So don't expect too much here.
By the way the restaurant across the street from this hotel is excellent with very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelProNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

This is the 2nd stay at the hotel but this time is my last visit. The room smelled of urine. The ceiling was freshly painted but a dropcloth was not used so the floor looked polka dotted. In the morning there was no hot water for the shower. The room is poorly furnished and dark. The room rate was $83 and I can only say that I was ripped off. The hotel was built in the early 1900's and it shows. There was a breakfast included which was ok.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cayrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Got to Bocas and went straight to the hotel Bahia...
Was nothing more then OK,
Kinda lame vibe and dark rooms...
Saw some really nice places the next few days when travelling the Island,
As I have already paid it all upfront I got stuck in the Bahia...
Not bad but not too good either...
My advice, check some other places before checking in…

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhonnycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivoli, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Bahia hotel served our purposes of having somewhere to sleep and eat breakfast. The breakfast was good but Bahia was nothing special, you can find better for the amount of money they charge.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank funtimeswanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

I stayed here with my family and another family for 3 nights, after staying a couple of nights at the Hotel Angela. The Bahia cost more, with extra unexpected charges for my kids (10, 13). This is my second visit to Bocas, and I think this hotel is typical of the hotels in the $80-$100 range. Decent air-conditioning (a must for me), good water pressure, pretty clean, but somewhat worn beds. The location at the south? end of town is nice an quiet, yet still just a real short walk to all the restaurants and boats. It seemed popular for tour groups.
The breakfast was better than at the Hotel Angela, but in general the staff was pretty unfriendly except for the young lady at night (and we do speak Spanish). The breakfast staff was as surly as I have ever seen.
Our rooms at the Bahia were considerably bigger than what we had at the Hotel Angela. So, if you are considering these 2 hotels, the Bahia is more expensive, has bigger rooms, better breakfast, and faster internet. The Angela has much friendlier staff, especially the owner, and is on the water, but a couple of extra blocks to town, and the wireless internet was slower, and seemed to be only available in the restaurant area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

This a great find. A clean and quiet hotel on the edge of Bocas. The best part was that there is a huge balcony on the second floor where there are chairs for relaxing or reading. The balcony is covered, so it was a great spot to be outside during the rainy season. Make sure to get up for breakfast, as you pay for it whether you go or not. Did not eat any other meals here. Really pretty old building.

  • Liked — The big porch. Clean rooms.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAS357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#7 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bahia

Property: Gran Hotel Bahia
Address: Calle 3a. y Ave. A, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Bahia 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located at the Southern tip of Third (Main) Street, in a majestic antique wooden building, that has already celebrated its hundredth anniversary and is still standing firm despite the ravages of time and the destructive earthquakes of 1917 and 1991. Built in 1905, it is considered one of the oldest buildings in the area. We offer the 18 most spacious and comfortable rooms, all of them with A/C, WI-Fi connection, Cable TV, safety boxes and private bathroom with hot shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Gran Hotel Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel Bocas Town
Gran Hotel Bahia Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing