We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food! We are going to be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Angela

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Angela
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic food! We are going to be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2007

My husband and I visited Bocas del Toro and stayed in Hotel Angela for two weeks in May 2007. We had an excellent caribbean experience. The room was modest but reasonably priced and very clean. Staff very helpful and always smiling. The restaurant was on the deck, literally on the water with the best view in Bocas. The food was exquisit. We have tried a couple of restaurants in town but ended up eating dinners every night in our hotel. Everybody else in town offered red snapper as the only fish choice. We had in the hotel restaurant a number of different fish including freshly caught tuna. Most of the ingredients are farm fresh organic and the hotel owner told us that they are working toward being an entirely organic restaurant. But the best part was the hotel location. It is off the main drag and quiet! The center of town is loud and busy and if one needs to relax the Hotel Angela is the place to be. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Quiet, on the water location
  • Disliked — Room smaller than usual
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ElkaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    38
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
12
51
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2007

We stayed one night in Room #9 before heading on to Isla Carenero. The room was small but very clean. It also has a small balcony. At the time we went there was a water shortage because it hadn't rained in weeks, and most hotels restricted water use to certain hours of the day (very early morning); however, Hotel Angela has their own tank and did not restrict our use. The staff is very friendly. Breakfast is light but good and satisfying: cornflakes, toast, and fruit. As we got up to refill our coffee, we noticed the chef put out empanadas (delicious) and homemade donuts (delicious), but these did not last long. Go to breakfast early and keep refilling your coffee! They have a very nice bar/restaurant right on the water that is nice spot to sit when it rains--which it does a lot!

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Angela, but Bocas is not for everyone. There are no beaches nearby. The nearest beach on Isla Colon is accessed by boat or a longish taxi, bus or bike ride. This is not the place to go/stay if you want to lie on the beach every day. To do this you need to take a tour to Zapatilla Island (beautiful) or Red Frog Beach (not nearly as nice as Zapatilla) which Hotel Angela can arrange for a very reasonable price.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, value
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pereztr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2006

We stayed in room 2. Small but adequate. The only problem was when we arrived we spent half an hour in the room killing mosquitos before we decided to go buy some insecticide. We got some spray from the store up the road and fumigated our room and then went out for dinner. It wasn't a big deal to us. This is a budget place and we just rolled with it. If you want luxury though there are plenty of places in Bocas where you can pay double or triple.

  • Liked — Good friendly service
  • Disliked — mosquitos
  • Tips/Secrets — be flexible
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank seaspecimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2006

We spent three night at Hotel Angela in room #9. Our room was small but had a balcony and was perfect for us. You don't spend too much time in your room in Bocas, anyway. The staff was very nice and helpful. Claudio, the owner of the hotel, was very personable and hospitable. We did two tours thru the hotel- a trip to Dolphin Bay, Crawl Caye and Red Frog beach and an afternoon on Cayo Zapatilla. They were very resonably priced compared to what we have paid in Belize and Costa Rica. The hotel was clean and well-kept. We would return to Hotel Angela in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank WallyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
286 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2006

We had read the reviews on Angela and felt this was the place for us to stay. This was our anniversary vacation so we contacted Claudio and booked the "Suite". We were told it had great views of the ocean and a wonderful jacuzzi. It was supposed to be the most "romantic" room in the hotel ( a room that cost 3 times the normal rate for Bocos). We arrived and Claudio was out of town but the staff was very sweet and put a banner and balloons on our door. I will acknowledge the staff, throughout our visit they were very sweet and did the best they could. Our problems began as soon as we walked through the door,.
1. The "balcony with the beautiful ocean view" was a closed in porch that you had to sit on bar stools to see out the windows. The "view" was the back of a wall, they had built a wall in front of the balcony and to see the ocean you had to strain to look either to the far left or right.
2. The fridge had left over food and there was a whole fish in the freezer. It looked like it was someone's apartment who had left for 3 days to give it to us and would move back in as soon as we left.
3. The jacuzzi did not work and hadn't worked for a while. We figured we would use it as a tub anyway. As the water began to fill the tub, it was dark yellow color and not very appealing.
4. We were right over the kitchen. Our floor was wood planks over the joists below. Every sound below could be heard very clearly as could every noise we made be heard below. So our "romantic" anniversary consisted of listening to the kitchen staff from 6 in the morning to late at night.
5. We tried to complain to the front desk manager. She was very sweet but spoke almost no English and we spoke no Spanish.
When we returned to the states we emailed Claudio and explained the problems we had. He apologized and admitted the wall had been there for a while and he was trying to fix the jacuzzi. We were not told any of this in advance. He said he would refund part of our money.
Several weeks went by and we had not received a credit onour credit card. We contacted him again and he said he could not credit us, it is not possible in Panama. he said he would send us a check. It has now been 3 months and we still have not received the check. I strongly urge anyone thinking of staying at Angela to consider our story. Claudio rented us this room knowing there was a wall and the jacuzzi did not work. He also never followed through with the refund like he said he would. I seriously question his integrety and whether you will get what he says.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank xcapeohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bocas Town hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2006

My husband and I looked around quite a bit before choosing to stay at Hotel Angela, and what a great decision! It was so clean, the service was excellent, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Every evening we looked forward to coming "home" to Hotel Angela. The owner Claudio is so kind and helpful, and the whole staff helped to make our stay in Bocas one of our best vacations.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2006

A great hotel, well situated off the main drag, with restaurant overlooking the fish. Excellent hospitality and very accomodating. We will go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
1.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angela

Property: Hotel Angela
Address: North Avenue, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Angela 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Angela, and its Restaurant Sol and Sombra, calms and enchants with breathtaking views of the beautiful Caribbean. Enjoy swimming from our deck, or just sit and fingertip toetip the cuddly soothing waters, refreshing cooling Caribbean breezes stir memories of Paradise with which we are all familiar. Please come, visit or revisit. You will enjoy as sincerely do we. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Bocas Town
Hotel Angela Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing