We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, low budget option in Bocas”
Review of Hotel Angela

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Angela
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is perfect if you're planning to visit Bocas del Toro, everything is perfect in this hotel. It's located close to the main street, but far enough away if you do not want to bothered by the noise at night. I stayed in the upper room, next to the stairs, which was perfect for me. Next to the airport as well.

You won't feel sorry if you book this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Messi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 111 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed three days and had absolutely wonderful time. Staff is very friendly, rooms are very clean. Free breakfast.
The most we loved is teresa with spectacular view into the Caribbean Sea. Locals with the boat brought us a fresh lobster and we cooked in the kitchen.
Restaurant and bar were closed because of the low season. Main street just 5 minutes to walk from Angela hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here for a few days and really loved this place. Really nice restaurant with excellent food & great breakfast, very friendly staff. We ate at the restaurant most nights because the food was so delicious. The hotel itself could use a bit of updating but the value was fantastic. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend it to anyone. Great value

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I paid thirty bucks a night--a great deal--for a large clean room with minifridge, TV, comfortable bed, and A/C. A/C unit works, but is the older variety, so it takes a bit of time to get the room cool. Plenty of hot water with decent shower pressure. Good breakfast included. Located on the water at the northern tip of Bocas, far enough away from the main street to ensure quiet. Walking distance (even with a backpack) to the airport. Accepts credit cards. Friendly staff. Professionally managed. For the price I paid, an outstanding choice...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBrandt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

good value for the money.Convenient to town and the airport

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise4946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This time, with some friends and we stayed in the Suite...very nice!
The good side is that you have plenty of space, your own kitchen (not kitchenette, full kitchen) and your own balcony...it is like having your own little home in Bocas.
The downside I must say that the breakfast was not that good this time, decent, but not as healthy and fantastic like before.
The location is very good, close to nice restaurants, but the best part was our tour guide, recommended by Angela's staff: Rafa! Ask for this guide, is decent, not overpriced, and a lot of fun.
If I am allowed to make some suggestion, I would say to the staff that they need to be more "sweet" to foreigner tourists. I am local, so I sort of understand the idiosyncrasy of my people, but some tourist are "sensitive" and they expect to be pampered 100%.
But hey, if you want to experience the real thing, and not pre elaborated formulas of tourism, this is the place...and I will keep coming back!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ktycastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I had a great 4 night stay at Hotel Angela last week. Just read the previous review, and while the facility is old my room (#12) was very clean, fairly recently painted and completely bug free.The staff is nice, if not exactly eager to go the extra mile, but this quite common in Bocas. I spent the entire winter there and found, especially in restaurants, that service is not something you get quickly from the locals, they truly move on Island time. It was somewhat disappointing that the restaurant and bar weren't open, but there so many places within blocks it isn't really a big deal. One of the best things about Angela ids the location, close enough to town to to walk to everything, yet just far enough away from the noise.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllenCrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
400 reviews
0 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
138 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
361 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
73 reviews
0 mi away
Swan's Cay Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel
#8 of 13 in Bocas Town
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angela

Address: North Avenue, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range: $49 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Angela 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Angela, and its Restaurant Sol and Sombra, calms and enchants with breathtaking views of the beautiful Caribbean. Enjoy swimming from our deck, or just sit and fingertip toetip the cuddly soothing waters, refreshing cooling Caribbean breezes stir memories of Paradise with which we are all familiar. Please come, visit or revisit. You will enjoy as sincerely do we. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Bocas Town
Hotel Angela Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing