We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Angela

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Angela
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

I haven't been there in a while, and took me a little to review this hotel, but let me tell you something, I am local, and I like this place so much that i ve been in Bocas maybe 5 times, and 4 of them I stayed in Hotel Angela! (the other one was my first time and I stayed in other hotel, total disappointment)..It is not a fancy hotel, but they have clean beds, nice staff and well located, what else do you need?? After a day full of activities, I can assure you that all you need is a quiet place to crash...and your breakfast in that deck: priceless! once I got the fortune to see dolphins while I was drinking my delicious juice!

Room Tip: Rooms in the second floor are nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktycastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioBocasdelToro, Owner at Hotel Angela, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Kindness is the cornerstone of Hotel Angela, as can be witnessed on each page of our website.

My favorite is by a young man who built our first web site. He says, ¨¨Love is like a Rose, Blossoming when you water it, Wilting when you don`t.¨

I so thanki you for your Kindness in Watering Hotel Angela´s Rose.

Sincerely,

Claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    38
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
12
51
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Room 9 was not as advertised on the site - then again, camera lenses can be tricky: the room was small, and the shower was adjacent (as in 24") from the side of the bed, and there was an odor that could only be described as stale Pine Sol meets musty basement. We stayed for 5 minutes. Maybe 6. They were kind enough to refund one (of the two nights pre-paid).

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioBocasdelToro, Owner at Hotel Angela, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Two other couples in your party stayed for the three days of your reservations. We did not charge for your vacated room but gave the paying member of your group the entirety of the 50% advance reservation charge for the 3 rooms, including yours.

Though you were offered other more expensive rooms for the price of the room you did not like,
you still chose to move.

We do our best to please our clients, but regrettably this did not work in this instance. And to repeat, your vacated room was not charged as you state.

Please come again, we hope to do better on your return. Sincerely, Claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bocas Town hotels

Great Northwest
Level Contributor
269 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We're a couple traveling on a budget, but for Bocas del Toro we decided against the town hostels and splashed out a bit more ($50/night for a private room with a bath) for Hotel Angela.

Pros:
Free breakfast
Cute, authentic Caribbean atmosphere
Very nice & helpful staff
Great location a block off the main street
Quiet
Clean & spacious
On the water!! You can jump off the dining room dock and play!!!
Right next door to a bike rental shop! And next to several good bars!

Cons:
None, really. I highly recommend this place if you're able to spend a bit more than hostel-level.
Eventually, we did have to leave. That is a downside. :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cool_jonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

My husband, two sons and I have been to Panama three times. During these visits, we always travelled to Bocas for a few days and stayed at Hotel Angela.

The location is ideal. Not in the middle of the festivities so to speak, so it is quiet, but close enough to all of the action if that is what you desire. The restaurant, which is located on a covered patio that is over the water, set the stage for a wonderful Bocas experience. Sitting there having a cocktail watching the water, lounging in the hammock that is available, or enjoying conversation with other travellers and staff at the large dining table gave you a tremendous sense of community.

The rooms are basic. Clean and functional. A/C and hot water.

The best part of this hotel is the owner, Claudio. He has a gentle spirit. He is living his dream and it shows in his happiness and kindness to his guests. Spend time with Claudio as you will leave Bocas knowing that you just met a truly lovely human being.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barmorska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Great food, and cocktails. The hotel is situated within walkingdistance of the central road.
Breakfast was served at the sea. The room is a bit old, but ok.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joesdepim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

If in Bocas Del Toro, stay at Hotel Angela. We stayed for a few days last January, just forgot to leave a review. Get a room upstairs if you can. The restaurant serves awesome food. Right on the water with beautiful Caribbean Sea views. Staff is very helpful with all your needs and will point you in the right direction for whatever activities you wish to do. Short walk from the airport.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nobic0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed in Bocastown for a week at Hotel Angela. The hotel is near the end of Bocastown toward the hospital and airport. Its location between two open lots makes it tranquil in the evenings and quiet at night. Had Room 3 downstairs. It was adequate for the price with good AC, hot water, all that is needed in Bocas. Owner Claudio is a very thoughtful and considerate man, and was helpful in getting info on prices for boats and tours etc. He is involved in the local community and helping the children get new books an equipment for their school. The restaurant is the province of Raquel, who along with her fantastic personality, provides delicious seafood and chicken. At time of this review, dinners ranged from around $6 minimum up to around $15 for complete dinner. In Bocastown this is NOT expensive for good tasting food (out at Coral Cay I saw lobster for $25!!!!!). I had the fish tacos 7 nights in a row for $7 a night. The included breakfast was adequate, omelette, toast, fruit, juice, coffee (tad on the small side at times). During the day the hotel is usually empty and if you like, you can swim in the water right off the end of the restaurant. Also, heads up, there are two upstairs rooms with balconies that get a breeze at night if you don't like AC. Hotel is located less than five minute walk from the ferry dock from Alimirante. Hotel is located about five minute walk past hospital to nearest real beach in Bocastown.
All in all, $50 per night for a quiet comfortable room with the necessary amenities with great food and quiet atmosphere was right up my alley.
Warning: If you are a big hotel, room service, high maintenance traveler, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE.

Room Tip: Stay in upstairs room for quieter at night and early morning, stay downstairs to save money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
1.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angela

Property: Hotel Angela
Address: North Avenue, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Angela 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Angela, and its Restaurant Sol and Sombra, calms and enchants with breathtaking views of the beautiful Caribbean. Enjoy swimming from our deck, or just sit and fingertip toetip the cuddly soothing waters, refreshing cooling Caribbean breezes stir memories of Paradise with which we are all familiar. Please come, visit or revisit. You will enjoy as sincerely do we. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Bocas Town
Hotel Angela Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing