We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right price; away from the madding crowd; but noisy”
Review of Cocomo on the Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cocomo on the Sea
Ranked #21 of 29 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Cocomo is a good fit for someone wanting to visit Bocas Town on a tight budget. The rooms are clean, if a little ragtag, the staff is friendly, and the view is nice.

This said we found the place very loud. The neighbors get up early and make plenty of noise. There is some trash that rolls up from the sea onto the B&B, and the breakfast was, well, unimaginative and paltry.

Cocomo on the Sea isn't the worst. It isn't the best either. It is a bit middling.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jphimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 130 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Cocomo is a lovely bungalow-style bed and breakfast right on the water in Bocas Town. Five star resort it is not, but this rustic gem is very clean, the staff is friendly and the breakfast is delicious. The owner, Douglas, is very kind and will help you plan day trips to other islands, beaches or to snorkel. At $70 per night, it was a great value and we were more than comfortable. There are lovey hammocks and comfy chairs on a big patio right over the water, making for a lovely place to read and unwind. Hot showers, laundry service and speedy wifi make it feel like home. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Douglas the owner was great! The rooms were roomy, clean, with a nice decor. The front deck was fabulous, right on the water with free kayaks to borrow. The view of the lightning storms from the hammocks were a favourite pre-bedtime activity for us. Breakfast was included and there was a decent selection to choose from. They had onsite laundry facilities available which we found was not that common, so it was much appreciated. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic; walking distance to everything. Douglas, we enjoyed chatting with you on your deck and partying with you at the Bookstore! We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suede444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

it's a really nice place to stay in Bocas. The rooms are big and nicely decorated. This small hotels soon feels like a new home. They have free kayaks for the host witch is great. The breakfast is really nice with fresh fruits, eggs, pancakes....the owner is very friendly

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanzade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at Cocomo with our 4 children and had a great time. Douglas the owner is incredibly helpful. The B and B is right on the sea, so you can swim straight from the B and B. The lcoation could not be better, it is very reasonably priced and the views are great. If you want a boat trip use Livingstone - the best!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at Cocomo on the sea for four nights back in April. I cannot recommend this guesthouse enough. The location is fantastic, right on the sea and just a safe 5 min walk from the center of town. The guesthouse is peacefull and has a wondefull communal decking theat backs onto the water. This area is where the wholesome breakfasts are consumed each morning along with the other guests. Complimentry Kyaks are available and Douglas ,the owner, is very helpfull should you have any queries. I was booked on the early flight out of Bocas so Douglas kindly prepared a snack box for me the night before and left it in the fridge so that I would have something to eat in the morning. I only gave a 4 out of 5 as one night the neighbours where quite noisy. Panamanians are football mad and the local team were playing, this resulted in the neighbours having about 30 people over to watch the match on their decking, trumpets and all!! This was a very small negative and really nothing to put you off staying at Cocomo, the hotels closer to the town center were probably noisy every minute of every day so a bit of noise for one night was neglagible. Overall I really enjoyed my stay here and would definatley recommend staying here for its great value for money accomodations,location and hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Method81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

On our visit to Bocas del Toro we were unfortunately met with 2 days of rain. We stayed at Cocomo on the Sea, and had a lovely time relaxing on their deck overlooking the water, and discussing plans with the front desk, who helped us organize alternative trips given the bad weather. We had initially planned on staying 2 nights, but left early due to the rain, and they were very accommodating of this. The breakfast was also excellent, and included in the price. Bocas is a laid back, beachy town, and you won't find "luxury style" hotels, which is part of the charm. Staying at a clean, friendly, b&b style place like Cocomo is really the way to go. Great value. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKCHICAGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocomo on the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomo on the Sea

Address: Avenida Norte and 6A Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range: $45 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Management!!! We are having such fun redecorationg the rooms, new staff, cooks, cleaning people! Building a new dock and changing the garden into a Pop-up music Happy Hour area! Come visit us and let us take good care of you in our intimate Bed and Breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cocomo On The Sea Hotel Bocas Town
Cocomo On The Sea Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing