We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay on Bocas”
Review of Cocomo on the Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cocomo on the Sea
Ranked #22 of 29 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Cocomo and enjoyed being able to swim in the ocean from right outside our room. The price was very reasonable and having breakfast right on the water was nice. The staff and owner were all very helpful and relaxed. We liked the location, being able to walk to nearby restaurants and bars, but being away a little from the Main Street. We were fortunate because we had the place to ourself and could use the waterfront hammock anytime we wanted!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Hank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Cocomo on the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 130 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

We chose the hotel based on trip advisor reviews and a friend s recommendation and I fell in love with the place. Rooms are clean and the breakfast is simply delicious and varied...there are amazing starfish in the sea beneath the sun deck ( please do not touch them) and the views are lovely. Douglas, the owner is very pleasent and helpful and adds to the hospitality offered by his lovely staff. the garden has very interesting tropical plants and I enjoyed hammocking to the sea breeze. Well done to the management.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaynecutajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Another wonderful trip to Bocas Town and another great stay at The Cocomo. I was so excited to see the new mural, which was being done last year as we left. We were a smaller group this year, we only had 2 of the rooms instead of the entire house. The place was full the whole time but everything was very quiet. Including the neighbors and their dogs. I actually enjoy when they have a get together and play music. It always ends rather early. This trip they only had one evening for a family event and it was over by 8pm. My favorite room is the one in the back next to the laundry. Doug had a new bed and a/c in the room. Better then ever. I dream about my Cocomo hammock time.

Room Tip: The two front rooms are great if you want to hear the water, but you will also hear the other guests...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrolfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Let me start off saying that these are my kind of people ! Now having said that, service was great breakfast was awsome best omelettes ever. Owner douge took great care in our stay, set my wife and my self up with a privite snorkeling trip with a local and reasonable price 60$ three locations. I must say i will defanitly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winwin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This place would have the potential to be one of the nicest places in town, but:
Hard to find sleep: It is very (!) noisy, not only because of the very noisy neighbours and their constantly barking dog, the hotel itself has thin walls, wooden planks where you hear every footstep, the door of our room also had a window to the hallway where light gets in - and of any reason the lights are on during the whole night, no matter how often you shut them. If you have one of the back rooms you hear the passing cars especially the cabs who love to use their horn. The two front rooms, facing the terrace and with ocean view, in former days the best rooms at all, now are a night mare. Dark, musty, old and worn mattresses, and: noisy! In former days the (huge) breakfast was served on the terrace facing the second building with the reception. Now the owner decided to use the terrace only for himself so breakfast is served right under the window of your sleeping room. This means as soon the staff prepares the table you'll be awake. People will sit straight in front of your window hearing every noise you make and vice versa. Talking about the terrace: although the hotel has only four rooms it can happen to you that you find the terrace quite crowded with people. If you start to wonder in what rooms they stay you might find out that they don't stay at the hotel at all - it is common for some of the residential ex-pats to use the terrace to wait for a boat that'll come to pick them up or just for socialising. Odd thing if you find yourself as a paying guest not able to take place on the terrace of your hotel because it is taken by other people...
Somebody wrote about padlocks: That's true: The door of of our room could only be closed by a padlock because it didn't have a handle. That means the door stands wide open if you don't lock it! So if one of the guests of the room wants to stay inside while the other one is leaving you always have to lock the door. This is a very unconvenient thing unless you are on your own. Doug the owner indeed is a very nice and friendly person, only that doesn't help much as most of the time he is not there while his also very friendly recepionist can't do much for you if you have complaints, while Doug himself stays friendly but simply doesn't care about the concerns of his guests. To sum it up: The place still has the advantage of a great location but is far too expensive for what you get in the end. There are so many other places now in Bocas who offer much more for sometimes less money, so no reason to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

very cute little B&B right on the water, only a 5 minute walk into town but its far enough from the core that you can actually swim in the water.

Awesome breakfast with more food then you could ever eat & good coffee. Cute clean rooms with good quality mattresses and linens. Fridge & freezer available as well as laundry & Wifi.

There is a big outdoor deck, eating area with open spots to suntan, shaded area with hammocks to relax and a nice view.


The only down side is the neighbors, which of course Cocomo has no control over. The neighbors seem to play really bad punta music from sun up to sun down and constantly yelling over the music, they also have two dogs barking through the day. It may have just been the weekend we were there, not sure if its like that all the time - but they must have had 20 people coming and going from the house.

That being said, it was still the best place for us to stay in bocas and @ $70 including breakfast its a steal. I would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwimFish26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We loved Cocomo! The room and bathroom were small and didn't have amenities some places have, but you are right on the water and the large deck is wonderful for breakfast and to relax. Doug was great and is from Ohio, so he speaks English. The staff were very nice and spoke or understood a great deal of English. My favorite thing, after staying in three other towns in Panama where we had to take a taxi everywhere, was the fact we could walk to everything in Bocas Town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie48-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
545 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sand Dollar Beach Bed & Breakfast
4.0 mi away
Bluff Beach Retreat
Bluff Beach Retreat
#4 of 6 in Bluff Beach
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocomo on the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomo on the Sea

Address: Avenida Norte and 6A Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range: $45 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Management!!! We are having such fun redecorationg the rooms, new staff, cooks, cleaning people! Building a new dock and changing the garden into a Pop-up music Happy Hour area! Come visit us and let us take good care of you in our intimate Bed and Breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cocomo On The Sea Hotel Bocas Town
Cocomo On The Sea Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing