We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Left me cold!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Raw Sushi + Martini Bar - CLOSED

Raw Sushi + Martini Bar
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The only bar in bocas to offer sushi and carribean fusion, as well as a wide selection of martinis. Not only for sushi-lovers, our menu offers a wide variety of dishes made daily with the freshest products. In order to maintain the highest quality of freshness in our product, certain items our subject to availability.Our cozy dining area offers oceanfront views, and the best breezes in Bocas town. Happy Hour starts at 6pm everday, offering $1 off all martinis and $1 national beers.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Left me cold!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We went to this restaurant looking forward to some serious overdose raw fish. We left hungry!
We asked the chef to prepare a sashimi plate (not in the menu) and he was accommodating, but we were charged $8USD for 4 small pieces of fish (not even 100gr!) that didn't have enough fat to make it tasty . The rest of the food was OK. The service pretty slow and bad (the waitress, with very poor Spanish and not much better English) spilled twice!! soya sauce on my legs when retiring the plates. Not much of an apology was muttered. The wine options (apart from sake) was very poor. The atmosphere and location are good, although pretty much all resturants in Boca have that same offering.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monstita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittany-morgan3, Manager at Raw Sushi + Martini Bar, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks for your response. Sorry to hear you left unsatisfied. The prices of that sashimi are at $1 a slice, and per order we serve 4 pieces of each fish, coming out at $4 an order. If you received a mixed plate, there would have been 8 slices, equalling $8.

Your waitress may have been from Bastimentos, where they speak "patwa", a mix of Spanish and English, which is also a major part of the Bocas culture. In this case, they do speak English and Spanish, but may have a thicker accent, and apart from Panamanian laws, it is important to give all the locals jobs. Sorry to hear about the soy sauce spill, we will work on our etiquette!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    50
    14
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
375 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great sushi and margeritas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We had now expected a sushi place in Bocas, but there is! A good variety of sushi and other Japanese dishes, no sashimi however. Service was slow, but hey, this is Bocas. The margeritas were really strong, and, as the name indicated a selectin of martinis. Both outside and inside dining, relaxed atmosphere.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Golfandtravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A must in Bocas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I lived in Bocas for years. This is a local favorite. The food and drinks are top notch, the new waterfront venue is awesome. Where else can you go to find a Buddhist Monk with a walker working as a bouncer? Yeah, rough crowd.

Miss you guys.

DIsclaimer: Of course I am friends with the owner. Everybody who lives in Bocas is.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas del Toro, Bocas del Toro, Panama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I love Raw !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Sushi is good by far the best in central america. I love what Brittany has done with her asian fusion.... tuna tartar is not just delicious but stunning to look at, Its art! Love all the fresh fish, the rolls are yummy and the banana dessert is to die for. And to top it all off there are great Martins (tried them all) I just cant say enough about Raw Sushi!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJLido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not same and different. No happy hour”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Something has happened to this place ....

Food is way below average ... While I was there the place was run by workers involved in extra curriculum activities. Received different sushi than what ordered.

No more happy hour so I see no reason for this place. It was a consensus while I was there ... Waitress were in a different world.

Avoid place ... Fish was not fresh and normal rice vs sushi rice.

Helpful?
Thank mtl450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittany-morgan3, Owner at Raw Sushi + Martini Bar, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that you had such a strange experience. I'm not exactly sure what you mean by people in extra curriculum activities? But over the holidays we have had extra staff working for better service and for the week over christmas we took out happy hour because we simply were not open during the happy hour time. The chef has been the same for 2 years, and the menu changes every 3 days to whatever we receive fresh so there is not doubt that the fish was not fresh, and yes, we do use sushi rice. Sorry again to hear that you were disappointed, please pass by next time and ask for the manager, and perhaps you can explain in detail about this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raw Sushi + Martini Bar also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing