We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay if you want to party...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Heike

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Heike
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place to stay if you want to party...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff, clean bathrooms, lots of people, computers and free wi-fi, air-con is one of the dorms for only $2 more (the temperature was perfect for me), great rooftop terrace, free pancakes (and syrup and sugar) for breakfast!

Cons: Dorms are very dark and a little cramped. The lockers are tiny, size of a shoebox (space for valuables like passport and money etc but not much else) so I found it a bit chaotic with everyone's stuff strewn all over the floor. Especially as you need a torch to find anything even with the light on!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dino_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    73
    36
    13
    19
See reviews for
2
44
89
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bocas Town, Panama
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

wow! how i enjoyed this bed (after sleeping in dorms with horrible hammockstyled beds). i slept like in heaven. they explained me that they bought new matresses. great idea! thanxxx!!!
it's a superfriendly pleace, easy to meet people, to party. with earplugs i was fine.
so enjoy your stay there with the new beds!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocket r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

The best thing about Hostel Heike is their top floor open deck with hammocks and couches where you can relax in the shade or sun and hear the music from town. Great place to chill with a book and look over the roofs of Bocas Town. There are also two computers up there with internet access if you can catch them available. Upper deck is closed at night but there is a second floor balcony up front where people gather.

The next best thing is the free pancake makings every morning.

Good location in the center of town. Lots of partying people from worldwide locations. A typical hostel, a little cramped for space. Bathrooms were clean and easily accessible to dorms. Room was cold but that was because other people in room wanted air conditioner way up, so it is weird to be cold in the tropics, but that's what happens when there are 5 other people in your room, right?

Across from the park. I am a sucker for nice high swings when the little kids aren't using them.

Have no way of knowing about reviewer who thinks s/he picked up bedbugs here, but sandflies (also known as no-see-ums) are common in Bocas and the bites can look/feel similar. It is wise to take precautions like light clothing, thiamine, coconut oil, and bug spray. They bite from dusk to dawn (yes, all night) and you often don't notice bites until later. Don't itch if possible and take antihistamines if it is really bad.

Room Tip: Not too close to the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choroni03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

PROS: very friendly and helpful staff; clean rooms, beds, linens and bathrooms; reasonably attractive wooden interior; an excellent rooftop area with couches, computers and a breezy terrace; well-located on the main stretch in Bocas, next to several cheap restaurants and tiendas; there's no bar (which means you can sleep at night if you so desire).

CONS: the A/C-ed dorm room is way too cold; the hostel is generally a little dark and cramped; there's no bar (which means you can't crawl up the stairs to your bed once you're done at 5 AM).

OVERALL: the better of the two hostels I stayed at in Bocas town, on Isla Colon (the other being Mondo Taito).

Room Tip: The A/C-ed dorm is brutally cold, which may be a good or bad thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timotei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

My problems with this place started before I even arrived. On their website they adverstise a private double, it was a good price so we went for that, in their reply they told us they have a ridiculous policy of 'not kicking anyone out' which means they don't reserve private rooms. Okay if they don't want to do that but it should be on the website. We decided to chance it and went ahead with the reservation, but if you arrive before 7 a.m as we did, you will have to sit outside until they let you in, not the greatest welcome I've ever had a hostel. Now because of their useless bookings system no private room was available, so we went for a dorm instead. This was disgusting, other people staying in the dorm had no respect for anyone else and all their belongings and rubbish was strewn across the room; this was in keeping with the general state of the rest of the hostel however. The bathrooms we're filthy. During the day we decide to go to the beach as this was a caribbean island, this only demonstrated it's terrible location. If you want to go to a beach while you are staying in Bocas you will have to spend money, either on a water taxi, bus [only runs twice a day] or hiring a bike. The town it's self isn't attractive it's rather scruffy and dirty, the locals are only interested in exploiting travelers, with not much to do after dark. The town is where the most serious problem, I think, with the hostel arises; it has NO security at all. Any character can walk in off the street, as happened when we were there, he decided that threatening people with the knives in the kitchen was the way forward, the staff were blissfully unaware that anyone not connected to the hostel was happily wondering round the hostel, who could have quite easily gone into any of the rooms. Around this time we decided enough was enough and we would leave the next morning, even though we had booked for three nights. That night demonstrated the fact that the walls we're basically transparent [you could see light coming in from other rooms] which meant you could here everything. Also we were awoken at 3 in the morning by a drunken girl sat in the hall shouting away on skype. This summed up our experience, just don't go, there are plenty of better hostels on the other islands which offer a far better options for enjoy Bocas del Toro, which is worth going.

Room Tip: There aren't any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brentonj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed there after reading recommendation in lonely planet. Hostal is cramped and the downstairs dorms with their concrete floors rather seem like a construction site. You can hear hot water boilers (I think) humming outside, which is the noise of a loud alarm clock - esp. nice in the morning... Staff not overly friendly, rather set for dealing with large amounts of guests being moved through.
The social area is nice and you get to meet lots of people easily. Thats nice. Location is in centre of town (which is not a nice town anyway).
Pro: meeting people easily
Contra: not really what I'd call "nice" so I left after 2 night and moved to island of Bastimentos
In island of Colon Starfish beach is nice, on Bastimentos "Bocas Bound" is a nice hostal near a lovely beach and in lovely green forest, liked it a lot

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohnblumenblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Yeah. Bed Bugs are all over this place, its SICK and not worth staying here despite the nice location. I just got home, the bed bug bites are just showing up and this hostel is the only place I could've come in contact with bed bugs... So gross....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingForBlondes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#2 of 49 in Isla Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
#3 of 41 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Heike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Heike

Property: Hostel Heike
Address: Calle 3, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Heike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Heike Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing