We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average is a bit of a stretch.”
Review of El Pirata

El Pirata
Ranked #20 of 71 Restaurants in Bocas Town
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average is a bit of a stretch.”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We found the service a bit lacking. The food was just passable.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank suhzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    134
    91
    37
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inedible”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Just...yuck. Really not good, particularly for the money.

Helpful?
Thank Sandia68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Crowds here are decieving”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I found this place to be packed every day I was in Bocas so I decided to try it out. The food was not good at all, and totally overpriced. Also the service was horrifically slow. Not recommended, though I can say that about just about every restaurant I tried in Bocas.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NICE SETTING, AVERAGE FOOD”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The seaside setting is wonderful and for those interested in a casual and quick meal, or simply a few drinks on the terrace, this is a good place to enjoy the moment. If you are looking for less typical food choices, you may want to look around.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ALWAYSLEARNING2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fancy prices, poor service. Big bubble...”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

It is a big bubble, the place is not worth of its prices. We spent almost 30 USD per 2 persons for dinner, it was equal to 12 USD dinner at other places. So I think it should be 3x better service and food, or someone made mistake on calculating price list.

English menu comes automatically with non English staff, waiting for drinks too long, got first one then 5 minutes later another one - one person had nothing to drink so far!
Food quality average.

Well touristic place, touristic standards. If you do not care of your money, go there, it is looking nice.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paddler_Hostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pirata also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to El Pirata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing