We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay at Mar e Iguana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Mar e Iguana
Ranked #12 of 28 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Leuven
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay at Mar e Iguana”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My friend and I stayed for two nights in the dorm (6 beds) with a/c. The hostel is located out of the city center, by a 20 min walk. So it is very quiet and relax!
Pro's: friendly and helpful staff, cheap bike rentals (5 $/day) and good restaurant
con's: only one shower and toilet, and the mattresses of the dorm were really bad...but Ricardo promised me he will do something about that!
Overall I would recommend this hostel:I also stayed at casa verde and hostel "spanish by the sea" and this hostel was by far the best!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelien I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    23
    25
    9
    8
See reviews for
6
35
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My roommate and I stayed here for just under 2 weeks over the new year and absolutely fell in love with this place. This was such a great little escape from the day to day we were used to in the bigger cities of Panama. The employees were amazing and truly made all of us feel like we were at home. This hostel seemed more like a family that other ones I have stayed at before. Plus they offered a ton of stuff to do such as, tours, bike rentals, and suggestions on what parties were going to be the best in town. I also really enjoyed the beach location which was directly across the street, you don't get that access in the center of the island. I personally think this is the best hostel to stay at in Bocas because it was away from the main drag and more set aside but still only a 10-15 min walk to the life of the island. I already miss it and cant wait to come back to see them again. I assure you that you will have a great time here and they will do everything to make you feel at home and have an amazing Bocas experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genesis0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We are a retired couple who have stayed in many budget hotels/hostels over the years. We found Mar e Iguana to be a great place, with very friendly and helpful staff. The price was higher than we like to pay but, hey, it's Bocas. We liked the location - it's a bit of a walk to downtown (20 min), but it's in a quiet neighborhood and steps away from a good beach. They recently started offering dinners which are excellent, and are an extremely good value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spacevoyager100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a nicely designed hostel, so I was really disappointed when the staff were so rude and aggressive towards us on our stay. The bar maid was totally lovely, but the two guys were really antagonistic and made us feel really uncomfortable, which overall made our stay very unpleasant. The hostel is located a very hot 20 minute walk out of town, which was pretty annoying after a few times, I wish we'd stayed in town nearer to the action, but I'd thought it would be a nice hostel to relax in - I was wrong.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihearttraveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheongju, South Korea
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Overall, I didn't enjoy my stay at Mar e Iguana. The people I met were nice, but the staff was pretty awful. The main guy always was very rude to me and my friends without provocation. The beds were like sleeping on cement - I had back pain every day. The Dolphin room (private double) which I paid more for because nothing else was left was very dirty, had no soap, bad WIFI, and was very small. The kitchen was good but small. Drinks were cheap. Hammocks smelled awful and were no protected from rain. The beach it is across from isn't very nice at all. Very dirty, the sand and the water. We stayed here for about a week and not once did they change our sheets or clean our bathroom, and I don't think either were clean in the first place. Do not stay here...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMeagerMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareiguana H, General Manager at Hostal Mar e Iguana, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the feedback, we are very sorry you did not have a good time at our hostel although this is the first time someone complains about our staff as we always try our best to be friendly and helpful to the guests, but we´ll take your comment into account to improve our skills.

About the comment you did of our hammocks, as you could see, this are for the use of all the guests,all the hammocks we have are placed in a tower which has a roof but the tower does not have walls, there is no point in having a hammock in a closed room. Our hammocks get washed once a week.

I think you are a little bit confused as you were with us for only 3 days and not a week as you stated in your review and as most of HOSTELS we do not change sheets or clean rooms every day, we get the rooms cleaned every three days unless the guests ask for it to be done before the three days, where we are more than happy to do it.

We try to keep our hostel as clean a we can, we have a person who is in charge of checking every single room after it has been cleaned to make sure that everything is in order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Overall, this was a great hostel, but if you have to stay in a dorm, there are lots of hostels in the area for the same price that are much nicer. It seemed that the majority of people who stayed here were long-term, therefore the dorm was very smelly and to say its cramped would be an understatement. The room did not feel any bigger than 10ft x 8ft and had six beds and small shelves that were not enough for one person let alone 6. We had no choice but to keep our stuff outside because there was no room to keep it in the room and there was no way to lock up valuables unless we gave them to staff (which they did offer). The dorm was certainly clean, but it smelled so bad that for days later, my clothes still smelled like it. The room was cold, but I had read that here and was prepared and wore my fleece/socks to bed and was alright. The common bathrooms were outdoors and not very clean, I never used the shower because it seemed pretty bad (only stayed one night).

However, the staff were incredibly helpful. I can't say enough good things about them. They were chatty, went out of their way to help you (they helped me book a snorkling tour when I couldn't do it on my own). It was great to chill in the hammocks and there was a very laid back vibe. The beach across the street is nothing that you would want to swim in, but made for a nice few on the deck. The private rooms seemed very nice, so please take this review only if you are thinking about the dorms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chara810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Avellanas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

After a pretty bad experience at another lodging, my boyfriend and I were eager to cut our holiday short and return to our home in Costa Rica. We decided to spend one night at Mar e Iguana and take the bus the next morning, but after meeting the staff, chilling in the Tower hammocks and finally feeling the Island vibe, we ended up staying for 5 days! The private room was exactly what we were looking for, no-frills but comfortable and with its own bathroom and patio complete with hammocks. The best part was the amazing art work all over the hostel, and the two story chill-out tower with the killer ocean view. We spent most of our time up there. Ricardo and the other bartenders were really friendly and helpful, telling us where the best beaches were for snorkelling and fishing (my boyfriend brought his spear gun) and places to get authentic Caribbean food around the island. Cuba, the rasta man, even offered us his surfboard to borrow for the day. We loved the location of the hostel, away from the noise and traffic of Bocas Town, but only a dollar cab ride away. By staying in this part of town we were walking distance to some beautiful beaches, fun waves and amazing marine life. If you're planning to spend any time on this island, then we highly recommend you check out Mar e Iguana !!

Room Tip: "Don't miss the Thursday night BBQ & Live Music"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casa-Surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#6 of 13 in Bocas Town
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
#4 of 40 in Bocas Town
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostel Heike
Hostel Heike
#3 of 40 in Bocas Town
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Mamallena Bocas del Toro
0.0 mi away
Hostal Bastimentos
Hostal Bastimentos
#7 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mar e Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mar e Iguana

Property: Hostal Mar e Iguana
Address: Playa Ismito - Bocas Town - Isla Colon | Frente a la entrada de la playa el Istmito, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 06-100, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Mar e Iguana and the Irie Lion bar is the perfect place to relax when you travel to Bocas del Toro. Sitting beside the Caribbean Sea just minutes from Bocas Town.Mar e Iguana has access to all of the activities this area offers, but it enjoys the serenity that makes Bocas Panama unique.Your key to comfort in Bocas del Toro...Specializing in relaxation and having great rates, the hostel has a wide range of features. Guests can get help scheduling tours, surf lessons, massages and other activities. Visitors here can also enjoy the nightlife of Bocas Town, with bars and restaurants only minutes away. For those who are more interested in enjoying nature, the sound of the waves has a calming effect, especially when heard from the hostels comfortable hammocks.Rooms at Hostel Mar e Iguana are also very comfortable and provide features you would expect in a resort, such as air conditioning, private bathrooms and free Wi-Fi.The Irie Lion Bar & Restaurant provides great drinks and special food every days, plus you can enjoy live reggae music every thursday.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Mar e Iguana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Mar e Iguana Hotel Bocas Town
Hostal Mar e Iguana Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing