We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Mar e Iguana
Ranked #15 of 31 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The double rooms are small, except for one. The bathrooms don't have hot water, neither soap. There is no room service and they could use more hangers in the room, because the weather is usually damp and clothes take long to dry. The shared kitchen is well-equipped, but there is no food provided by the hostel, and the refrigerator is tiny. The kitchen closes at 9p.m, and that means you have to finish up everything before that time.
The good things are the amazing high-deck with hammocks to chill and the bar/reception area, except for when the music is too loud (music starts at 8a.m.). You can rent bikes at the hostel for 5 dollars per day. The location is good, because it's not in the middle of the town, it's by the sea, a more pleasant area. And the cabs to town are really cheap (0.60 dollars per person), and you can wal to town in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed here because its close to the surf spots. They let me use their bike to ride around town. I put my tent under the gazebo for 5 bucks. They had a sweet party in the evening. The food was great, I danced with south american ladies all night!!! I recommend this place...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deanodeano32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The place is a laid back hostel with happy hr in the evening. They have a porch with hammocks where you can relax or check your email...just watch for the feisty mosquitoes! We rented a double room with our own bathroom. The room was clean but the mattress is not very comfy and the mosquito net was not placed correctly and it bother both of us while sleeping. There is no hot water on the shower but you might not need it in Bocas Town :)
The place is right before the entrance of Feria del Mar and it has a little beach in front but it is a little far from the center of the town, about a 15 minute walk. It is an ok place if you just need a place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabyrd80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Mar e Iguana is the perfect place to chill on Isla Colon, situated just on the edge of town and right next to the beach. There is a tower where you can relax in a hammock with a breeze and view of the sea on both sides. Mar e Iguana is the only hostel on the island (to my knowledge) which has space to camp, as well as dorms and private rooms.

It attracts a friendly, arty and musical crowd of all ages, which ensured I spend a lot of my time here and met many new friends. The hostel is clean and well kept, with a beautiful garden. The camping area has shelter for tents too, so you won't wake up being baked by the sun or rained on. I really appreciated that there was a kitchen available, which helps keep costs down.

The staff are very friendly and well organised - with lots of local knowledge, they give very helpful advice to make your stay in Bocas a really enjoyable time. Their bar is always a great place to chill to some great music. Thursdays are reggae nights - there is live music and bbq which is popular.

It's not far to walk into town, but they also rent bikes which are a great way to explore the island. Supermarkets and some great value restaurants are very close. The local area is safe and picturesque - to me it's a much better option than staying in the centre of town. I would recommend the hostel to anyone travelling to Isla Colon, whether for a short stay or long term. The only downside is that you might find it difficult to leave!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have nice little private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Flaneuress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Very friendly staff. Across the street from the beach ocean view from hammocks. Just outside of town so nice and quiet and they also rent bikes! Defnitly would return

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Very nice hostel - clean & great value! Our group was kind of rowdy..but the people working at the hostel & the owbers were amazing. Rooms are small, but its a hostel & you dont spend a lot of time in them & theu have AC. Only one shower & bathroom unless you have a private room, but even when hostel was full (even camping area) I never really had to wait. Tower & hammocks are cool & reggae night was great... Kitchen is small but functional. I would def stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hostel will appeal to a young crowd, maybe less so for older types. The private rooms are a bit basic but clean enough. The management are nice once you get to know them, but you will need to like reggae to enjoy this place because they play it a lot! In fact, noise tolerance was higher than my own personal level and I could have done without the guys who stumbled into room 7 at 3 a.m. on 27th February and started talking and singing. Now for the positives: Thursday night is the best time to be there, with their barbecue and extended happy hour. (I rate Balboa some way above the Atlas and both of them above Cerveza Panama). Some people have complained about the 15 minute wallk from the town centre, but I didn't mind this because it's quite a pleasant road through the quiet end of Bocas Town and gets you some exercise.

Room Tip: Upstairs to avoid people walking in the room above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamescollenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
435 reviews
0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
563 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#9 of 13 in Bocas Town
362 reviews
0 mi away
Swan's Cay Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel
#8 of 13 in Bocas Town
156 reviews
0 mi away
Jardines Vista del Mar Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mar e Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mar e Iguana

Address: Playa Ismito - Bocas Town - Isla Colon | Frente a la entrada de la playa el Istmito, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 06-100, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range: $7 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Mar e Iguana and the Irie Lion bar is the perfect place to relax when you travel to Bocas del Toro. Sitting beside the Caribbean Sea just minutes from Bocas Town.Mar e Iguana has access to all of the activities this area offers, but it enjoys the serenity that makes Bocas Panama unique.Your key to comfort in Bocas del Toro...Specializing in relaxation and having great rates, the hostel has a wide range of features. Guests can get help scheduling tours, surf lessons, massages and other activities. Visitors here can also enjoy the nightlife of Bocas Town, with bars and restaurants only minutes away. For those who are more interested in enjoying nature, the sound of the waves has a calming effect, especially when heard from the hostels comfortable hammocks.Rooms at Hostel Mar e Iguana are also very comfortable and provide features you would expect in a resort, such as air conditioning, private bathrooms and free Wi-Fi.The Irie Lion Bar & Restaurant provides great drinks and special food every days, plus you can enjoy live reggae music every thursday.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Mar e Iguana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Mar e Iguana Hotel Bocas Town
Hostal Mar e Iguana Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing