We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gringo's - CLOSED

Gringo's
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“delish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Amazing authentic Mexican! Location a little hard to find, but totally worth looking for.Highly recommend the Chimichanga if they have it on the menu.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    55
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton TX
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Muy buenos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Gringo's is a great place to eat and drink. Gary and
Laura are terrific hosts! The beer is super cold and the margaritas are the best in town. When you get ready to eat, there's not a better place for real Mexican food. I had the combination plate - chalupa and an enchilada. Soo good! I loved the salsa; it's fresh and tasty. Everything is homemade.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Mexican food and a fun time!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ate here for lunch and highly recommend it!! We decided to check this place out and glad we did. It is one block off of the main road, but is easy to find - just look for the signs that say mexican food on the main road that point you in the right direction. Great place right in a Bocas neighborhood.

Everything on the menu sounded delicious, but we ended up ordering the nachos and the smothered burrito. Everything was fresh and made to order - the burrito was smothered in tons of cheese and the nachos had the toppings evenly spread out. I get the feeling it's the kind of place that you can't go wrong no matter what you order. Also, start off with one of their margaritas, heavy on the tequila and perfect on a hot day.

As good as the food was, the most memorable part was hanging out with the owner, Gary, and a few other relocated Americans who were there just hanging out. We ended up having a couple beers, hanging out for a few hours and trading stories. It was great to make a few friends along the way on our trip. Gary gave us a few bumper stickers and made us promise to stick one in a fancy restaurant in New York where the food is five times the price and not half as good - we're going to take care of this soon!

While your in Bocas definitely stop by Gringo's, it was one of the most memorable parts of our trip!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsax516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“" Love That Shirt" Not!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is what I was greeted with as I walked into Gringo´s by some old guy a few years younger than myself. I was the owner Gary handing it out.
We had a great time talking about some people we both had know in Texas many years ago.I did also meet a few of the locals (Walter and Chip) and the party bus must have folowed me in to Gringo´s as the place was full of Expats after about 30 minutes.
The food was great and drinks were strong and my server was the best in Panama, which is funny as she is from Arizona. She also has a great smile and was also the best looking woman that I saw on my trip.

I will be back.

JW Wacker

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imjw777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Okay Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had to find good Mexican food in central american. This place was alright. I had the chimichanga, and it was good but maybe it was because I haven't had one in 3 years! The prices are a little stiff, but it was worth it. I would return to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LivingLifeByTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gringo's also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing