We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get the peanut butter pie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lemongrass - CLOSED

The Lemongrass
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Lemongrass - Asian Fusion restaurant on the Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro waterfront. We use mostly local seafood, allowing our menu to change daily according to availability. We have the best views in town, great drinks, and a unique mix of Panamanian, Asian, and Mediterranean cuisine.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Get the peanut butter pie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had two meals at the Lemongrass - definitely one of the best places in Bocas. Friendly service, large portions, delicious spring rolls, amazing peanut butter pie! Cocktails are pretty good too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adam e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    41
    18
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Food we had in Central America”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We just had two different kind of food at the absolutely overpriced Lemongrass Restaurant. A Red Thai Curry with Chicken without any flavor (~$9 excl. tax and service fee) and the meal of the day, a tuna filet ($12 excl.). Both tasted terrible. We told the lady that seemed to be the restaurant manager. We told her very nicely about it, but all she was interested in was to take the cash. Don't go there. There are some nice places to eat in Bocas Town - ask the locals. But the Lemongrass is just a rip off!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok, not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Positives: chicen satay was good, but peanut sauce was basically peanut butter; setting and view was lovely.
Negatives: food average - but I have eaten a lot of thai food, so have high expectations. Service pretty disappointing - they only take cash. My husband found this out when he tried to pay with credit card and was told rather snippily, "Honey, do I look like I can take credit cards?" My husband refrained from offering a snippy reply and went to the cash machine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenc1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mediocre food in Good Food toown”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

First night there, ordered fish, "sure to be good" we thought. Service ok, but two plates of a few items and the worst pieces of thin, tasteless fish ever. Lots of other choices in BocasTown.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hartman551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Islas de la Bahia, Honduras
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best part of eating at the restaurant was leaving...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

So. We walked in around 9 pm and the kitchen was still open but we were told it would be a long wait. No problem, this is the Caribbean after all. We placed our order for our first drinks, and then for the rest of our hour and half wait we went to the bar ourselves to order drinks and were totally ignored by the waitstaff. When we placed our food order not much was available and the waitress had to come back to the table three times to remember it all (for two people). The food was average at best and incredible overpriced. At least the manager behind the bar was kind of a funny lady, but the waitresses were horrible and we left regretting the entire experience. Go to Raw down the street.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lemongrass also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing