We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel!”
Review of Hostal Hansi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Hansi
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hostel!”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We moved to this hostel since we were not happy with our first option. We were able to have a good night sleep, the couple that runs the place are lovely. The kitchen is very nice and the upstairs double we had, had a lovely little balcony with a table and chairs. The bathroom was very nice. A great option if you don't want a party hostel and still not having to pay much more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emelie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    38
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
7
120
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stay here for a couple of nights with my girlfriend and we both loved this place.

Pros: very friendly and helpful owner who always seems to be around, big rooms with plenty of storage, just off main street - close to everything, big communal kitchen with everything you would need (each suite has it's own section of the fridge)

Cons: during out visit (Oct 2011) there was a building under construction right next door which was quite loud during the day since we were mostly out until sunset, this didn't bother us

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IK1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
814 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

It is true what fellow travelers have said about this place, and I've been to Central America 53 times (!): one of the best places to stay for the money. The rooms are immaculate, with ceramic tile baths, metal sinks, curtains, clean sheets, towels, hot water, a fan, pictures on the wall, nice paint, lending library, free wi-fi, communal balcony and kitchen with a fridge. All this for a minimum of $11 per night for a single! The owner, Heike, is so friendly, helpful, and knows how to operate a top notch place. So many others can learn from her. Come to Bocas del Toro (Bocas Town) just to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

A well ran and comfortable hostel. With an emphasis on safety and consideration for its residents Hostal Hansi is a perfect hostel for those looking for a quiet and comfortable stay at a very competitive price.

You are unable to book a room online/or phone and are vetted in person so to ensure the desired clientele. This suited us perfectly as we just wanted a haven to return to after the party and actually get some sleep! There was also lots of fridge space in what was a very organised and clean kitchen, meaning it is a hostel that you can actually cook in, which we found to be a rarity in Central America.

The staff were very friendly and professional and the place was kept spotless. No one was allowed to visit the hostel who weren't residents and there was always someone on hand to keep an eye on things. This offered peace of mind in regards to security.

Whilst the rooms don't have air con and the fans provide little relief from the stifling humidity of Bocas, the rooms had lots of character, were very clean and comfortable, and double doors leading onto their own private balcony. Most rooms came with an on-suite which were also of a very high standard.

The communal kitchen and comfortable social areas mean it is a great hostel to meet fellow like-minded travelers also.

A top notch hostel and we really enjoyed our time there. Bocas is a fun island as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Isla Colon has ridden a major development boom in Panama, is the best Caribbean island that can recommend.

Hostal Hansi, is a hostal same as hotel facilities, staff allow you to enjoy with a very relaxed community and friendly atmosphere, you can sleep nice and can pass a great happy time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This hostal in Bocas Town it was a very delicious experience.
I like this place because is very clean and quiet an the administrators Amina and Ricardo ohhh, very nice persons.
No doub, i" come back to this Hostel in my next vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Very clean and friendly hostal, in Bocas del toro, I can recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomcro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Heike
Hostel Heike
#3 of 42 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 50 in Isla Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Mamallena Bocas del Toro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Hansi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Hansi

Property: Hostal Hansi
Address: Ave. D & 2nd. Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Hansi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Hansi Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing