We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and excellent location”
Review of Hotel Palma Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palma Royale
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and excellent location”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great experience, staff is really friendly and helpfull. The hotel is located on main street therefore you have easy access to the ferry, water taxis and bars/restaurants. Rooms are really spacious and clean as well as their bathrooms, I definitely recommend Palma Royale if you are planning on going to Bocas del Toro.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy to hear you appreciated the quality of the Palma Royale.
We hope to see you in the future.
Thanks!

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    109
    40
    11
    5
See reviews for
64
192
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel was clean, quiet, comfortable, and wonderfully decorated. I Loved the large bathroom, the large shower and the awesome tile work! We enjoyed having a comfortable deck to sit on in the evening, looking out over the ocean (hotel sits across the small street from the water). The staff were all really helpful, including the breakfast staff. (Breakfast was great...loved the pancakes!) I had considerable difficulty nailing down the flight on Air Panama, and thus I emailed and changed my reservation request to Palma Royale several times, but they were very accommodating and patient. This is within short walking distance of many restaurants, but is just far enough away to be quiet. This is a great option for lodging on Isla Colon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Life-Is-A-Trip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We love the pancakes too! We are so happy to hear you appreciated the quality of the Palma Royale.
We hope to see you in the future.
Thanks!

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Very good location right on the main drag and not too far from ferry.

Nice looking hotel. Reasonable bar. Included breakfast nice.

Rooms were nice, but the only thing that let it down was attention to detail of decor. With some repair work they could be excellent. e.g. mildew on tiles, limescale on shower head, cracking plasterwork, wonky lightfittings... could do with general maintenance. But the general feel was fairly luxurious with hardwood furniture etc.

Other than that no complaints and the staff were helpful and nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StueyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel. Our maintenance staff have been made aware of your comments and management will insure they perform to our standards and yours.
Thank you for bringing your approvals and concerns to our attention.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bocas Del Toro!

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed in the penthouse four nights while in Bocas. My communications with the hotel prior to arrival were always prompt and courteous. We really enjoyed the hammock and views from the wrap around balcony. The two bedrooms and two bathrooms were spacious and we all found the room very comfortable. It was great that breakfast was included. The waitress in the restaurant during breakfast was quite nice. This hotel does have a great location. Close enough to restaurants but on the quiet side of the main drag. Things that could be improved on; I did feel that when we requested help at the front desk on a few occasions, we were being a bother by interrupting personal conversations of the staff. I was also double charged for the room on two different credit cards which has since been resolved but irritating none the less.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for the compliments, as well as your critiques. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We try our very best to make our guests feel at home while spending time with us here in paradise. We take pride in our ability to provide upscale accommodations complimented with prompt, friendly and efficient service.
Be assured that the staff issue was promptly addressed and corrected.
As to the credit card issue, doing electronic business in Central America has always been a challenge and we apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your patience. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bocas Del Toro!

Please enjoy your next arrival cocktails on me!

Very best,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and clean! We had a balcony facing the water which was lovely. The office staff was very friendly, but the breakfast waitresses were so mean that my husband was scared to ask for anything!! We found this to be true all over Bocas, but we just accepted the fact that it was nothing personal. I would stay in this hotel again if we went back to Bocas. Make sure you take the trip to Zapitilla! skip all the other spots and only go there!! It was amazing!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nocal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for the compliments, as well as your critiques. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We try our very best to make our guests feel at home while spending time with us here in paradise. We take pride in our ability to provide upscale accommodations complimented with prompt, friendly and efficient service.
Be assured that the staff issue was promptly addressed and corrected.
As to the credit card issue, doing electronic business in Central America has always been a challenge and we apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your patience. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bocas Del Toro!

Please enjoy your next arrival cocktails on me!

Very best,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Palma Royale was one of our more luxurous hotels during our holiday, and we stayed here for 2 nights. The room was quite nice, and well airconditioned. Also, we think the matresses were quite good. The breakfast was a bit basic, not meeting my expectations given the statue and the rate of the hotel. Also, the personnel appeared to be not really motivated: they were doing their job, answering our questions, but that's it.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room right behind the reception. One night we were waken up by an alarm coming from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Owner at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for the compliments, as well as your critiques
We try our very best to make our guests feel at home while spending time with us here in paradise. We take pride in our ability to provide upscale accommodations, complimented with prompt, friendly and efficient service. the staff have been made aware of your comments and management will insure they perform to our standards and yours.
Thank you for bringing your approvals and concerns to our attention.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bocas Del Toro!

Please enjoy your next arrival cocktails on me!

Very best,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Echo the comments about location (edge of town). Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, nice breakfast and dollar beers for happy hour! Stayed in the penthouse and absolutely loved it - the type of two bedroom apartment I would consider buying it was so nice. Great views, well appointed and very comfortable. The staff are unbelievable!! Very friendly and helpful and went totally out of the way to help with a problem I was having with Air Panama. The atmosphere in Bocas is very laid back and we loved the fact that we could walk everywhere (even to the airport if you really want to). Lots to do and very reasonably priced. Make sure you check out Playa Bluff - one of the nicest beaches anywhere. We were sorry we only found it at the end of our week.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noodlesromanoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you so much for writing an excellent review. We appreciate it and our future guests do as well.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Palma Royale and all the special touches.
Thanks so much!
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
497 reviews
4.8 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
303 reviews
1.7 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palma Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Royale

Property: Hotel Palma Royale
Address: Calle 3 | next to the ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#2 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palma Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to sincerely welcome you to the Hotel Palma Royale located in the heart of Bocas Del Toro,Panama. Upon your arrival into the quaint Bocas airport, we will meet you with a smile and personally take you to our residential refuge where we offer the best possible service and amenities. With a main street location on the water, you will enjoy a truly stunning view of the city, sea and mountainous terrain. The Bocas archipelago attracts visitors from all over the world; crystal blue water, tropical rainforests, jungle rivers, white sand beaches and amazing coral reefs are all part of the majesty that Bocas has to offer. We will personally arrange a host of Eco-Adventures in order to ensure that your experience is a success. Furthermore, all the rooms at the Palma Royale are designed with the perfect mix of quality marble, bamboo flooring, handcrafted cedar doors, high ceilings, tropical artwork and floor to ceiling windows. Come and experience something truly amazing at the Hotel Palma Royale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palma Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palma Royale Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing