We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accomodations”
Review of Hotel Palma Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palma Royale
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a lovely, above average property. New and clean, with a delux ensuite and finishes. Nice staff and included a great breakfast with excellent service. The rooms were suites, with a small sitting area, a seperate bedroom and a balcony plus another double bed. Very nice, and at the quiet end of town.

Room Tip: rooms near the front would have a better view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCPMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you so much for the Raving Review. When designing the Hotel, we had the option of doing small rooms and quantity or large suites and quality. You confirmed our decision. We are glad you found our staff as warm and welcoming as our Suites.
Thanks again.
The Palma Royale Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 435 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

The rooms on top 2 floors have terraces and views of bay. Rooms are large, modern, beautiful and comfortable. Location is perfect, close to center, but quiet. only off thing is mattresses covered in plastic- so every time you move in bed its noisy, a matress cover does the same work of protecting mattress and can be washed. This is my only complaint. Good breakfast. first 2 floors face a wall.

Room Tip: floors 1 & 2 face a wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank continentalflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you for your nice review of our Hotel. Comfort is important to us. We agree with your comments concerning the plastic mattress covers, we are replacing them now. The first 2 floors face a Tropical Flower Garden that borders the quaint small gourmet food shop that is next door.
Thanks again.
The Palma Royale staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here last May and it was wonderful. It's in a great location just on the outskirts of Bocas Town with easy access to water taxis, restaurants, bars, etc. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, nice and spacious, and the breakfast is great. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bocas Town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctierno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you so much for the Excellent review. It is rewarding to hear we are doing things right. So glad you enjoyed your time in Bocas del Toro. We look forward to your return visit.
Thanks again.
The Palma Royale Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for five days with my boyfriend and his family and together we had an economy studio, one bedroom penthouse suite and deluxe suite with two beds.

Overall I was pretty pleased with the location, amenities, and overall quality of the hotel - especially at the price! We were a stone's throw away from the pier, which made it very easy to grab a water taxi. And being on the main road made it extremely accessible to all the great restaurants. Breakfast was surprisingly good - make sure to get a cup of their delicious coffee!

My only knock is related to their service. On our last night, the hotel attendant lost our extra key so the couple staying in the room had to block to door with the couch to ensure that anyone who might have picked up the key would not gain access to the room. Not a very safe situation indeed.

That situation aside, i still think the Palma Royals is an excellent option for those who are looking to vacation in the Bocas del Toro area.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phinny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I loved staying here for a weekend. The location can't be beat -- you're at the end of the main strip in Bocas -- so you have all the access with none of the noise and heavy foot traffic. Breakfast is included, and it's delicious. The staff is very friendly and just about all of the speak English. They're very helpful if you need assistance planning your day. My friend and I split a room and we were both very comfortable. There's also free wifi. The only issue I had was with the bathroom. The sink is not very practical (splashed water everywhere), the water temperature of our shower was too sensitive to the knob, and our toilet buttons jammed one night. Other than that, we had a perfect stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Kristine,
Thank you for the kind words. Thank you for the compliment to our staff, it is always nice to hear from guests that our staff is doing what we have trained them to do. They do love their jobs.
Your concerns with the bathrooms are duly noted and being addressed.
Thanks again.
The Palma Royale Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had a good experience staying at this hotel. However, when staying at the hotel (though no fault of the staff), we did not have running water for 4 hours. Our room was very nice and felt very tropical. We had large ant problems because it was raining. The water pressure of the showers and sink were very minimal. Despite all these minor issues, our hotel stay was lovely. Great breakfast menu in the menu.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Palma Royale. Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We apologize for the water outage. The water problem in Bocas has been a long standing problem and we hope with time will be rectified. It is 100% better than 5 years ago and getting better all the time. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast menu, we believe that breakfast while on vacation is the most important meal of the day and strive to make it great at the Palma.
Thanks again.
The Palma Royale Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

After a long time of looking where to stay on the island that wasn't a hostel we found this amazing hotel. The place is gorgeously designed and priced well especially since breakfast is included every morning. The rooms are very spacious and modern and all have a nice balcony facing the water. The breakfast is delicious and you have options from the menu they hand out so at least you have some variety. The staff was very warm and friendly. The restaurant also offers a great happy hour.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissapalmaroyale, Manager at Hotel Palma Royale, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Daniel, Thank you so much for the Wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review. We are glad you found the staff friendly. Thank you for your comments on the restaurant, our cook is an egg expert!
Thanks again from the Palma Royale staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
403 reviews
0 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swan's Cay Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel
#8 of 13 in Bocas Town
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#9 of 13 in Bocas Town
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palma Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Royale

Address: Calle 3 | Next To The Ferry, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 0100, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range: $91 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palma Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to sincerely welcome you to the Hotel Palma Royale located in the heart of Bocas Del Toro,Panama. Upon your arrival into the quaint Bocas airport, we will meet you with a smile and personally take you to our residential refuge where we offer the best possible service and amenities. With a main street location on the water, you will enjoy a truly stunning view of the city, sea and mountainous terrain. The Bocas archipelago attracts visitors from all over the world; crystal blue water, tropical rainforests, jungle rivers, white sand beaches and amazing coral reefs are all part of the majesty that Bocas has to offer. We will personally arrange a host of Eco-Adventures in order to ensure that your experience is a success. Furthermore, all the rooms at the Palma Royale are designed with the perfect mix of quality marble, bamboo flooring, handcrafted cedar doors, high ceilings, tropical artwork and floor to ceiling windows. Come and experience something truly amazing at the Hotel Palma Royale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palma Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palma Royale Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing