We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little slice of paradise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed here as a group of 4 and we had a private room with air con (amazing!). The place has a great atmosphere and it serves really good quality food at reasonable prices and great priced beer! It was the perfect place to hang out next to the water and hammocks with music and happy people. I would definitely recommend staying here. It's also a great place just to hang out even if you have already booked a hostel elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 186 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

The most lively hipster hostel on the sea in Isla Colon, I've spent 8 nights there in a private room and I loved it, good breakfast then every morning there's a boat sailing around 10am/11am from their peer that will take you out to eat and tour islands for about US$20/US$25 per person (prices november 2013), just ask the reception beforehand. Nice vibe in the evening, graffiti all over. You can stay out on the hammock also when it rains, which will very likely be every afternoon before and after soaking up in the sun. Friendly staff. Walking distance from the airport. Near the main street where you will find most of the restaurants and tour operators if the one provided by the hostel doesn't take you where you want. For paying just a fraction of the price of a Hotel I got a big room and the perfect place to stay. They are also on facebook https://www.facebook.com/CasaVerdeBocas

Room Tip: I can't tell about the dorm but private rooms are clean, given the location on the sea and the h...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FFFFFra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great place, don't know the place before, but it's under new management, so looks clean, live music, food is nice;) looking for nice place and chilled atmosphere, a cheap beer and food, place to jump in the water;) really the location is great;)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boomshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Doesn't sound like a grabber but I think it's fair. I was recommended this by a friend and didn't check the reviews until the morning before so I was a bit nervous to stay but it was absolutely fine!!! A lot of these reviews are a bit ridiculous - you are staying in a hostel in Central America so keep in mind it's probably not the cleanest place you've laid your eyes on, locals will try and sell you things and all of the hostels are small. The staff are really friendly. I was really impressed with the safety, as I left early for a flight and the gates all locked up with a man beside ensuring safely. They organize torus to red frog/day trips which I recommend. I would definitely stay here again as it was the only hostel on the water and not on the street.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank semill11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Interesting to see all the negative reviews.. I stayed at Casa Verse for 3 nights, over a weekend ( Friday & Saturday included ) and had a great time - Casa Verde is not a party hostel. Music is shut down by 11 and the main door locked to all outsiders. Because the nightlife in town is great, people go out to party at night to Aqua Lounge or Iguana, they don't party at home. It's ALWAYS ladies night somewhere in town.

Staff were very friendly and accommodating, both front desk and kitchen/bar specifically. Rooms were indeed small/cramped. I'd say smallest dorm for 6 I've stayed in in my 7 months, and yes, we had tiny cockroaches in the room. Rooms have AC, a mini fridge and lock boxes for your valuables.

Common area was great with power plugs for your devices and wifi. Hammocks by the sea ( saw dolphins early morning ), a dock to jump off and free use of inner tunes. If you have a snorkel mask there is actually some great coral structures and fish just off the dock, plenty to see, including giant sea stars. HOWEVER, if it rains hard, the entire common room gets soaked - nowhere is safe from the rain as it lacks any form of drop sheet/rain protection ( owners - this is SO critical for your place ). There were a lot of hawkers, yes. Tours and jewellery mainly. A persistent 'no gracias' sends them away soon enough, but all the people were friendly enough to chat too and we never felt threatened. Also, to those who say 'I was offered drugs' - Yes, welcome to Central America. It's not isolated to hostels, it's pretty much everywhere and something you get used too. Say no, move on.

All in all, great experience. Loved the place, met amazing people and the tours we went on were great too. Mixed bag of reviews, check it out for a night and see for yourself!

CONS:
Very limited room to dry your clothes.
Kitchen in the hostel is always dirty.
No rain protection in common area, if it rains, you get wet.
No private lounge/common room for guests.
Roaches.

PROS:
Friendly staff.
Amazing location on the water with free inner tubes.
Rooms have AC, mini fridge and lock box.
Excellent quality, cheap food. Cheap drinks.
Comfortable beds, quiet at night.
Saw dolphins in the morning from the hammocks, bats in the evening.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Not having checked the reviews in advance I am quite surprised by the negative reviews.
I moved to this hostel coming from hostel Mundo also in town and had a far better experience here than in the other place.

Pros: on the water and availibilty of tubes
Good food (daily deals are best option)
Airconditioned rooms
Close to the parties but not a "party hostel" (music dies down around 11)
Most of the nights have 1$ beers

Negative: walls are thin so noise travels (its a hostel)
Staff sometimes focuses too much on locals and their own friends
There are people selling tours and drugs (tours were only offered by the same guy while we were there who was actually a nice guy; drugs is offered every 50 meters you walk in Bocas)

Overall I had a great time at this hostel, met great people and would recommend it to anyone

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Frebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

La Casa Verde is a really beautiful place, with an incredible oversea view.

The rooms are ok and the kitchen for the users is not equipped enough in my opinion, but I managed to cook in it for the three weeks I spent there.
Also, there's a small restaurant in the hostel where the food is really good. (Viva tacos days!)

I totally enjoyed the deck, the hammocks and the easy access to the sea; I went for a swim almost everyday.

The staff is really friendly and there's often a festive ambiance.

If you feel like having a Panama beer on the deck, watching starfishes while hearing music and happy people, the Casa Verde is the perfect place to be.

I had a great time there and it's not to expensive for what you get from it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#6 of 13 in Bocas Town
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse

Address: Avenida Sur, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 507, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range: $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a laid back community atmosphere where it's easy to rest & relax? Among all the great places to stay in Bocas, Casa Verde truly is your best value community house in Bocas del Toro, Panama. Come enjoy life on the water at Casa Verde! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Verde Hostel And Guesthouse
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse Hotel Bocas Town
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing