We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly awful, from a tolerant and experienced traveling duo.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse
Bocas del Toro Province, Panama
2 reviews
“Truly awful, from a tolerant and experienced traveling duo.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked our stay with casa verde via email and we were quite impressed with the speed of email response and quality of communication. We had utmost confidence we would enjoy our stay. When we checked in the staff were receptive, but gave a decent tour. The facilities however quickly went from poor to dismal. It's our best guess this place has recently seen a change in ownership, but I feel it's my duty to report the dismal state this hostel was in. The facilities were filthy and the collection of characters that pass the day sitting at the bar were more than worrisome. Your hostel is generally a safe place free from hustlers and ambitious men trying to get some attention, this place was the opposite. From morning to sunset the crown is animated and off putting. We were hassled by people who didn't even work at the hostel to buy tours in most common areas. The straw that broke the camels back however were the cockroaches. An assortment of sizes they had happily nestled themselves in every crevice of our belongings in less than three hours. We weren't even staying in one of the doomed rooms off the kitchen. The bunk beds were more like a coffin so close together and to the ceiling. We spent one night and were effortlessly returned our second night's fee less 20% when we prematurely checked out the next morning. I wouldn't recommend this hostel to an nemesis. I also want to mention we are two very experienced travelers having had backpacked throughout The world in a variety of hostels all far from luxurious, but we appreciate the concept of base necessities and decent accommodation, and this just ain't it. We won't be all negative, the island is beautiful, nightlife entertaining, very safe, and tours are offered in a colorful variety.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducky_dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    55
    28
    28
    18
See reviews for
6
45
55
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Upon arrival to the Hostel, room was not ready and it was hectic. Staff extremely unhelpful and lets not mention they are constantly fighting. Once I finally got my room I had 6 "tour guides" trying to sell me their trips, later I realized these guys sold tours to some friends we met and it was by far the worst experience they had. Friday Night seemed to be a family get together for the staff as they were all drinking and yelling at each other before they went out. If you dont mind listening to staff complaining 24/7, feeling extremely uncomfortable and realizing that you will not sleep, Casa Verde is your place.

Pros:
Water front. fridge

Cons:
Fighting Staff
Drinking Staff
Roaches
Unsafe
Bad Food

Room Tip: Don't stay at Casa Verde
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bocas Town hotels

L
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Clean and really beautiful place directly at the sea! YOu can directly jump into the water! Rooms are nice and staff is friendly! Food is expensive but really nice! I loved this place! (Book in advance!!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We actually stayed next door. But we talked with the manager, Nikel, to arrange a snorkel trip and a our of an indigenous cacao cooperative. Very sweet person, very flexible and helpful .

And the smoothies at their bar are great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 650_KenN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The location is good and food is decently priced but the rooms have a very small locker and sometimes they dont have the key for the lockers and the rooms are full of roaches. Not the big kind but the little ones that will cause you to have to fumigate all your stuff before you get home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrotaAye3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I chose to stay at Casa Verde because I'd read somewhere that it was in a quieter part of town. I think I mistook that as meaning it was a quieter hostel. Granted compared to the hostels on the main street, this is likely true. But while I was there, it was still pretty loud late into the night. Several of the dorm dooms' doors face the commons area, so all of the noise goes right through.

I do have to admit, though, the location is pretty awesome! The deck is over the water on the quieter end of town. It's far enough away from the main part of town that the neighborhood is quiet, but still near enough that you can walk into town in 5 minutes!

Staff was a bit cold and impersonal. Kitchen was a bit dark and dirty feeling.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great location, with beautiful views!
Great and friendly staff that takes the time to learn your name :)

Not the cleanest, and a lot of bugs - but if you don't mind them, I would definitely recommend the place...!
A bit loud some nights!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecbak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#6 of 13 in Bocas Town
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse

Property: Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse
Address: Avenida Sur, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 507, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a laid back community atmosphere where it's easy to rest & relax? Among all the great places to stay in Bocas, Casa Verde truly is your best value community house in Bocas del Toro, Panama. Come enjoy life on the water at Casa Verde! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Verde Hostel And Guesthouse
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse Hotel Bocas Town
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing