We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Beautiful place to hang out, you have a porch over the water with hammocks and sofas. We compared a few places and its really a good budget for the view you get.
The rooms were ok, small but clean and we had a brand new a/c. We slept there for 3 night. The first nights were really quiet, but the last one was less. The walls are really thin so you can hear everyone coming back from the party. So when there are a lot of young partying people staying there, you'll probably have more noise . The bar downstairs is closed at 10pm but the staff also disappears. I think you just have to be lucky with your neighbours.

Room Tip: We slept in the room at the back which was on the side of the street. It was actually more quiet ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabienne1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    55
    28
    28
    18
See reviews for
6
45
55
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in the private room Aqua for one night (December 26th) and had bed bugs. We took a chance because we heard they took care of the problem. We woke up in the morning to a very full bed bug crawling on the sheets and captured it in a water bottle, 5 min later we found another bed bug who hadn't feasted yet and captured him too. We backed up our stuff as quickly as humanly possible and got out of our room. One of the girls took the bed bugs to the staff and they didn't seem to concerned and said they couldn't do anything because the owner wasn't around. Our friend was covered all over her arms and legs and looked like she was diseased. I would never stay at this hostel again which is too bad because of the hammocks and the view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikster87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bocas Town hotels

1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at casa verde for two nights in the big room with the two double beds. The spot is really nice with the bar, hammocks over the docks and there is a good vibe amoung the backpackers.

We have seen many hostels and don't expect them to be brand clean. But unfortunuately we got the unpleasant company of some bedbugs. We even found them crawling over the bed and caught them on camera. So there was no doubt.

The bugs where unpleasend, but the help and service of the reception lady was even more unpleasant. She's rude, ignoring and eyeballing you when you complain about it. If you want to speak to the owner, she's not helping and says you have to do it through her. So hopefully he owner reads this and can make sure he hires more friendlier and helpfull staff!!!

After quite a hassle and scene we got half our money back and had to leave. They didn't help us to find something else or wash our clothes. In the end we found our selves a nice place to stay and did our laundry our selves.

Thank you Judeska (don't know her actual name) for the good expierene at casa verde. Not!

We were sad we had to leave this way.

Ow, one more thing. If you arrive at bocas and go there on by yourself. Make sure the localguys don't bring you, because the hostel will charge you their commission for doing nothing at all. They just cicle up with you and claim their commission.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GijsEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVBocas, General Manager at Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
We apologize for your experience with bed bugs. When you came and complained the staff went all over town looking for a place to do your laundry for you (as it was Sunday and nearly all laundromats were closed) and apologized about the situation. The issue that started your negative experience with the manager is when you falsely claimed to be another guest and claimed a larger refund than you were entitled to which was incredibly dishonest. The manager is normally very accommodating, understanding and helpful with all guests but will not tolerate dishonestly and disrespect. The owner trusts in her to handle these situations as he does not live in Panama.

Regarding the commission, the hostel pays a commission to any agent that brings us guests whether it is a hostel website, travel agent or one of the local guys whose job it is to help tourists find accommodations. We do not charge the guest extra for the commission, it is taken as an expense to the hostel for the service provided by the person who brought them.

We're sorry that you had such a negative experience especially since it sounds like you did appreciate the hostel itself and the great vibe at Casa Verde.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

What a nice vibe. Walked into the back deck reception area just before Thansgiving looking around Bocas. ( Was staying up at the other end of town in Casa Max). Back deck over the water, hammocks, cute tables, and spaces to relax of chat. Reception was warm and friendly with - a bell jar of brownies on the counter. WOW. I'm and old American and have been eating brownies for 50 years and these were good! No rooms available (sad face) yet sign was up inviting guests and visitors to sign up for Thanksgiving dinner for $8.00. IF the brownies were this good ...... had maybe 35 for a sit down T-Day dinner. Mashed potatoes, turkey, etc. Each plate served from the kitchen to the table. Sangria. And a fun quick opening toast form the manager in Spanish and English to celebrate the day to give thanks. Sat with a Brit and 2 Aussie divers and world travelers. So much fun.

Room Tip: Book your camina. This place fills up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The atmosphere and location of this hostel is very nice. The staff was quite friendly, ... but we could not use our room the first night as we found several bed bugs when we wanted to go to bed. Unfortunately it was too late to change the hostel or consult the staff. The next morning when we complained, the boss was very nice and supportive. She apologized several times, gave us another room for the next night for free and we could get washed all clothes we wanted to. Though we were not sure if it was a good decision to stay for another night the second night was alright.
However we were quite surprised to observe that our room was given to new guests the next night!
Anyways if you decide to stay in this hostel avoid room 'Pastores'.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojito_1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVBocas, Manager at Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for writing a review. We sincerely apologize about your encounter with bed bugs but are happy that you were taken care of and were able to switch rooms and continue your stay. Our staff is fully trained and experienced in how to remove bed bugs and any time we receive a report the entire room is stripped down, the sheets are washed in super hot water, the mattress is steamed, the bed frame is dismantled and heat treated to kill any bugs or eggs (as are the walls and outlets) and then everything is covered in diatomaceous earth (a powder harmless to humans that kills bed bugs). We don't want you to think that we don't care and just gave an infected room to another set of guests. Trust us, we take this issue very seriously and do the best that we can to eradicate any sign of bed bugs if there is ANY suspicion that they may exist. We cannot, however, prevent them from arriving in the luggage of our guests from other infected hostels so they can return at any time (as this is an issue that plagues hostels all over the world) but we are making every effort to kill them immediately and keep our hostel clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Casa Verde. The atmosphere and the people there were awesome. It's a really cool place and the location is amazing. It was quiet at night, too and you could also get some rest in the daytime swinging along in one of the hammocks. There are a lot of tours to choose from, not one boring minute and the staff was really friendly.
What I didn't like were the dirty showers, the smell of pee in the kitchen and the trash in front of the entrance. It's a pity, because those are things that are easy to control and taken care of. The place has great potential, just put a little bit more effort in it. Also: Please do something about the lock to the entrance gate. We had to climb over the fence two times at night, because we weren't able to open it... No, we weren't too drunk :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Einhornprinzessin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at Casa Verde for 2 weeks and was happy with my overal experience. The facilities are primitive, specially the shared bathrooms and showers, but this was compensated for by the liveliness of the place and the price (about $30 for a private room with AC per night). The deck area above the water is a pleasant place to have a beer, work on the computer (free but slow Wifi), meet interesting people and have an occasional party. Yes, it can be noisy but running the AC takes care of that. The dorms are REALLY CRAMPED, be warned.
They only have sheets in the bedrooms (I prefer some kind of cover) and you have to bring your own towel, but you can't expect much in a budget hostel.
The staff is friendly and helpful but the office/bar closes between 10 pm and 7 am. There is a security guard, which seems to be more and more a necessity in Bocas.
They had some water problems. Apparently the city water is unreliable so they have rain water catchment tanks which need to be switched over when one of them is empty. There is nobody to do that during the night so at that point, there is no water in the hostel. I would think that can easily be fixed by teaching the security guard to do that. A larger problem happens when the tanks run out AND the city water isn't working. This happened once for about 2 hours - no fun because noone knows when there will be water again: when it rains. City water is a problem everywhere in Bocas, of course.
I would return for the atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrseattle2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.3 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 47 in Isla Colon
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse

Property: Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse
Address: Avenida Sur, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 507, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a laid back community atmosphere where it's easy to rest & relax? Among all the great places to stay in Bocas, Casa Verde truly is your best value community house in Bocas del Toro, Panama. Come enjoy life on the water at Casa Verde! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Verde Hostel And Guesthouse
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse Hotel Bocas Town
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing