We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monkey Tree Casitas
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Monkey Tree is about one hour walking from the town and it can give you almost an isolation experience among nature. We loved the Casita, fully furnished, good for cooking (since you are far from most restaurants) and peaceful. The beach is just across the street. We had problems with our reservation three days before arriving, but the owner helped us to find a solution. We loved the experience and really recommend it.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jhessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 47 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

The tree houses are absolutely adorable with everything you could need for a long stay. The grounds are stunning and you will be amazed at how gorgeous it is. We really liked how it's outside of town bc Bocas town is very loud and crazy so it was nice to leave the craziness and stay in the serene jungle. I would recommend you rent bikes when you get there as the taxis into town add up. If you walk away from town 10 minutes there is a great beach with lounge chairs so you can eat and drink And watch the surfers. Great place to stay and very reasonable prices!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mstiffyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Thank you! Where to start. Heather the owner has thought of everything. She really cares about her guests. We booked for 8 days. We had casita 1. Fully furnished kitchen, great indoor & outdoor space. Hammock on deck. You can be completely open during the day & in the evening you can close up the whole deck. Bedroom is inside; however we always had the double French doors that lead out to deck open during the night. Very private. Bathroom is very large & has heated shower. Very clean & updated. The house was designed with the lush jungle right at your doorstep. And yes there are monkeys that you will see every day. We cooked most of our meals at the house, and we enjoyed shopping at the Gourmet store & buying fresh veggies. Ivan is the best. He has a taxi service & can get you hooked up with snorkeling tours. Dennis lives on site (3 yrs) & has lots of info if Heather is away. You can rent bikes onsite. Bocas Surf Club is really a 5 minute walk up the beach. We went snorkeling right out front of Monkey Tree. It's so peaceful & magical. Heather also has a phone for you on arrival already programmed with phone numbers. Great WIFI. No bugs & taxi ride should only be $3.00pp we never paid more. We had a wonderful time at Monkey Tree & we hope to be back again.

Room Tip: We loved our house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cateringvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Where to begin!!! We booked this after reading the numerous excellent reviews. We were not disappointed. The setting was like something out of a film. Set back from the beach in a rainforest, you are in the middle of wildlife heaven.
The casita was spacious & clean & well equipped. We cooked most of our meals whilst staying on Boca. We also found the supermarket to be reasonably priced.
Staying out of town wasn't a problem. In fact it was probably better as town was a little dirty & a little smelly. Taxis were inexpensive.
By far one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. Perfect for couples or those who want to seriously relax! Highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Monkey Tree was a very memorable space for us in Panama. Two miniature, outdoor houses owned by an excellent, experienced Canadian lady, who continues to inspire me. She is a hard-working, well-connected host that handles clients on a personalized basis. Everything about Monkey Tree is well-thought out. Very clean. Privately amongst nature. Quiet. Lighting and decor are awesome. Hammock outdoors, but enclosed bedroom. Fully furnished kitchen. Rent-able bikes!

One story must not go untold. Unfortunately, while cooking one evening in our host at Monkey Tree, I had unintentionally and completely broke the protective glass over the stove. (We are not accustomed to this set up in the U.S., and I carelessly left the glass cover over the gas burners of the stove after turning the heat up.) Long story short, this large piece of glass shattered all over the kitchen. We shamefully contacted the owner mentioned above, and without hesitation, she forgave my carelessness with no repercussions whatsoever.

You cannot go wrong with Monkey Tree. I would highly recommend it to my friends and family visiting Bocas.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laagan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here last month for 4 nights, it's 5 mins in a taxi from town and the location is the best thing about it. Bocas is an ok place, doesn't have much of a vibe to it if I'm honest, from reviews I was expecting something like Ton Sai in Koh Phi Phi but it just seemed like a transit town, food was ok, nightlife was ok, no real beach...alot of tour agencies and not much else...basically somewhere to use as a base to go to other places. That's why I loved Monkey Tree, it's set in lush jungle surroundings away from the town near a beautiful beach and a surf club, Ivan is a very reliable taxi driver (use the mobile phone that Heather provides you with). The Casitas are comfy, the outdoor kitchen was great but I didn't use it to much. I looked at a few other hotels in town and they were nowhere near as nice or well situated (no matter how well they photoshop the pics on their websites most were just ok, a bit worn and dated!) we walked out feeling smug with our choice of accommodation! Heather has done a great job so reward her effort by staying a while! Don't pay more than $5 per person for the taxi at the airport, they tell you monkey tree is way out of town, the roads so bad you need a 4x4 etc..rubbish. It's a scam, we paid less than they wanted but more than it should have been. When you are in the taxi it's the big wooden double doors just before the beach road, if you have hit the beach you've gone a tiny bit to far! Enjoy!

Ps. I'm a bug magnet...surprisingly I didn't get one bite at Monkey Tree!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonCouple01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherG97, Owner at Monkey Tree Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Unfortunately sometimes we must ask guests to find other accommodations to ensure the comfort and safety of our other guests that wish to enjoy their time with us. This may result in fabricated comments from these guests which we have no control over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just loved our time at Monkey Tree but it is not for everybody. The owner doesn't live there and the caretakers speak no English, so there you are. But if you are even mildly self-sufficient you will really like it here in this manicured-jungle setting. We both speak some Spanish. For about $85 you get a whole house, with veranda, kitchen, bedroom, big bathroom, and laundry facilities on the premises. Every morning early, I would wander around the compound bird watching. Parrots, hawks, hummingbirds, etc.
There is a small beach right across the road and we swam there all the time. You can also go up to the hostel, pay $5 and use their facilities which includes a pool with chairs, restaurant, and the dock where you can swim or kayak from.
The downside at MTC is they never changed our sheets or towels, nor took out our garbage during our 5 night stay. They said after 3 nights, but...
Our kitchen ran out of gas and the caretaker was replacing the tank in less than 2 hours, which was impressive!
Right next door to MTC is Gargolo's Pizza which is wood fired and very good. (Review in restaurants)

Room Tip: Casita 1 has the kitchen inside, casita 2 it's on the veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treeshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
1.6 mi away
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
#3 of 45 in Bocas Town
328 reviews
2.7 mi away
Island Plantation
Island Plantation
#1 of 6 in Bluff Beach
253 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Mamallena Bocas del Toro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Turtle Beach House
Turtle Beach House
#3 of 6 in Bluff Beach
123 reviews
4.4 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Tree Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Tree Casitas

Address: Playa Paunch, Bluff Beach Rd, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range: $163 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monkey Tree Casitas 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These casitas are two minutes from the ocean and two miles from Bocas Town. Monkey Tree is known for its exquisitely landscaped garden and natural jungle ambiance. It is a great location for those who want to be close to town but not right in it. You are a couple of minutes to Paunch Beach and there are swimming & surfing spots nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Monkey Tree Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Tree Casitas Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing