We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monkey Tree Casitas
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed at Monkey Tree in Bocas for a week. It was a perfect place to relax and enjoy the beach which is right across the road. It is only a $3 taxi into town which is perfect because it offers an escape from the busy downtown of Bocas Town. It gave me the feel of being in a Swiss Family Robinson treehouse and it was very clean and provided all the necessities. It is also the safest place I stayed in the month I spent in Panama. Heather is an amazing host, very kind and helpful and was always available to answer any questions I may have had... Thank you Heather! I hope to return in the not so distant future!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 42 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

Monkey tree casitas exceeded all expectations. We were in Panama for 12 days and stayed here 9. We really wished we stayed here the entire time. It is absolutely beautiful. It is a "modern" tree house amongst a manicured jungle. Ron and Heather are available for anything you may need. It is so peaceful and beautiful you are happy to just hang out in your casita. It is walking distance to La Collina, which has probably the best restaurant on the island w a view to die for. We were also able to hike to Bluff beach, which resembles a hawaii beach. It is incredible. From bluff beach you can hike a little further and find a great restaurant and bar owned by the most delightful belgian couple. Monkey tree is a must stay and when we return will absolutely stay here again. One last note, we were picked up at the airport, by William, a taci driver. Get his card and use him! He is very helpful and just a great guy!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amykhris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We went to Bocas for a couple of weeks and stayed at these neat monkey casitas.
My cabin was very comfortable and beautiful. It was so delightful to wake up to the sounds of the waves hitting the beach and the noises of the jungle every morning.
Even though the casitas are a couple of miles from town it was just the right amount of seclusion. It was nice to be away from the noisy town of Bocas and the taxi chauffeur was very attentive.
We were just 5 minutes away from a great restaurant at La Coralina, and a 5 minute walk to paunch surf beach.
The snorkeling across the street was exquisite!
We had such a wonderful vacation enjoying the sounds of nature and walking for miles on the white sand beaches everyday.
We cannot wait to return to the monkey tree!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We went to Bocas and stayed at Monkey Casita for four days. The casita is in a very lush and tropical area slightly out of town on way to Paunch Beach. The casita was perfect - comfy bed, big terraza, open bath area and full kitchen with all cooking utensils. It is open air where you can literally reach out and "touch" the butterflies and hummingbirds that fly by....

Ron Dennis met us at the casita and oriented us on the area and happenings - take boat tour with Roberto - worth it....also rent bikes, you can ride everywhere.....

All in all great place to stay and Ron is a wonderful host.....

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Texirican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

It is a nice property in a beautiful natural area. It is out of town, so you do need a taxi every time you go shopping or eating out. You can use a bike, but biking close to town was a little too dangerous for us.
We stayed a full month and had a good time. Ron was not as helpful to us as he seemed to other people.
WiFi was not working for several weeks. No air conditioning was no problem. It was not that hot. If living area would have been screened it would be good since there are lots of bugs and sitting outside was not always pleasant.
Swimming or beach close by was very marginal. No sandy beach for swimming close by.
Yes, we did have some monkeys visiting for several days.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gunterschramm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherG97, Owner at Monkey Tree Casitas, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

I know you did not receive the customer service that you were promised by Ron. I want you to know that I have taken your advice and am now booking my own reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We had the greatest time in the treehouse. It really is in the most beautiful setting with gorgeous landscape. My husband does all the cooking and he made all of our breakfasts and dinners in the outdoor kitchen. It is magical. Ron was so helpful as we booked only two days before we got there. He was so helpful by picking us up, taking us to many stores and showed us town. He also hooked us up with a private boat for a great day snorkeling and seeing other islands. We were lucky enough to meet the owner Heather who has done a fabulous job on the property. It is safe, it is quaint, it is a must if you are in Bocas del Toro. Thanks for having us, we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkiandbriguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beatrice g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
423 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 18 in Isla Bastimentos
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#5 of 20 in Isla Colon
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
531 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tesoro Escondido
Tesoro Escondido
#1 of 1 in Bluff Beach
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Tree Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Tree Casitas

Address: Playa Paunch, Bluff Beach Rd, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range: $80 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These casitas are two minutes from the ocean and two miles from Bocas Town. Monkey Tree is known for its exquisitely landscaped garden and natural jungle ambiance. It is a great location for those who want to be close to town but not right in it. You are a couple of minutes to Paunch Beach and there are swimming & surfing spots nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monkey Tree Casitas Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing