We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I'd never left! Its not just a hostel its an experience.”
Review of Mondo Taitu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mondo Taitu
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“I wish I'd never left! Its not just a hostel its an experience.”
Reviewed October 24, 2010

This was by far the best hostel experience we had in nearly 5 months of travels. Once your there your gonna want to stay. We paid for the double private on the lower levels of the treehouse. The room was basic but comfy, we barely spent any time in it as theres too much great stuff to do. What ever expense you spend you make up for with cheap drinks and great atmosphere.

Staff are a total blast, friendly and helpful. We loved the guys that worked there! they all know the island well and can give you the info you need about food, bars, beaches, etc. One of them can even do you a tatoo if you fancy it. Although this is a party hostel there are a couple of chilled nights every week. Even though people partied I had no problems sleeping and no noise complaints.

The bathrooms are what you would expect for shared island bathrooms but the decor is awesome, and you can feel free to pick up a pen and add to it. There is a hot shower as well. Kitchen although it looks a bit dodgy at first, once you get in i'm sure you'll agree this is the best equipped kitchen in central america (the knifes are even sharp and theres tea towels), and they have a work force of cleaners in everyday. Attached to the hostel is the best bar in Bocas, with happy hour and hookah pipes. Its a great place to meet people and there is plenty of info about all the activities on the islands. Free internet use and Free bike hire to get you around.

Sure other places might be said to be more comfortable or cheaper but they wont have the character this place had, I will deffo be going back and I know many others would be as well. I take my best memories from Mondo.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunners0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    19
    17
    18
    19
See reviews for
3
27
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2010

This hostel blew my mind with it's amazing atmosphere. During the day, it's a great place to hang out and make new friends to go to the beach with, and at night it turns into the most fun, crazy partyplace I have ever been to. The staff was superfun, friendly and helpful- and always up for a shot or two...
Cleanliness was good- kitchen messy at times, but never gross or dirty. I think it's easy to confuse the decorations of the place with mess, however I loved all the paintings and writings on the walls- it was fun to read what other people had experienced in the place. Definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a good time and a cold(cheap!) beer!
- Make sure to try the "Surfer on Acid" shot in the bar!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idz1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2010

An awesome vibe. The guys who run this hostel are amazing. They speak english and spanish so everyone can communicate. They have a great bar with some of the best parties and drink deals in town, not to mention theme nights such as 80´s night. You have an option of private rooms, air con dorm or dorm with fan all for great prices. The kitchen is well equiped, and there is a free make it yourself pancake breakfast every morning. They rent surf boards and have free wifi...whatelse.........um...i only planned to stay a night or two and ended up staying almost 3 weeks, one of my favourite hostels yet.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2010

My favorite place in all of Bocas del Toro is definately Mondo Taitu. THe owners are fun loving party guys who make backpacking an easy thing to forget your doing and just settle down at stay. Most travelers walk into Mondo with the mind to stay a few days and end up there for weeks on end. In the mornings, there is free hot strong coffee and pancake breakfast. At nights the bar is the cheapest and craziest spot in all of Bocas, leading to great times and everlasting friendships. While your staying at Mondo, try the 100 beer challenge, it could win you dinner and a sweet Mondo t-shirt. They have legendary theme parties like 80's Night & Jungle Party, which always inspire a good time had by all. The tree house is the pimp sweet of Mondo, has its own bathroom and comes with sleeping comfortably for three, uncomfy could be eight or nine, but still do-able. The walls of Mondo are covered in art, from all the travelers speaking their mind in quotes to vast, complex murals by talented artists. The staff is super friendly and has a way of making you feel like you're at home with friends. In my opinion, if you come to Bocas and don't go to Mondo Taitu, you have wasted your trip to Bocas.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dankbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2010

This lovely hostel (theoriginal ,I'm told ),has a great ambience , just right for some honest hostel activities.Good dorms , though i felt my age a couple of times .
They have a nice new cafe in the garden , they're only a few minutes to a nice beach at la cabanas.
II would have liked to stay a couple more days but had heard great things about Bastimentos .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twilbury87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Got bitten badly by bed bugs, rooms and the kitchen were filthy. Rooms unbearably hot. For the same price you can share a hotel rooms with 2 or 3 others with A/C.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bocas Town hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Mondo Taitu is the most hopping bar in Bocas 7 nights a week (can you say dollar shots on a monday?) definitely come here to party and meet people, but I was unhappy with my stay.
We stayed in one of their private treehouse rooms and it was unbearably hot and dark. We paid for two nights but left after one. There were no windows and a tiny fan we had to unplug the only light to use. The staff were friendly and helpful in orienting us though, maybe other rooms are better.
For the same $22 a night we paid, we got a cheap hotel on the main street (there are tons) that had A/C, TV, and clean, quiet, comfortable beds. Go to Mondo to party, then head to one of the cheap hotels nearby to sleep. With the noise, heat, and foul smelling pillows at Mondo, you won't be getting any good sleep there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tr4velc4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.0 mi away
Hostel Heike
Hostel Heike
#4 of 40 in Bocas Town
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 47 in Isla Colon
424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
535 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondo Taitu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondo Taitu

Property: Mondo Taitu
Address: Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mondo Taitu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondo Taitu Hotel Bocas Del Toro Province
Mondo Taitu Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing