We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hole”
Review of Mondo Taitu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mondo Taitu
La Serena, Chile
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hole”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

This was almost the worst hostal in my trip. The girl at the reception was NOT nice, looked like she was annoyed and doesnt make you feel welcome at all. The guy at the reception later was nicer.The room was okay, very small wooden locker and a fan that we used because it was hot! The music was loud en you bump into people snorting big lines and going to the toilet in the morning found a used condom on the floor. Disgusting kitchen where you have to make your own pancakes in the morning. We quickly moved out of here..

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AnneL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    19
    17
    18
    19
See reviews for
3
27
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Mondo is very much a cool place, there's interesting art work all over the place and lots of amatuer philosphers have written strange phrases all over the walls. The staff were quite helpful and friendly and the bar that they run in the front has excellent value (happy hour has 75 cent beers). So good times were had here.

However the general quality of the hostel is quite lacking and the place could really do with some maintenence. What was really strange was that in order to get to your room/dorm you had to walk through the toilet/shower block. The beds werent of the greatest quality but the didnt prohibit sleep either. I do believe that Mondo had the most poorly equipped kitchen in all the hostels Ive been to in central america, it pretty much had nothing in it.

So yes its a great place to have a lot of fun and Im sure I'll be back but if you dont wanna party every night and want to have slightly higher quality furnishings there are other places in town that can provide that for the same price as mondo.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

My traveling troop of five found Mondo by chance when the first hostel we stopped at didn't have the space for us. It must have been fate because the next 4-11 days were insanity. The staff at Mondo made our stay without question; they are like a little family united here in Bocas by their love for making Mondo the place to be and to party. We couldn't imagine our time there without those boys!
The bar attached to the hostel had a different theme every night of the week (80s Power Hour or Jungle Night anyone??) complete with a dress-up box of sorts for guests to really get into the sprit, and they had the cheapest happy hour beers around (75¢! And if you were fortunate enough to stay there you could have dollar beers all day long!) The bar was a great mix of travelers and locals and everyone was open and excited to meet new people or hear your story. Between the staff and the hostel guests we had a wonderful little transplant family from all over the world that we will remember fondly.
Mondo has several private rooms and a few dorms, including a sweet three-person treehouse that looks over the garden area. If you're traveling as a couple - or keeping your options open - be sure and request the 'honeymoon suite' (room 10). They have free coffee and do-it-yourself pancake breakfast which is perfect for soaking up last night's jungle juice. The kitchen is not the largest but there is lots of yummy, cheap food in the vicinity to try out (our favourites were Fat Boy for cheap yummies and Posadas los Delfines across the street for great wood fired pizzas).
All in all Mondo is definitely the place to be if you're looking to let loose, party and meet amazing like-minded folks from around the globe. We came for four days and stayed for eleven, and will never forget our Mondo family. THANK YOU!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank puravida_soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I didn't stay in the hostel but while I was in Bocas for the week my friends and I somehow ended up going to the bar there almost every night! The staff were super fun and friendly, and the place was great to meet other travellers over a beer or five... We also rented surfboards from there and Luke even took the time to sit us down and map out how to navigate the slightly tricky reef break which was greatly appreciated. Bocas was wicked, and a big thanks goes to Mondo for helping make it so awesome!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank angie_travelpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This time last year, I was visiting Bocas del Toro on a research cruise for school and stayed at a neighboring hotel. Although I was not a guest at Mondo Taitu, the staff there went out of their way to accommodate my stay in the small island town and make me feel welcome. The facility itself is something strait out of the Swiss Family Robinson and the owners are all expert hosts. It's actually amazing - they all recently graduated from american universities and are super motivated about making sure your stay in Bocas is all it can be! This is a must for all college-aged americans and anyone who is looking for a fun time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at MondoTaitu back in July and I can't fault my experience. The staff were always willing to help, were friendly and looking to get you involved in the ultimate Bocas experience. Whether you wanted to surf, chill, go to the beach or party the staff would always point you in the right direction.

The rooms are basic but provide everything you need as a backpacker. The bar has great music and an amazing atmosphere and is the perfect place to start the party with the cheapest beer in town, starting at 75 cents during happy hour. With a mixed vibe from worldwide travellers and locals this bar was by far my favourite place for a drink.

I would return to Mondo in a second given half a chance. Looking forward to returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas del toro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hostel is perfect for you if

- you like invasions of huge ants in your dorm
- unfriendly staff that basically ignores all the guests
- people taking cocain in your room
- loud music all night
- and a dirty kitchen that is always crowded (it`s impossible to prepare your breakfast) and doesn`t really work

If you`re not really, really drunk 24 hours a day there is no chance you can stand this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 391Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bocas Town hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#9 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 50 in Isla Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Heike
Hostel Heike
#3 of 42 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coconut Hostel
Coconut Hostel
#22 of 42 in Bocas Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Mamallena Bocas del Toro
0.0 mi away
Bubba's House
Bubba's House
#4 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondo Taitu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondo Taitu

Property: Mondo Taitu
Address: Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mondo Taitu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondo Taitu Hotel Bocas Del Toro Province
Mondo Taitu Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing