We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went for 10 days, Stayed for 3 months...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mondo Taitu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mondo Taitu
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Went for 10 days, Stayed for 3 months...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

This place kicks a$$. Went down to Bocas del Toro for a 10 day trip and stayed for 3 months.

I can't say enough good things about Mondo Taitu. The hostel has some serious character and has been around a lot longer than most of the surrounding hostels and hotels. They have a bunch of different rooming options (treehouse loft anyone?) and free pancake breakfast and coffee. The staff are awesome; helpful, hilarious, and feel like family immediately.

The bar has gotta be the best on the island. They have a killer happy hour and the best mix of local folks and travelers fill the place nightly. The music and general vibe is such a welcome change from what you experience at other local bars. Their cocktail menu is legend, but beware of 'The Jacuzzi', you may end up having too much fun.

I miss this place and the people like crazy...already planning my return trip. Can't recommend a better spot to call home for however long you stay because inevitably you will stay longer than planned.

Bocas is paradise and Mondo is the icing on the cake.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BigCokemilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    19
    16
    18
    19
See reviews for
3
27
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

This hostel was absolutely perfect for where I was and what I was looking for. Obviously I was on an island and rolling with the island vibe, and mondo enhanced all of that. It gave me an awesome home base to catch a quick nap (no bed bugs,) grab a few 50 cent beers at the bar, convene with some other travelers, and wake up to some pancakes and coffee to start my day of adventure. I was not looking to spend my entire day laying around a hostel/hotel nodding at others, I was taking it by the balls and trying to explore as much as I could, and mondo was a perfect center to call home. (for 3 weeks!!) Great staff, cute bartenders, and all around great time.

If looking for luxury, spend an extra 80 dollars and have it like the 70 year olds, if you're looking for an "experience" then stay at mondo taitu!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shreddyeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

considering how much of a party town bocas del torro was for me and my friends Mondo was the perfect place to chill and stay ! The staff was amazing and its a great place to meet other travelers etc. Made me feel right at home and i would most definitely stay again (although i would recommend not getting locked out of your room naked by accident at 4am.. spare keys are not always on hand haha).

thanks guys!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank erincanada88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

If I were a 20-year-old American college student I would say Mondo Taitu was so #swag - fun party atmosphere, helpful staff, free pancakes and coffee, awesome vibe. People chillin in common areas swappin stories. 80s night was the best and you can't beat 50 cent beers!

Unfortunately I am a curmudgeonly working twenty-something.

Mondo Taitu resembles a frat house or Berkeley co-op. It is run by three Princeton dudebros. The walls are covered with amateur art, juvenile drawings, and asinine quotes that reveal the youth of travelers in limbo who have obviously never experienced adulthood.

But I love frat and co-op parties, you say. Think again. Would you really want to LIVE in a frat house? Mondo Taitu is FILTHY and that's the prime reason for this 1-star review. The rank bathrooms resemble the worst of public beach bathrooms and the whole shower/bathroom area floods 3 inches deep when it rains. As for rooms, I was lucky enough to have a four-bed room (which I'll admit was sufficiently dark, cool and quiet to sleep in), but my friend's 8-bed mixed dorm smelled of urine, sweat and other festering odors. Moreover, I am pretty sure my bed had BED BUGS or another biting parasite. Before you think of staying here, imagine paying hundreds of dollars for exterminators when you return home. Bacterial infections are also not an impossibility.

The atmosphere truly was fun and friendly, some of the people actually awesome, and their Tuesday night 80s night party really was fun. But be warned that if you are in Panama on vacation, i.e. away from your home country, it will not feel like one when you are surrounded by college aged Americans who are all like, SPRING BREAK!!! If Bocas del Toro is the poor man's Cancun (+stoners and surfers!) then this hostel typifies that sort of crappy beer fueled party experience. Expect to hear the word "epic" and witness some sloppy hook-ups.

By the time I woke up after the first night I wanted to move hostels but we had already paid 3 nights, and for the rest of our time in Bocas I dreaded coming back to Mondo Taitu because it was so un-relaxing. Moreover, BED BUGS.

If you are coming to the archipelago I recommend you stay on Isla Bastimentos or elsewhere near beaches rather than in Bocas town. If you must stay in the town, avoid Mondo Taitu unless you are a college student traveling alone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoBSNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bocas Town hotels

Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

I think it was very "bro" heavy. I stayed in the 8 person dorm. 90% sure there were bed bugs. At one point the entire bathroom flooded (I hope this was rain water). The place was by far the dirtiest hostel I've ever stayed at (Rest of Panama, Peru + Mexico included). I definitely would not stay here again. Stay at one of the hostel's on the main street. Better quality, cleanliness, and people for the same price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

...bed bugs! watch out these little mofos will ruin your vacation, come back to your home with you, and cost you a bunch of money to get rid of. i came with several people and 3/4 of us got bitten. this place is worth stopping by for a drink but i wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank atta121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

In 2010 we had two friends who stayed at Mondo's and absolutely swore that it was the best place in the world. So on a recent trip to Bocas there was nowhere else that we were going to stay. Mondo's does look like it's falling apart from the inside out but I guess this also gives the place a bit of atmosphere. We stayed in the air conditioned dorm room which was next door to the main building with it's own little garden (bench and trees), kitchen area, bathroom and friendly neighbour, Larry. Larry was actually great for random info (e.g. which beaches to go to, how to get there and also he has a great knowledge of star constellations and planets!) and also for helping when the water went off (which was a problem on the island at the time and not something directly to do with Mondo's).

The air conditioned dorm was fine, a bit small for 8 beds but absolutely fine and you can't expect much for the cheap price. Most of the time however when the room was full, the temperature didn't really drop and it might have been better with just fans and not the air con unit. The rooms are cool with writing everywhere and are quiet too.

Anyway, breakfast was free and there's a nice big table to sit at in reception. The bar in Mondo's is also very cool but very mellow. The walls are plastered with flyers of previous party nights held at the hostel with loads of different themes, but this doesn't seem to happen anymore. One night the bar did have an awesome DJ which was fun but still the attitude was mellow and the bar was almost empty by 12.

The staff were kind of useful and kind of friendly sometimes. Sometimes they were good fun and good to talk to, but other times they were a bit stand off-ish and not the kind of people you thought you could bother with questions. I think if you visit Mondo's and get in with the staff, you could have an awesome time. Otherwise you're left half the time thinking they're potentially a bit arrogant.

I almost don't want to say anything too negative in the review for this place because I imagine that it once was amazing and with a bit more effort, could be amazing again. If I went to Bocas again I imagine I'd either stay here, or check out one of the other hostels on the main street.

Room Tip: A room with a fan might be better than the one with air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smalltalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.0 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#6 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 48 in Isla Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spanish at Locations - Bocas del Toro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bubba's House
Bubba's House
#4 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
#2 of 40 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bocas Villas
Bocas Villas
#18 of 40 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondo Taitu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondo Taitu

Property: Mondo Taitu
Address: Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mondo Taitu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondo Taitu Hotel Bocas Del Toro Province
Mondo Taitu Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing