We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There were better options.”
Review of Calipso Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calipso Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“There were better options.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there for two nights in two different rooms: a dorm that was offered as a private room and a double room.

The rooms were kind of improvised: the "windows" give you a view of a wall 30 centimeters away from your nose, the bathrooms were very dark (which didn't help since there's little lightning in the rooms) and the towels they gave us were raggedy.

People at the front desk were nice and helpful, but the guy in charge of the hostel (the owner?), unlike most of the people at Bocas del Toro, wasn't really friendly. At exactly 10 am, the maple syrup was taken from my girlfriend's hands and we were reminded that checkout was at 11.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanyiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamajoules, Owner at Calipso Hostel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We're really sorry that you felt this way DanyiP. The only reason we ask every morning if guests will continue to stay is to see if they want to keep their space or we can offer it someone else and if guests communicate to us that they're leaving, then just like the normal procedure of any hostel, we remind them the time of the check out. We're really sorry this upset you, it was never our intention.
In regards to the syrup, we never do it as described. None of us are rude in that way. When breakfast time is over and guests are still using certain ingredients we ask if anyone wants anymore and in your case, your girlfriend said she did, we offered her more, she took more and then we put the ingredients away.
And we do have to say that all bathrooms have proper light and in fact this is something we have worked on as we have added more lights and puts signs that display where the switches are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    53
    24
    11
    25
See reviews for
5
30
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My friend and I went to Bocas for a week. The first two days we stayed at a hotel, but wanted something more fun and with other people so we went walking around to find a hostel to stay instead. Túngara immediately paid our attention with the good atmosphere and El Rawry behind the desk. Him and his colleagues were really nice and helpful and we enjoyed every minute of our stay (we were in 6 people mixed dorms). We highly recommend Túngara for people that like to go out and meeting others, but also for couples since it's possible to rent private rooms as well. Thumbs up :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalanDj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We got a 4bedroom for 2adults and 2kids very cheap. They answered all our questions and helped with everything. We feeled like home. It is also very centrallocated. Selfmade breakfast included. Nice place to start a lot of trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

great experience at the Tungara Hostel. Bocas was slightly different than Boquete but it was definitely worth going there if you like the beach-surf-relax and - party vibe for the change. The hostel was okay and the crew definitely had skills to advise everybody and they knew how to treat their guests properly. Thanks to Carlos the owner and Mario the security guard. I would like to give my special thanks to Rawry.... Many thanks for the amazing time honey!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here for an entire month for the duration of my spanish lessons at Habla Ya and during that month, Tungara absolutely felt like home. Its clean and inexpensive, but the best part about it are the people who work there. To the guys who work there.... Thank you!! You are all amazing and awesome and I already miss you all :)

Room Tip: The private rooms are perfect if you are traveling in groups of 2 or 3! Definitely worth it.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank taliaelise54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Rawry is friendly, Carlos is the twist ;) Very informative and friendly but strict. Safe place, good airconditionig, lockers and kitchen. Judith and Arcelia are the best... place was clean all the time ( carlosrule) Other guests were nice...good vibes, nice evenings with Sergio and Rawry. Warning: Mario's coffee is strrrrrrong ;) Wifi was out for a little while... that happens in bocas, most matresses were good, some werent. Hans ( not Hens) was there, sexytime! Best budgetplace in Bocas. NAGAMIST

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bas-Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed Here for one night with some friends. They put us in the cramped dormitory that had 2 triple bunk beds and 3 double bunk beds. If it wasn't just my friends and I staying there than it would of been extremely cramped. The beds were not very comfortable but the bathroom was nice and spacious. A/C was definitely nice it have. The internet was very slow but what is to be expected on an island like Bocas. However, their PC was broken when we got there.

The location of this place is definitely a plus. It is located right very close to all the night life but just far enough that you can escape all the noise. They also had bottled water that was free for all guests. Definitely nice to have and an easy way to save a few bucks.

I was by no means disappointed in this place. After initially checking out Hostel Heike first, this placed looked like a step up from that even though they are right next door. The Tungara staff was helpful and enthusiastic. In all, I have seen better and I have seen worse. I did not get to venture many other hostels on the island but I got the vibe that they were all around the quality of Tungara.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 47 in Isla Colon
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Hostel
Coconut Hostel
#14 of 40 in Bocas Town
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Fin Hostel
Twin Fin Hostel
#9 of 40 in Bocas Town
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calipso Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calipso Hostel

Property: Calipso Hostel
Address: 3rd Street, between E and Central Avenue | Across the Municipal Building, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 01010, Panama (Formerly Tungara Hostel)
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Calipso Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Colon Island's Main Street, Calipso Hostel is right where all the action takes place but with enough distance from the main bars and clubs allowing you to have a pleasant night's sleep. With 6 dorm rooms and 3 private rooms, all of which are air conditioned and have their own private bathroom, this youth hostel has a welcoming international backpacker vibe. Beds in a dorm room go from $10 per night and private rooms go from $35 per night. The hostel has free wifi internet, an ample balcony, a common kitchen and 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Calipso Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calipso Hostel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing