We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“So good time.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calipso Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calipso Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So good time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Staff are very nice and helpful. Location is great. Near of everything. Open kitchen is a such a big plus and clean. You can have a pancakes and coffee for free for breakfast. ;-) Ambience is so good. I Stayed 5 nights and if i ever go back to Isla Colon, i would stay in Tungara again. I recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamajoules, Owner at Calipso Hostel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Elie,
Thanks for choosing us. We're so glad you had such a great time and that Tungara allowed you to enjoy Bocas at its fullest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    51
    22
    10
    24
See reviews for
5
28
59
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed 6 nights at Tungara in late December and fully enjoyed my time there. It was clean, there was comfortable matresses, free, purified drinking water, wifi, a computer with internet, and our room had a/c (I believe they all do?) for a very good price. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm that had large lockers for backpacks and a large bathroom/shower dedicated to our dorm room. Carlos, Duan and the rest of the staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again. TK

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tknorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamajoules, Owner at Calipso Hostel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hiya there!
Clean, comfortable, welcoming... that and more is what we aim to be. Thanks for spreading the word!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

When I go to Bocas, I always return to Calypso. Friendly staff, clean spaces, free pancakes and coffee in the morning, second floor balcony,semi-private decks off the rooms, cool travelers, - all right in the center of Bocas. I recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxWesleyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamajoules, Owner at Calipso Hostel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Heya Max, so cool to hear we are the place where you return each time you're in Bocas... THANKS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas Town, Panama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

me and my boyfriend stayed a couple of nights in this hostel when we arrived in bocas. the guys at reception are really nice and helpful and try to make your stay as pleasant as possible. the rooms are really clean and every room has its own bathroom and air condition. for only 10 $ pp a night that really a bargain!theres a tour desk right belonging to the hostel, and they can help you out and give information about the tours and activities around. the hostel is located right in the center of the town, opposite of the park on the mainstreet and therewith really safe. in the mornings, they offer free pancakes, which you can prepare yourself in the kitchen which is a really nice plus. only down, the rooms are a little bit dark but in the end of the day your in bocas to enjoy the island and not to sit around in your hostel room. you will also have a locker in your room for valuable staff and the day your leaving, you can store your bags behind the counter which is really convenient. if your looking for a nice, clean place to stay, with helpful and friendly service at the front desk in the middle of the town this hostel is really recommendable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamajoules, Owner at Calipso Hostel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Kira! Glad that we're delivering what we promise and since your feedback we've added some more lights to the dorm rooms. Hope you return one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days and had a great time while staying. The beds were sooo clean and so comfortable. The rooms were fairly quiet and the staff were very friendly. Having A/C in the dorm rooms was also a big plus. I would recommend staying here if you are looking for a nice, affordable, central location with a yummy pancake breakfast and good people. Come and stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I really enjoyed my recent 5-day stay at Tungara Calipso Hostel in Bocas Town. Dwan at the desk was very sweet and Carlos out front at the Tourist office was very kind and helpful. What a great location; our second floor balcony overlooked the main road across from the town park, from where we could watch the parade of young backpackers and local characters strolling by, young mothers with children balanced on their bicycles, guys skateboarding. And a fabulous spot to watch the huge parade for Bocas del Toro provincial holiday - a cast of thousands. Our private room was simple but comfortable with our own private bath (although only cold water, but it was so hot out, we didn't mind), one queen bed and one double bunk. The room next door was a dorm with maybe 8 bunks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed 4 days at Tungara's with my friends. The people who manage the hostel (Carlos and Dwan) are LOVELY!! they were so helpful and nice, we arrived very early with a bus from Panama city and- since the people in our bedroom hadn't checked out yet, they arranged for us to rest in a dorm that was empty, with clean bedsheets, until our room was ready.

But what was really Great is that I left a brand new lycra that I use for surfing hanging somewhere at the hostel, I called them once I realized that from Panama and they found it and hold it for me until my friend gets it this weekend (he's going back to Bocas and staying there again).
The location is great and the staff is amazing!

Room Tip: the veranda is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameriga_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamajoules, Owner at Calipso Hostel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hola Ameriga, we love that you loved us! Your surf lycra is so nice that we're glad you have it back =).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#7 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 46 in Isla Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Heike
Hostel Heike
#3 of 40 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
#2 of 40 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calipso Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calipso Hostel

Property: Calipso Hostel
Address: 3rd Street, between E and Central Avenue | Across the Municipal Building, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 01010, Panama (Formerly Tungara Hostel)
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Colon Island's Main Street, Calipso Hostel is right where all the action takes place but with enough distance from the main bars and clubs allowing you to have a pleasant night's sleep. With 6 dorm rooms and 3 private rooms, all of which are air conditioned and have their own private bathroom, this youth hostel has a welcoming international backpacker vibe. Beds in a dorm room go from $10 per night and private rooms go from $35 per night. The hostel has free wifi internet, an ample balcony, a common kitchen and 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Calipso Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calipso Hostel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing