We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“clean hostel, super friendly front desk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calipso Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calipso Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Bocas Town, Panama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“clean hostel, super friendly front desk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

me and my boyfriend stayed a couple of nights in this hostel when we arrived in bocas. the guys at reception are really nice and helpful and try to make your stay as pleasant as possible. the rooms are really clean and every room has its own bathroom and air condition. for only 10 $ pp a night that really a bargain!theres a tour desk right belonging to the hostel, and they can help you out and give information about the tours and activities around. the hostel is located right in the center of the town, opposite of the park on the mainstreet and therewith really safe. in the mornings, they offer free pancakes, which you can prepare yourself in the kitchen which is a really nice plus. only down, the rooms are a little bit dark but in the end of the day your in bocas to enjoy the island and not to sit around in your hostel room. you will also have a locker in your room for valuable staff and the day your leaving, you can store your bags behind the counter which is really convenient. if your looking for a nice, clean place to stay, with helpful and friendly service at the front desk in the middle of the town this hostel is really recommendable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamajoules, Owner at Calipso Hostel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Kira! Glad that we're delivering what we promise and since your feedback we've added some more lights to the dorm rooms. Hope you return one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    50
    22
    10
    24
See reviews for
5
28
58
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days and had a great time while staying. The beds were sooo clean and so comfortable. The rooms were fairly quiet and the staff were very friendly. Having A/C in the dorm rooms was also a big plus. I would recommend staying here if you are looking for a nice, affordable, central location with a yummy pancake breakfast and good people. Come and stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I really enjoyed my recent 5-day stay at Tungara Calipso Hostel in Bocas Town. Dwan at the desk was very sweet and Carlos out front at the Tourist office was very kind and helpful. What a great location; our second floor balcony overlooked the main road across from the town park, from where we could watch the parade of young backpackers and local characters strolling by, young mothers with children balanced on their bicycles, guys skateboarding. And a fabulous spot to watch the huge parade for Bocas del Toro provincial holiday - a cast of thousands. Our private room was simple but comfortable with our own private bath (although only cold water, but it was so hot out, we didn't mind), one queen bed and one double bunk. The room next door was a dorm with maybe 8 bunks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed 4 days at Tungara's with my friends. The people who manage the hostel (Carlos and Dwan) are LOVELY!! they were so helpful and nice, we arrived very early with a bus from Panama city and- since the people in our bedroom hadn't checked out yet, they arranged for us to rest in a dorm that was empty, with clean bedsheets, until our room was ready.

But what was really Great is that I left a brand new lycra that I use for surfing hanging somewhere at the hostel, I called them once I realized that from Panama and they found it and hold it for me until my friend gets it this weekend (he's going back to Bocas and staying there again).
The location is great and the staff is amazing!

Room Tip: the veranda is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameriga_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamajoules, Owner at Calipso Hostel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hola Ameriga, we love that you loved us! Your surf lycra is so nice that we're glad you have it back =).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had a awesome time at the hostel top owner great staff, clean and a overall really good place to stay. We only planned to go for a few days but ended up staying for nearly a full week checking out the local beaches, caves and nightlife. The management was extremely help full on advising us where to go and what activities to do the main board in the reception is always up to date with activities for people to participate in as well .and the kitchen was clean and tidy, I never made it up early enough for pancakes but I heard they were awesome. Our room and bathroom were cleaned every day unless we requested not to and here was no problem with changing towels or be sheets when we requested. The hostel was also very secure as it had a 24 hour reception. Thanks again guys for a top time in bocas hope to see you all again in the near future kind regards Dan from Manchester

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielRogers1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamajoules, Owner at Calipso Hostel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
We're thrilled to hear you had such a good time in Bocas, that you loved our new mattresses and that you were able to enjoy all of the activities that we recommended. We'll keep working very hard so that all of our guests leave as happy as you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed over a week at the Tungara and my experience was wonderful. Place was clean and in a great location. Couldn't have asked for better staff - Dwan was very friend and helpful! Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandGirl127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamajoules, Owner at Calipso Hostel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dwan is very happy to hear about your feedback. Thank you so much and we look forward to you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

A friend and I decided to stay one night at Tungara as it seemed to be clean and convenient to everything. We stayed in room 6 and unfortunately what other travelers have said on trip advisor was true for us too. We left yesterday and I am covered in bites and fear I have taken bedbugs with me in my clothes... I am sooo itchy. I slept on the queen bed and didn't think anything of the plastic over the mattress - a poor attempt to remedy the problem? Sorry Tungara, but I think you need to replace some of your mattresses, otherwise you make for a decent place to stay. The staff however were friendly and attentive.

FYI... pancakes included yes, but be prepared to cook your own from the bag of pancake mix ;-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariposita3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamajoules, Owner at Calipso Hostel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hi Mariposita3,

We're sorry about your experience but it would have been great if you could have checked the mattress with us. You just checked out and said nothing.

After seeing this review we thoroughly went through the entire room and there is no sign of what you mention. Since then, the room has been occupied by two different parties and there hasn't been any problems at all.

Many travelers in this forum have pointed out that bed bugs are not a problem at Tungara anymore and we can confidently say that it's still the case. We're sorry about your itches but we're sure they aren't our fault. We have replaced 20+ mattresses since we took over in March, have constantly fumigated the entire property and maintain a very close eye at what is happening in our hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#7 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Selina Hostel - Bocas del Toro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calipso Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calipso Hostel

Property: Calipso Hostel
Address: 3rd Street, between E and Central Avenue | Across the Municipal Building, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 01010, Panama (Formerly Tungara Hostel)
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Colon Island's Main Street, Calipso Hostel is right where all the action takes place but with enough distance from the main bars and clubs allowing you to have a pleasant night's sleep. With 6 dorm rooms and 3 private rooms, all of which are air conditioned and have their own private bathroom, this youth hostel has a welcoming international backpacker vibe. Beds in a dorm room go from $10 per night and private rooms go from $35 per night. The hostel has free wifi internet, an ample balcony, a common kitchen and 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Calipso Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calipso Hostel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing