We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent menu! Reasonable prices for great food.”
Review of El Ultimo Refugio

El Ultimo Refugio
Ranked #3 of 71 Restaurants in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent menu! Reasonable prices for great food.”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We found this gem on our last night in Bocas. Excellent service. Clean water safe for drinking. Each person in our party ordered something different and we all enjoyed our meals. Interesting open-air decor, on the water, clean and well kept. Nice portion sizes. Would certainly eat there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    235
    59
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bocas Town, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious casual dining”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Sitting over the water and enjoying a fabulously prepared fish dinner and a passion fruit margarita is one of my favorite things to do in Bocas and Refugio fill the bill. We always have a good time going there whether it is with friends or just with my sweetie,. My only suggestion would be not to have the music so loud as it can be hard to have a conversation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owner520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“one off the best Seefood in town”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

very good food and service,one off the best Restaurants in town,there open at night not on the daytime.......

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best seafood ever, anyplace”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Three us us had dinner at the Refugio one night, each ordering a different seafood dinner. Each of us said it was the best meal we had ever had--absolutely stunning flavors, presentation, everything about the meal was delicious. Now, its not a super fancy place, for the most part, its an open air dining room looking out across the water. We were there early enough to watch the sun go down as we ate. I totally recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethN234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Food looks great if you get it”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had read the reviews and really were excited to eat here. On our first night of the trip we went thinking from the reviews we would be back more than once.
When we arrived there were a few open tables. Our server was very pleasant and friendly. We ordered a bottle of wine, beet salad, & tuna appetizer along with our dinners.
We got the appetizers and they were very good. There was music and we were enjoying ourselves. 2 groups arrived - a party of 8 and a larger one we which them set up for 16 people.
Our server stopped by to ask if we had gotten our apps and got us another bottle of wine.
We waited and when noticing the large party getting food we asked someone about our meals.
Someone not our server came back and said the kitchen was swamped i would be soon.
It had now been over 2 hours and the first party of 8 were paying their check and leaving.
Our server just avoided our table and would not even look our way.
I certainly understand how things happen but it is how you handle them. Finally I got up to ask someone and I was told they forgot to put them in but would be out soon. At this point we were beyond hungry and tried from a long travel day so told them just to forget them.
It was not so much that they forgot the meals it was how once they knew there was a problem they just avoided us.
Sorry to say I can not rate they food only the poor customer service of the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun2bblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ultimo Refugio also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to El Ultimo Refugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing