We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place on the Water”
Review of El Ultimo Refugio

El Ultimo Refugio
Ranked #3 of 71 Restaurants in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place on the Water”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were in Bocas del Toro 5 days and this place was our favorite. The ingredients are fresh and prepared well. I especially loved the salad and the ceviche, but the fish entrees were great as well. The peanut butter, chocolate and caramel dessert was good-not great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMarMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    234
    59
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Beautiful view, unique and delicious dishes, and attentive service! Definitely check this place out in Bocas. You won't regret it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reneeam82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calpe, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, but service a bit iffy”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a lovely meal at this restaurant, but it was let down by the service. Our starters came out at different times, which was strange given that they were both cold starters. Then our main course arrived before we´d even finished our starters, with no apology or offer to bring them later. Finally, our bill was added up incorrectly. So - great food, the ceviche and sesame encrusted tuna were gorgeous, but the kitchen needs to sort its timings.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenandmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Ate here one night, the food was excellent, can't fault it. Cocktails were very nice as well. The ceviche was the standout dish for me.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Snow1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood restaurant”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Ceviche! Tuna with coconut rice. surprise good music. All in all a great dinner experience. The drinks were good and it was all a great value. I recommend ordering different plates and sharing so you can try more menu items

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank oaksusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ultimo Refugio also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to El Ultimo Refugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing