We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a top notch place to eat.”
Review of El Ultimo Refugio

El Ultimo Refugio
Ranked #3 of 71 Restaurants in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
des moines
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Just a top notch place to eat.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

King Mackerel was so fresh, so delicious, and when was the last time you saw King Mackerel on a menu?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank treeshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    235
    61
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent. Top quality food and service”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

As other reviewers have commented, it is well worth getting there early. We arrived at 9.00, on the first occasion that we visited but they were full. We came back the following night at 7.30 and it was less busy at that time. It's quite intimate in a lovely setting over the water and the staff bring a handwritten board round to the tables and you choose from the dishes available on that day. We had both meat and fish and the quality of the food was excellent. It was probably the best meal we had during our three weeks in Panama

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, extremely busy!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I dined here during our Honeymoon. The food was EXCELLENT and the servers were very friendly. The only thing we weren't too happy about was that it took them about 45 minutes to serve us our entrees. However, they did let us know ahead of time that they were very busy that night and the food would probably take up to an hour to be ready. It was worth it for the food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Florent_And_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The restaurant is in the middle of Bocas Town but you feel like you are on one of the smaller islands. The staff speaks well english and the menu is not to big so it is easy to choose. We had meat and fish and both dishes were perfectly cooked and really tastefull. Be sure to come early if you come without reservation as the place is really popular. The reason that it gets 4 stars instead of 5 stars is that the toilet was a bit nasty and it is a bit expansive compared to other good restaurants in the neighborhood. But I can only recommend the place and we will come back again for sure.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sararosa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go early for best seats, by 6:30pm for sure”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Little to add to the 5-star reviews. We ate there 3 times in a one week's stay. Staff spectacular. All fish is same-day fresh caught and wonderful. A bistro feel, sort of noisy and sassy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hartman551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ultimo Refugio also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to El Ultimo Refugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing