We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place !”
Review of Hotel Cala Luna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cala Luna
Ranked #6 of 29 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed there couple of days, very nice hospitable owners, rooms are clean, prices are reasonable and you have everything you need - hot shower, air con, quietness and it is close to the main street.
Try their pizza, one of the best I have tasted !
Cheers !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikensk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cala Luna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 69 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great location 2 blocks from town yet quiet to sleep and super clean and modern facilities. Always willing to help and ver relaxed with only a handful of rooms? Fast Internet, fridge and cable comfy chairs throughout so you can have an afternoon drink from your fridge without breaking bank! Would stay over and again if back.

Room Tip: Ask to see any rooms available and price then select!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Clean, friendly, relaxed "con calma" --lovely environment. Good location away from the ruckas of the partying youth but within easy walking distance to the main part of town. Should you be hungry the ground floor Italian restaurant is a great place to eat -- the pasta w/ seafood, salads, and pizza all excellent. Alberto serves the best coffee I had in Panama. Rooms are spacious, water is hot, rooms are cleaned daily, beds are great. The balcony outside your door has a hammock, chairs and tables to make it really feel like home. Take special note of the incredible wood working throughout - especially the windows and shutters. All hand made by the owner --who also serves the coffee! It's obvious this endeavor is a labor of love. A great place at a great price --can't beat it!

Room Tip: The closer you are to the downstairs --the better wifi reception you get -- but you can always relax...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Clean, and the best italian food i ve try the cook is from Sardenya
Go ! Trust me !
Its great value
The pizza hmmmm!
Fruto di mare without words THE BEST
Wine not expensive
Great quality and price
Plates are big so you might want to share the vegetarian pasta is delicious too

Room Tip: From the outside its not that nice but the owner and the food itsvworth it
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

yes, I would agree with all the other nice things reviewers have said. I went here on the recommendation from my cab driver when all of my other carefully researched choices were full or too yucky! My room was really clean, great bed, lots hot water and the internet (mostly) worked flawlessly. All you quiet freaks should stay somewhere else because Bocas is a small, lively town. You either have noise from the bars or the neighbors. I am super cranky when I am kept awake by dogs, roosters, street noise, etc., but I was there for spanish school for 6 nights.
I am not sure I would want to be there in high season, I am not sure there is anything quiet in town then, but I would choose this place again. Plus in the morning, the owner will make you a cup of European-style capuchinno to die for. I wish I had the food, it looked and smelled amazing.
One other thing, Bocas is hotter than the bloody hubs of hell and humid, so the fact that this hotel has quiet, but efficient Air conditioners is a HUGE plus!

Room Tip: Internet does not work in all rooms, though TV is great, ask the owner, he will tell you the truth!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KJFromSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was the perfect place to stay in Bocas. It felt like real luxury compared to other places in Panama. It felt like we were staying in a tree house. It is really well built. The whole place was spotless clean, especially the room. White sheets and towels. Hot water. The owners were very nice and helpful with anything we needed. The food is delicious. The only thing detracting from it is that the owners smoke downstairs. Honestly, it usually really bothers me, but it is not a strong smell, and didn't effect our stay. We wouldn't have stayed anywhere else.

Room Tip: The owners allowed us to look at all the available rooms in order to chose the one we wanted.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSummerSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at CalaLuna in August! Expect a warm welcome from Alberto and Marcela, comfortable beds, crisp sheets, hot water, working a/c, delicious pizza, and amazing coffee. Our hosts were kind, welcoming and helpful and the accommodation was exactly what we needed - reasonably priced and very comfortable. We couldn't have asked for more! Gracias Alberto & Marcela!! Diane.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#6 of 13 in Bocas Town
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Mamallena Bocas del Toro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Luna

Address: Calle Quinta, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 507, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range: $30 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Cala Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CalaLuna Hotel offers 9 rooms, all featuring air conditioning, cable TV, fridge, safe box and private bathroom with hot and cold water. Free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Cala Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Luna Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing