We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Takes excellent care of its diving clients”

La Buga Dive Center & Surf School
Ranked #2 of 24 Tours in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 2007, “La Buga Dive & Surf” instantly built up a reputation as a reliable and renowned Dive Center & Surf School in Bocas del Toro. No matter if you decide to go diving or surfing with us, we will ensure that you will have a fabulous time experiencing the multifaceted natural resources Bocas del Toro has to offer. You can also rent one of our kayaks or Stand-Up Paddle Boards. Our qualified international staff is providing top quality service by constantly reflecting our core values: Safety, Convenience and Fun! Hope to see you soon!Your La Buga Family
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Takes excellent care of its diving clients”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

As an inexperienced diver, I was very happy with our two-tank dive from La Buga. It wasn't the most challenging dive in the world (45 feet max, no current), which was perfect for my level. There were only three of us to one instructor, which was great as she was able to help me with some of my rookie mistakes without the impatience that some diving instructors have. I have been to more spectacular diving in Mexico and Bermuda, but this was a very pleasant and fun diving experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quebermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toroloco, Manager at La Buga Dive Center & Surf School, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review! We allways want to make sure that everybody has a great time under water, no matter if you are a frequent diver or need some time to get used to it again!

It was a pleasure to take you diving.
Next time we should check out the caves and dolphin rock!!

Saludos de Bocas,

La Buga Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    56
    16
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite Eating Spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have never dived here, but ate here at least twice a week during my stay in Bocas del Toro. The food is not great, but the setting is. It is a cozy and is a beautiful place where you can relax quietly, or meet up with friends for drinks. The wait staff is extremely hospitable and accomodating! The sunset while sitting at La Buga is breathtaking!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mariposa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Diving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was doing my rescue divers course so asked/looked round all the dive companies on the island. La buga were easily the most inviting of them & had a great vibe to the place. So glad I picked here, course was awesome. Jill is the best instructor I've ever had. And after the dives it was a great place to hang out & chill. Wish I would have had long enough to do my divemaster here.

Helpful?
Thank TravelTheWorldRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“La Bugita Cafe was excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The waiter was friendly and the food was unlike why you expect in a small laid back cafe: sophisticated and tasty. They cater for vegetarians too. All in all, a nice and highly recommendable place.

Helpful?
Thank sunflower015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toroloco, Manager at La Buga Dive Center & Surf School, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review.
We are always happy when guests enjoy our food and the atmosphere as much as we do!
Thank you for eating with us, hope to see you again!
La Buga/ La Bugita family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great surf/dive school, great café”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We did surf lessons twice with José who is funny, animated and a really good teacher. The staff at Buga are all warm and friendly.

La Buguita café has limited seating but the food is great, we ate here a few times and they have great smoothies and coffees.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mwiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toroloco, Manager at La Buga Dive Center & Surf School, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you guys for your nice words.
It was a pleasure to have you around and we hope you keep on surfing.
Pop in if you ever come back to town!
La Buga/ La Bugita family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Buga Dive Center & Surf School also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to La Buga Dive Center & Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing