We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing quiet and views on stilts over water only 8 minutes from town, above a coral reef” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bocas Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bocas Villas
La Josefina, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing quiet and views on stilts over water only 8 minutes from town, above a coral reef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

My girlfriend and I visited from Tamarindo, Costa Rica for my 72 hour visa renewal. Panama is not paradise, but it´s close. We chose Bahia Reef Villas for its location on stilts over the bay in front of a coral reef, and still only 8 minutes from town by boat. The villa was excellent, with amazing views, quiet and conveniences, including internet. We were the only couple, heck, the only people, here. There are four villas, one is still under construction, but no work is going on, one is for the manager, Philip, and two are for guests. Privacy galore, 300 meters south of Punta Caracol, at less than a third the price. If you love living over water, and a private getaway close to town, this is for you. We used the kitchen two nights, and took the very reasonable water taxi, free two trips a day, the other two nights.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
7
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

Bahia Reef Villas has it all! The villas are gorgeous, the views are stunning and the surrounding area is beautiful. The four villas are accessible only by boat. They are located no more then 10 minutes from town. Being located out of the town, it is quiet and tranquil. There are howler monkeys, sloths, great snorkeling and excellent swimming conditions. There is a boat that will drive you into town twice a day, which is included in your price. There is a set schedule; however they are really very accommodating. This is a great place to go to relax and unwind!
We were picked up at the Bocas airport and they brought us to the local grocery store right away, which was really convenient. When we got to the villas, we were really impressed. The villas are entirely over crystal clear blue water and the coral reef is at your finger tips. It doesn’t get much better then that.
The kitchens are great and we really enjoyed cooking our own meals, sitting on the big beautiful deck enjoying our dinner and drinks. There is also a bbq that all guests can use, which is a great way to cook fresh seafood that you can buy from local fishing boats. These are eco friendly villas and they did a great job preserving the natural surrounding environment. There is air conditioning in the bed room, which we didn’t use once. The breeze in the evening keeps it very comfortable.
As well, both Phil and Brown are really great and helpful. This is not a resort type place, but they will help you organize whatever activities you’d like to do and offer their advice.
We were extremely satisfied with our choice and we feel that this is the best possible place to stay in all of Bocas!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank efmmaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

Just returned from our 1 week stay at Bahia Reef Villas and were extremely satisfied. Our villa was absolutely beautiful, better than expected. All native wood, simple & modern- everything was nicely done. Lots of privacy, very quiet and tranquil. The staff was fantastic. We heard several howler monkeys, saw all kinds of lizards and crabs, and even had a three-toed sloth staying in a tree that was right behind our villa. The included boat shuttle to and from town worked out perfectly for what we needed. The view was unbelievable and every sunset was gorgeous. We snorkeled right off our dock, saw lots of beautiful coral and tons of fish. Also, we really enjoyed just cooking, drinking and hanging out on the premises for most of the week.

I could not have been more pleased with our lodging choice and will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mathrocckrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a stay at Bahia Reef Villas. I could not have imagined staying anywhere else except here. We were picked up at the airport and taken the the market to get food, from there we went to the Villa boat for a 10 minute ride to the houses. There are 4 Villas, they are beautiful. Each is really a 'house' over the water. Full kitchen with stainless steel, granite and great furniture as well as 2 ceiling fans. The bathroom has great water pressure and plenty of hot water. The bedroom has an ac as well as a ceiling fan. The front deck has a lounge area as well as a table with 4 chairs. Attached to this is a dock, great for swimming and snorkling from as well as fishing from. This is not a resort type place, your mostly on your own, however someone is there if some sort of assistance is needed. They provide a twice daily boat ride into town and can also do tours from the Villa. This was in the perfect location for us, close enough to town, but not in it, over the water and really peaceful. There is also a wireless internet conection, so you can bring your laptop if you want.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedBeach90277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

My girlfriend and I made a return trip to Bocas del Toro. Previously we had stayed in town at a hotel and this time around wanted to have a little more privacy and be able to swim more readily. We rented a house that was fairly close to town and provided a shuttle service (by boat, about 6-7 minutes). Beforehand we had known that some construction was ongoing, that was our only major negative to our stay. We were able to snorkel from the deck and actually had a better time doing that then the tour we took. The place is over the water and the view is really amazing at all times of day...I think miller time was about my favorite though. There are some good restaurants in town and we took the shuttle to and fro, other then that I'm sure we saved some money with the kitchen. All in all we had a really great time and thought the location was perfect, it really worked out well for us to have a little more quiet.

  • Liked — Location...close to town, but a world away at the same time.
  • Disliked — There was ongoing construction during our stay (which we knew about).
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank pfaabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
3.8 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.0 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#6 of 22 in Isla Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
13.8 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bocas Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocas Villas

Property: Bocas Villas
Address: 00507, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bocas Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bocas Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Villas Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing