We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bocas Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bocas Villas
NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked this through VRBO.

Phillip was great. He was extremely helpful before we arrived as my boyfriend and I had about a million questions. Once we arrived he arranged to have Brown his boat driver pick us up, take us to the grocery store and then to our home for three nights. By the way, Brown is The Man.

We stayed in the villa closest to Phillip and after seeing the other two villas, it is definitely the least nice villa. It is still great, but the other two are a bit nicer.

As some people said, they are a bit worn down but they are very clean and have everything you need. Kitchen supplies, stove, toaster, etc. Bath towels and beach towels.

The location cannot be beat. Being directly over the water was relaxing and fun. We loved snorkeling. I liked how we couldn't get to the villas without a boat ride from Brown. It made it seem more exclusive and a lot safer.

We had a lot of fun. Phillip went spear fishing one day and caught a barracuda. We made friends with our neighbors and we all cooked together one night and ate the delicious barracuda!

I've already recommended the villas to some friends going down next month and now I am recommending the Villas on trip advisor to everyone!

Room Tip: the two on the far end away from the owner's villa 
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieKate14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
7
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed in Bocas villas for 5 nights and enjoyed it very much! The location was beautiful, waking up and falling asleep over the ocean is hard to beat. Our only complaint is really our fault, we are 26 and 27 year old girls who still like to party a little and Bocas villas is definitely secluded and coming home late is not a good idea or cheap. We went out to aqua lounge one night and came home late (which was probably loud and rude to our neighbors but we had a blast) and definitely felt judged the next day. But the boat trips included to town are great and make sight seeing during the day great (the times are sometimes tricky depending on what you want to accomplish during the day). I would suggest going to town and finding deals to red frogs beach, starfish, etc. Phil was very helpful, we wished for floaties, didn't even know he was around to hear us and we woke up with floaties on the patio. Brown was even more helpful and just a really nice guy, and Sam, the dog, was really pleasant to have around. all in all was a great time and would definitely come back, probably with my significant other next time. Thank you for

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DancerNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntington beach, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The review by NYCPlanner71, May 22 2013, is pretty spot on. This place will be fantastic for some and maybe a let down for others. But, I'll have to say that the ones who are let down probably didn't do their research. This place is not a resort, hotel, or full-service anything. If the thought of finding a fly in your soup appalls you, you might want to go elsewhere.

Phillip is a relaxed guy who can provide you with information and help with things you may need. It's obvious that he cares about Bocas Villas, and keeps it up very nicely. Brown is also an easy going guy who is friendly and will be there as promised whenever you ask him to. The bungalows are simple, minimally stocked, but clean (given that you're in an rural part of an almost third-world country), have just the essentials you need to eat, sleep, wash, and lounge, and yet feel almost luxurious when you're just lounging there taking in the view or laying in the warm calm, carribean waters.

Let Phillip know when you're arriving and he or Brown will pick you up from the airport. Worst case, the cab rides in town are generally $1 per person ... same for water taxis. The boat will meet you across the street from the Jardin Carribeno bar, and next to the Besos del Drago restaurant in case you need to cab it. They will probably stop at a market along the way to pick up groceries. I'd recommend getting at least water and snacks. Bocas Villas is only 5-10 mins by boat, but you'll have to arrange transport prior to any trip, so it's better to have some food and drink at the bungalow.

We stayed in the third bungalow from the left (approaching from the water). The stove is a bit small, but worked fine. The refrigerator keeps things cool but not cold, and the freezer is colder, but not enough to make ice, so be prepared. My girlfriend and I picked up a carton of eggs, some meat, couple potatoes, couple tomatoes, an onion, bananas, apples, salsa, hot sauce, big jug of water, instant noodles, bag of tortillas, couple 6 packs of beer, liter of squirt, 6 pack of club soda and tonic and several limes, vodka and tequila. This was a good amount of groceries for 4 days.

There are several snorkel and mask sets on the property, and a few fins, but not many sizes. I would recommend bringing your own if you're particular, or if you intend to do a lot of snorkeling. Bring a small dive light if you want to snorkel at night ... nothing to be afraid of in these waters ... only saw a few small jelly fish. Phil has some spear guns if you're into that. I didn't see anything big enough to shoot during my stay. There's a grill on the premises, but we didn't use it.

Getting back and forth from town takes a little planning. Basically, you should arrange the transportation with Phil or Brown the day before, but otherwise, there are normally two trips per day. We went during low season (July), so transportation was readily available, but not sure how that plays out during busy times (December). You should tip Brown ... more if he's gone out of his way to pick you up late at night. I don't think it's very possible to take a water taxi back to the villas, and Phil didn't recommend trying (for safety reasons), FYI.

Carry plenty of cash if you go into town, or be prepared to visit the ATM. It's pretty hit or miss if places accept credit cards. Ask before you sit down. Some places might even say they do, but then their card machine didn't work when the bill came. Be prepared. Meals are less expensive than the US, but not super cheap. A decent local meal can be had for about $5, and a nicer meal might be $25 (without alcohol). We had a really good meal at Bibi's restaurant on Isla Carenero. Aqua Lounge is kind of a fun, get drunk and do crazy things, kind of place that is also on Isla Carenero. It's a $1 water taxi ride you can catch from Barco Hundido bar. Phil told us about an inexpensive local place called Besos del Drago, which is right next to where they dock their boat in town. La Iguana was a fun bar filled with young tourists, and had a little dance floor, if you're into that. Everyone said to go to Barco Hundido to dance, but when we went there, it was dead, and they weren't very friendly. Bocas Wine Bar has a nice patio and view of the town, but wasn't really worthwhile. Raw Sush + Martini had super nice servers, but the sushi was a little funky tasitng, though well-presented. There are a lot of other options for dining and drinks ... asking people got us better results than googling.

For snorkeling and excursions, you can arrange with Phil. It's wothwhile if you have more than a few people, but might be a little expensive if it's just two people. We went into town and signed up with Gambitours, run by a french gentleman named Richard. It was only $30 per person, but they packed us into a small boat which made it tough to get your snorkel stuff on and get in and out of the water. Other than that, the tour was pretty good for the price. The snorkeling at Cayo Coral was only a little better than what you can get in front of your bungalow at Bocas Villas. Cayo Zapatillo was beautiful, but they spent too much time there ... like 2 hours.

Finally, there are definitely mosquitos. I never heard or saw them, but got plenty of bites. We brought spray, but I felt like having the fans on were better deterrant than the spray. However, I would recommend having spray for when you're not under a ceiling fan. By the last night, I didn't even use a spray, but turned on a fan and didn't seem to have any more bites. Still, i found that these bites were less potent than the ones I get back home.

Hope this information helps you out. Overall our short vacation was great. Bocas Villas was simple and charming, but exceeded our expectations in many ways. If we were to go back, the only things I would change would be to bring more cash and stay longer.

Room Tip: There are only 4 bungalows where we stayed, and apparently there are 3 more a little ways down the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigjr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

How to explain reviews where so many people love it here yet others appear to hate it? I chalk it up to some widely varying expectations about what Bocas Villas is (and in fact we were there at the same time another group was who gave it a bad review, and it was clear their expectations were way off). For us, it was an immensely peaceful and tranquil place surrounded by water with a gorgeous coral reef right in front and amazing bio luminescent invertebrates AND plankton all around. Sunsets in front of you, pufferfish and Eagle Rays in the water, calming rainstorms (in Dec/Jan it certainly does rain a lot, which we loved) mixed with sun to dry everything out.

But this is not a full-service hotel and not the four seasons. And Bocas del Toro is rustic Panama it's not St. Kitts. Bocas Villas is a place to relax and breathe, to listen to the quiet surrounding. The villas have great open porches in front and are laid out well, but they are more along the lines of a rustic rental bungalow with good amenities than a luxurious condo. The kitchens would benefit from a run to Ikea to beef up the cookware, but all the basics are indeed there. The place is also not IN Bocas Town, it's a boat ride away and therefore your ability to move around is constrained as such. But that's where the peacefulness of the place comes from: you're isolated.

Phillip and Brown do a great job with upkeep and transportation and Brown is a warm soul to greet you every morning. If you really want to get away, to be quiet and hear yourself breathe, to look at the stars by night and the water by day, go to Bocas Villas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCPlanner71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I flew down from Ohio to Costa Rica and per Phil's guidance, I made it to his villas in Panama. What a great experience. He picked me up from the water taxis in Bocas from Almirante via Sixaola (border town). What an adventure!

Bocas Villas was incredibly gratifying. Wake up, snorkel, go fishing, relax. I went snorkeling at midnight and caught two king crabs with my hands! They clawed the crap out of me... then we ate them.

Take a boat to town and proceed to Aqua Lounge (if it still exists). Good times!

I highly recommend hanging out in Bocas del Toro and Bocas Villas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was thinking about our recent trip to Panama and decided that maybe we should go again. Reading these reviews, I am stunned. We booked our room for 3 nights, and decided that we didn't have enough time, so stayed for 10 days. Our time at Bocas was absolutely wonderful. Philip and Brown became our friends, and were always there when we needed them. Even took us to an island chili cook-off. Of course it's a little dated, but who needs all of the amenities when the beautiful ocean is right in front of you? You need something, ask someone, and they are more than happy to help. (This isn't Sandals resort) Anyways, if you are thinking of taking a wonderful, relaxing trip, visit this place, I highly recommend it. (Thank you Philip and Brown!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The villas have the potential to be amazing, but the villas and the setup need some serious work. I was looking forward to this part of our trip for months, and was severly disappointed.

First of all, the villas are very run down. Everything is just a little dirty and falling apart. The doors don't close/lock, the curtains are covered in dirt and the blinds were broken. There is absolutely no way you could cook a meal in the kitchen, as there is hardly anything there. We had exactly ONE plate in the cupboard, a few pans that I would never put food into and a few glasses. We also never had hot water in the shower.

Second, the owner seems completely disinterested in handling the rental of the villas. I understand that it isn't a full-service hotel, but a little hospitality would be nice. When we pulled up on the boat on the first day, he said, "Well, here's what water. I guess that's all you need to know", and left.

Third, we had some major issues with the boat transfers to and from town. The first problem is that they drop you off on the far side of the town, so you either have to walk (which we did during daylight and took about 15 minutes) or take a cab. It's a bit of a sketchy area, and waiting there for Brown in the pitch dark at 9pm was not fun. The second problem with the boat transfers is the boat itself. When we were picked up, the boat was TINY and we (and our luggage) were soaked. The boat we used on the other transfers was larger, but has no light. Brown would hold up a flashlight as he drove. One night we ended up heading back in a large storm, and it was completely terrifying. I would NEVER have brought my kids back and forth on this boat. The final problem with the transfers was the timing. We didn't want to go into town in the morning, but if we had, Brown was nowhere to be found. In the evening, 1 of the 3 days we were there we had to go ask Phil to track Brown down because he wasn't there. And on the day we left, we needed to leave by 6am...we had asked before we had put our deposit down if that would be a problem and were assured it wouldn't be. We then reminded Brown the night before...but he did not show up that morning. We waited until 6:15 and had to go and wake Phil up to call Brown. Phil didn't even bother to get up, but Brown did appear a few minutes later.

The only saving grace of this villa is that it is on the water in a beautiful area. We loved Bocas, but would NEVER consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVTinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
3.8 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.0 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#5 of 22 in Isla Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
13.8 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bocas Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocas Villas

Property: Bocas Villas
Address: 00507, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bocas Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bocas Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Villas Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing