We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I have never experience anything like this!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bocas Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bocas Villas
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I have never experience anything like this!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Bocas del Toro it's a dump. A backpacker town, I have nothing against Backpackers but if they don't care to keep the litter in bins and to trash the place without any regards; I am totally against them. The people who lives there trash the water like I have never seen before. Restaurants have their toilets by the water and then everything ends up right in it and you can see it when you get on the boat which are located behind business. Bocas Villas is not far from this areas; it's a 10 minutes ride, every one says it. Look at other people's reviews. Me and my partner stayed there and we were giving the room that the owner lives in, look at the pictures and come up with your own conclusions. It's a 10 minutes ride from town and you get on and get off in a dump place because it cost money to be dropped in town, so Phil and Brown say! Sorry, but if you don't know any better you may think this is paradise. I know better and this place is not paradise. I wish I could be blunt but I am afraid Tripadvisor.com could not handle it.

Room Tip: Avoid the room where Phil sleeps or lives in, and don't complain that you didn't listen or b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelson7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
7
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The location was outstanding! We loved to snorkel off our front porch, in the crystal clear water. The breakfasts were very good. We enjoyed "Brown", who shuttled us around in the boat, despite the fact that his english was as bad as my spanish. Overall, it was very relaxing.

Just a couple negatives... You get 2 boat rides into town and the times are somewhat flexible, based on the requirements of the other guests.They tried to accomadate everyone and this was not a big deal, since we were in "chill mode". I can see how this might be a problem for some. Also, (and this is no reflection on Bocas Villas) the owners of Punta Caracol live nearby and must have about a dozen dogs... that like to bark.

Overall, we loved our stay and would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for the end unit, unless I will be there at the same time, because I want it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HocusBocas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Been to Bocas once before and stayed at the Tropical Suites in town, which is quite nice, but if you don't mind a little leg work with the groceries, this place is truly special and you will not regret it. No room service or AC, so don't expect it. Buy your own supplies in town and bring them on the boat with you and you will have absolute privacy in a breathtaking place. Places with ammenities in the area will cost you two or three times the price of Bocas Villas. Brown, the boat and go-to guy is very nice and quite a character, with a great sense of humor. Phil, the owner, basically keeps to himself and assists when asked. Do take bug repellent. Nights are hot, so we had to sleep with windows and doors open, and even though there weren't that many bugs, there were enough Chitras to keep us busy scratching. The only con I could remember wasn't even the dogs barking, as some pointed out, as this wasn't too frequent, but the house being built near by. The owner, a Brazilian, seemed to be quite loud when speaking, and sound travels when you are over the water. It was all well worth it though, and we'll be back next year, but for a longer stretch.

Room Tip: Far cabin, lots of bug splay, and take care of the reef!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HoracioR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The location was great. It was about a 10 min boat ride to town where you could walk 15 mins to the main street or take a $1 taxi. The villa all opened up so you could have indoor outdoor living. You could jump off the dock into the water and snorkel in the reef right outside the front. It was beautiful and would make a great honeymoon spot. You're close enough to town to do activities but still secluded enough to enjoy the privacy. I would highly recommend staying her

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliviaelyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Beautiful does not even begin to describe this place! Stunning coral reef full of sea life right off the deck, monkeys howling at night, convenient to anything you want to do. 1st off if you don't like quiet, simple, serene beauty don't visit Bocas period! Philip was super easy to work with and very good at being available without being intrusive. Brown (Philips care taker, boat diver general man about town) is AMAZING...bless him even with the language barrier he was fun, polite and a wealth of information and believe you me, 3 non-spanish speaking Kansans couldn't have been easy :)
In general every one of the locals we encountered were beyond nice, the children will come out of their houses to say "hola" and at no time did we ever feel unsafe. Areas of town are sketchy but taxis are easy to find and use your common sense. The bugs are NO JOKE and unlike mosquitos in the US it is little almost impossible to see gnats so buy some bug spay or oil when you get there and skip the perfume. Starfish Beach, Drago and Red Frog Beach are must visit day trips while you're there and Philips rates are super, just let him know a little ahead of schedule and he takes care of it. Food is available eally anywhere you visit but remember they run on a different time table than we do in the US, rushing is not acceptable so schedule accordingly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahKarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Bocas Villas in Bocas del Toro is an excellent place to stay while visiting the Bocas del Toro area. The individual casitas (apartments) all sit over the water and you dive from your deck directly over the reef. With deck over the water, a stocked kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom it has all the comforts you need for a relaxing visit. Philip provides twice daily free boat service (you have to meet Brown!) to Bocas town. He will also arrange other trips as requested. I can not say enough about the location, service, and staff at Bocas Villas, justice. You go and see for yourself.

Side note: While on our trip we took some bicycles to explore Bocas town and some of the surf beaches. My wife had an accident and broke her leg and severly dislocated her ankle. We we returned to Bocas Villas and Philip immediately got on the internet to locate the nearest orthopedic doctor. The following morning he instructed Brown to take us by boat to Almirante (about 45 minutes to an hour west on the mainland) where we were to catch a cab to Changunola (about an cab ride). Philip made the doctor's appointment and instructed Brown not to leave us until we visited the doctor and she was admitted to the local hospital. Brown helped us secure a cab for the following day and made sure the driver would be available to take us back to Almirante when my wife was released. I was able to call the cab driver the next afternoon and he took us to Almirante and called Brown and told him to meet us with the boat. Brown arrived the same time we did and returned us to Bocas Villas. To fully appreciate this you must know that my wife and I have a most limited Spanish vobulary and Brown has about as much English vocabulary. With this language divide, Philip and Brown made this "adventure" possible and we were able to successfully complete our vacation (leg cast and all). When were returned that evening Philip's girlfriend prepared and excellent lobster diner on the Villa's deck.

Please give make Philip, Brown and Bocas Villas you destination of choice in Bocas del Toro.

Room Tip: Bocas Villas – Bocas del Toro (011 507) 6474-0190 rentals@bocasvillas.com www.bocasvillas.com US...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael4946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amagansett, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We came to Bocas Villas for the first part of our honeymoon and it was perfect!!!! It is absolutely beautiful both inside and out. The house inside is simply and tastefully decorated with everything you need. There is a kitchen with the bare necessities but enough that we were able to cook delicious lobsters (thanks Phillip!) and breakfasts. There are two decks- one was covered with a day bed and table and chairs and the outer one had two lounge chairs. Perfection!! It is not a resort so we did not expect to be served by a staff as apparently some other reviewers have done, yet it is not advertised as such so those expectations were unreasonable. The owner was so nice and extremely accommodating without us ever feeling like we were crowded by him. The reef is right under your outer deck and there is snorkel equipment at the house. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. Thanks Phlip! -Bill and Robin

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
3.8 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
514 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
380 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#5 of 21 in Isla Colon
296 reviews
6.9 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
484 reviews
13.8 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bocas Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocas Villas

Property: Bocas Villas
Address: 00507, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bocas Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bocas Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Villas Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing