We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotelito Del Mar
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Posada Isla Chica(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Laguna(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Cristina(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Bocas del Toro(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swan's Cay Hotel(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gran Hotel Bahia(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Palma Royale(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
100
73
16
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
73
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh fruitlonger staywould stay here againin townmini fridgehot waterair conditioningmain streetwi fiincluded breakfastlocation is greatrooms are cleanbocasbalconyboatcaribbeanpanama
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 195 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My daughter and I spent two nights at Hotelito Del Mar end of June 2013. No issues with our reservation or finding the hotel. Sally made us feel welcome and the room was clean, good a/c, hot shower. WIFI worked well throughout our stay. Breakfast consisted of homemade muffins and fresh fruit, coffee/tea. The fruit and muffins were both good. My wife and I are coming back late in 2013 and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johngr54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were impressed from the get-go when Sally Ramirez, the owner, promptly returned our many emails each and every time, giving us the information requested. The hotel is lovely, with a beautiful underwater mural painted on its face and on the first-floor doors. It's an easy walk from the water taxi and centrally located to everything. It's not right on the water but across the street from the buildings on the water. Sally and her staff were very warm and friendly. Our room (the double on the second floor was enormous with two double beds, an expansive balcony with a peekaboo view of the water, and a equally huge bathroom). The balcony included a hammock and Adirondack furniture. AC, wifi and TV all worked flawlessly. Along with our own room was a shared living area on the second floor between the two upstairs rooms, so you felt like you had a nice big apartment. We could store food in the fridge in the upstairs kitchen, but it was not available to cook food. Sally's staff baked muffins there every evening for the following morning and the smell was heavenly. Each morning, we were greeted with strong coffee (my coffee snob husband opted to drink her coffee than make his own despite having lugged three pounds of coffee from home in our luggage), homemade blueberry or chocolate chip muffins and fresh fruit. The hotel guests congregated in the breakfast area and we made friends with and went on a tour with three other guests. We also had Sally's two parrots and two cats to keep us company, making it feel more like visiting someone's home, than a hotel. Good value and we would definitely stay here again if in the area. Definitely idea for those not up for the bare-bones hostel-backpack experience but not wanting to pay top dollar for an over-priced hotel right on the water or with an on-site restaurant. Lilli's with her "killing me mon" hot sauce is right across the street.

Room Tip: We stayed in room six, which is an upstairs bedroom with two double beds, a very large bathroom and expansive balcony with peakaboo water view over the Chinese association's rooftop across the street. The balcony came with a hammock and adirondock chairs, "sofa" and coffee table. We also had use of the common sitting room the separates the two upstairs rooms. We did not see the other rooms but were glad we paid the extra money for room 6 and would ask for it again.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squirrelmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We took a family vacation to Bocas with 2 small kids and booked our stay here. It was an absolute pleasure staying there. Sally the owner is very helpful and friendly. All the staff are also as helpful and friendly and they go the extra step to make your stay enjoyable. Nice morning breakfast is also included. Sally chatted with us everyday and help you with any questions we had about places to go and different tours to take. If we every go back we will for sure stay there.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are very nice with its own balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyMSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at Hotelito Del Mar for 5 nights in June of 2013. Being a first time visitor to Bocas I decided to send the hotel an email for a tip on logistics in regards to how far the property was from the local airport in Bocas.

The reply to my email was very quick and perfectly written by Sally the owner. I never walked more than 10 minutes by staying at this hotel and was not interested in the "Hostel" experience. A/C worked well, shower worked well, and there were hand towels included and two bath towels.

Being a first time visitor I had many questions for use of the water taxi's, restaurants, tours, etc. Sally always had a great suggestion and has lived there for years.

I would recommend renting a bike next door ($5 a day) to see the town by bike for the fun of it.

Also check out Red Frog Beach ($7 water tax ride from JamTam across the street). Also eat a yummy breakfast at Lili's also across the street. This hotel is just one block off the main drag and just far enough away from any loud night club music (the bars stay open until 5am- yikes).

$55 a night was right in my price range budget wise so this property did me right. Cheers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supernova72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We booked in advance and arrived to be greeted by Sally the owner.She apologetically told us that unfortunately our room had been overbooked BUT she had an upgrade available for us at a lower rate to make amends and would we like to see the room.The room she had for us was on the top floor and was huge with two beds, a massive corner balcony and a two person seated shower! We agreed to take the room as it was very good value.The hotel is definately more of a home than a hotel.Sally is very attentive and provides a very good service as do the other staff.There is a shared kitchen,as there is no onsite restaurant and a living area with books and magazines .Coffee makers are provided in the room along with huge fluffy towels.and the corner location of our balcony provided a great view point to watch the goings on of Bocas Town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silkfunkybrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews