We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great little hotel by the sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelito Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotelito Del Mar
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Great little hotel by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I highly recommend the little hotel by the sea. Clean rooms, great prices, good A/C, cable TV, and WiFi (a must). Sally (the owner) and staff are always helpful and friendly. The property is well landscaped with lots of flowers. I love the upstairs room with your own private porch or the front veranda....either place is perfect for relaxing in Bocas. The location is convenient to everything. Why would you stay in a hostel? This is a great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmegal28, Owner at Hotelito Del Mar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Hotelito del Mar. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    64
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
70
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
David, Panama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent three nights here and were very happy. It is very quiet, a big consideration for us older folks in a party town. The rooms are clean, comfortable, reliable internet and utilities, and comfortable beds. I especially enjoyed breakfast with good coffee, fresh fruit and muffins, and interesting conversations with other travelers. The hotel is in a good location close to the water, shops, restaurants, city park, and water taxis. The staff is good and the owner is a wealth of information about the area, things to do, and anything else you want to know. There is more on my blog http://blog.thepanamaadventure.com/2013/04/21/bocas-del-toro-hotelito-del-mar/

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmegal28, Owner at Hotelito Del Mar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Hotelito del Mar. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at Hotelito del Mar for 3 nights last week, and loved it. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We especially liked the second floor rooms with balconies overlooking the street. Location is also good, very close to the water taxis to Almirante, stores, restaurants, etc. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmattina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great location and the tropical plants surrounding the hotel give you a degree of privacy not found elsewhere in town. Sally (owner) is wonderful, helpful, charming,engages guests on veranda at breakfast and leisure, good stories. Staff very friendly and helpful. My week stay 3/4-3/11 was fabulous and will definitely book again on return to Bocas

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotless and the hotel was in a location close to everything. Will stay there again when in Bocas. The breakfast was fresh and the coffee hot and plentiful. Very good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsrockytop55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from Feb12/13-Feb21/13. I don't really know where to start other than this hotel far exceeded my expecitations, it was clean and very well maintained. But the biggest attrubiute to this hotel is the staff. All of the girls went the extra mile to help in anyway possable. Also the owner Sally made you feel very much at home and treated us as family house guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReginaMissinglink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmegal28, Owner at Hotelito Del Mar, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I thank you for your kind words, and look forward to a continuing affiliation with you in the future. Please keep in touch, we hope you will be able to return to Hotelito del Mar in the future. STR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Simple but clean and comfortable enough. Very good price for what you get. Its in the middle of town and there can be some noise late evening but the nights were quiet. Breakfast was ok and staff helpful

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJohnsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
1.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#7 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelito Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelito Del Mar

Property: Hotelito Del Mar
Address: Calle Primera y Calle 2a, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bocas Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small hotel is conveniently located in Bocas del Toro, Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province, Panama. Each of our spacious 7 rooms has cable TV, wireless internet access, A/C and hot water, continental breakfast. They are extremely well insulated and quiet. Groups are welcome. We accept all major credit cards. All inquiries are welcomed and answered promptly. Join us for a unique holiday on a tropical Carribean flavored island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotelito Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelito Del Mar Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing