We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Blend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotelito Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotelito Del Mar
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Blend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This charming boutique hotel in the center of Bocas was the perfect blend of hospitality, location, amenities and price. We stayed for 3 nights in January and wished we could have changed our arrangements to include a few more days. Sally and the staff know all the ‘right’ people and places to maximize your visit to the area. It was truly a highlight of our Panama Vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs but we were very happy downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    68
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
71
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hotelito del Mar is very well situated. Close to everything and far enough to be troubled by the noise of the party people (the nights you don't party yourself). The staff is the biggest plus if this hotel! Very helpfull and always thinking with you, even without asking it, they will help you with things if they see it!
The only minus, was a generator accross the street, which was making so much noise, but with the doors close and airco on, it was quiet.
Very nice beds too, I slept really good!

Room Tip: Depends if they are building in the area. But the 4 persons room with balcony is really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_NL_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmegal28, Owner at Hotelito Del Mar, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words about Hotelito del Mar in Bocas del Toro. We are glad you were happy and enjoyed your time with us. Sally Ramirez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh pa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband daughter and I stayed here on 1/27/13. It was perfect for what we were looking for. Very clean with wifi and a nice continental breakfast. I would stay again if we go back to B.D.T.
The Kings

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmerswife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salmegal28, Owner at Hotelito Del Mar, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank yo so much for the kind words about Hotelito del Mar in Bocas del Toro. We are glad you had a satisfactory experience with us. We hope that you will return to visit us again in the future.
Kindest regards, Sally Ramirez, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was my first visit to Bocas Del Toro and wasnt sure what to expect. We ended up choosing hotelito del mar as our hotel for the 2 nights we were in town because a lot of the hotels were booked because of Christmas. The reviews seemed good enough. I have to stay I was a bit disappointed. The location is great, right off the main street, but the rooms are almost college dorm like. Maybe even hostel like. It was a very simple room, two beds with a table lamp(hot pink with feathers table lamp!). We stayed on the ground floor that faced the street which sometimes made me feel uncomfortable with the men standing around on the street outside. Breakfast was some sourdough bread and fruit. Nothing special. Overall I would say it's fine but I would think there are probably better accommodations in bocas for the same price...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Located behind Bocas Main Street, offers great location near night life, restaurants and tour/taxi boats. We stayed on a 3 single bed room located on first floor facing the street, and we had good sleep without noises from outside. All communication previous our arrival was made by email, got there and was a 1minute check-in :) Good surprise was the complementary fruit and coffee offered for breakfast. The employees at the inn where very attentive all the time. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinSoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We recently returned from Bocas del toro. We spent 3 nights there and had perfect weather for the first two days and rain the last day and a bit. Of course this is the rainy season, all in all it was perfect.

The Hotelito del Mar was beyond amazing, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially with our limited Spanish.
Breakfast of fresh fruit, muffins, bread (that was amazing), coffee and tea were available every morning. The rooms were spacious, clean and there was air conditioning! But one of the best features was the free wifi! Most major hotels don't even offer that. The icing on the cake would definitely be the hot water, nice bonus.

The location was prime and we never felt unsafe even though we were two girls on our own.
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Bocas is a great get away.

Safe travels

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candykicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

I arrived into Bocas without a specific place to lay my head in mind. After walking along the main street I ended up at Hotelito Del Mar. A very nice hostess and a clean spacious room. It's in the perfect location, right off of the main street but secluded enough to not be "in the middle of everythang." What made it better was that my room was more than 100% less expensive than one across the street would've been. Yes, over 100% less.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
1.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#9 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelito Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelito Del Mar

Property: Hotelito Del Mar
Address: Calle Primera y Calle 2a, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelito Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small hotel is conveniently located in Bocas del Toro, Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province, Panama. Each of our spacious 7 rooms has cable TV, wireless internet access, A/C and hot water, continental breakfast. They are extremely well insulated and quiet. Groups are welcome. We accept all major credit cards. All inquiries are welcomed and answered promptly. Join us for a unique holiday on a tropical Carribean flavored island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotelito Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelito Del Mar Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing