We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise from neighbors was an issue in early February, 2011”
Review of Koko Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koko Resort
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Isla Colon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2011

The previous comments are more or less in line with our limited experience. depending on your perspective, it's nice, but it has it's limits. The accomodations were clean, well maintained, and the kitchen was functional. The place does have its charms, but the surroundings are, by Central American standards, ordinary. The only real problem was very loud music from a place maybe 50 or 100 yards down the waterfront. We would be fine with the place if not for the extremely intrusive music. If the place next door calms down, we'd recommend Kokos, but for now we would recommend asking about it before booking. Ironically, we'd booked into Koko to avoid the busy-ness of the downtown scene.

Upon arrival in the late afternoon on a Sunday for a 1 night layover in Bocas town, the music was very, very loud. No, you don't understand: Loud. Pounding. Inescapable. Very, very loud. Central America can be a noisy, raucus place, but this was far beyond anything we have heard in any residential area we have visited anywhere. The sound did not stop between our arrival and when we went out for dinner. We went into town about 7-ish, and while walking back to Koko at 10:30, we could hear if from literally nearly a half mile away. It finally, mercifully, shut down at midnight, as if on schedule. Lee at Koko's informed us the next day that the source was an "Indian bar" that had recently opened, and that it was only open on weekends. She noted that the bar had little to offer except the stereo and "lots and lots of beer." If that remains to be the case, we cannot recommend Kokos on Thurs. through Sunday. If this local spot has flamed out in the past few weeks, or if the neighbors got tired of it and did something, please let others know. But ask before booking if the place is still operating. If not for the noise, we could recommend Koko Resort.

Oh, and keep in mind that the water may not be 100% safe to swim in due to septic discharge into the sea from houses down the way.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chartreuse_shrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosstone, Owner at Koko Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2011

Unfortunately we can not control the music and being a small island sounds travels easily. Normally the bars only are open and loud on special occasions and are closed many weekends it just depends on the holiday and whats going on. We are very lucky because in town the bars stay open till 5 or 6am and in our community almost always close before midnight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 324 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2011

Ko Ko resort as well as Bahia Del Sol, both the owners jack and Lee are amazing. This was our first trip to panama and going to bocas was a must. First off, I believe they are one of the only guest houses that respond to your emails asap as well as accept visa.
We were greeted by Jack at the airport and got a tour of the town on the way to Ko Ko. Our cabin was literally on the ocean, so beautiful and had everything you could possibly need. Jack is hilarious and full of humour and lee is kind and there to answer any question you may have. The restuarants they recommend are amazing (my fav el ultiom refugio) The breakfast jack makes in the morning is the best i have ever had at any place ive stayed over my many years of traveling all over the world. he fills that belly and every morning there is something new to try. My boyfriend and I loved the fact that the guest house was not on the main drag, heck its only a .50 cent cab ride if you dont feel like walking.
It was my birthday on one of our days there and jack and lee had made me an amazing, chocolate cake. It was very sweet and I am still smiling when i think of what givers and kind people they are.
When I return in the future there will be no question where I will be staying.
Thank you jack and Lee for making my 30th birthday wonderfull.
See you again,
ali and cam

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passionistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We stayed four nights at Koko Resort and had a wonderful time. Koko Resort offers a unique setting over the water, away from town, but conveniently close to town. There is nothing quite like relaxing in a hammock while watching fish under the dock and feeling the oceam breezes. Lee and Jack were fantastic hosts. They provided great advice, arranged for tours, and cooked a tasty breakfast every day. The walk into town takes about 15 minutes, but taxis were always available, and cheap. With a neighborhood consisting of mainly locals, we felt that we had a true cultural experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I just got back from our trip to Bocas and had such a great experience at Koko we had to review here! Jack and Lee, and Koko, were a big part of why we loved our vacation so much - not only were the cabins super awesome - but Jack and Lee were the most hospitable and generous hosts you could hope to find. We kept joking that it felt like you were staying with your cool aunt and uncle. By the end of the 6 days we were there, they felt like family.

The cabins over the water are really beautiful - a nice, full kitchen and bedroom loft. It was so pleasant to just sit on the porch in the evening after a day at the beach to wind down. We have traveled pretty extensively, and I can honestly say that this is one of the best hotel experiences we've ever had.

One last thing - we were somewhat concerned about the distance to town when booking but didn't find it to be a problem at all. Cabs are easy to find and come quickly after Jack calls them for you, and it's just a few minutes into town.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatTraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Ahhhh Bocas del Toro how I miss you, already planning my return. I loved this place our cabanas were far more than I had expected, it was our own little house on the water. Lee and Jack were so helpful with all of our touristy needs in Bocas and breakfast was always funny with Jack. We were right in the middle of the local neighborhood which is one of my favorite aspects when travelling anywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariza1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Our Koko resort cabin was a great value for 4 people! Right on the water, very clean, quaint. The neighborhood wasn't the greatest, but didn't bother us much, as we are acquainted with the many different "feels" of Panama. We felt safe! Owners Jack & Lee
were very helpful with the area attractions and helped with phone calls to local sight seeing tours. Great breakfast by Jack in the morning, very relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely recommend to friends!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janDesMoines_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We really wanted to like Koko. We had always wanted to stay in a cabin over the water. We've traveled throughout Central America and love staying in sleepy beach towns. We're used to spending $20-$40 per night (in Utila Honduras for example) and figured that for $120 we'd be really impressed. Here was the problem: I've stayed in more modern, quiet, and updated hostels for a 6th of the price. And really, our issue came down to the pricing.

Jack and Lee were AWESOME hosts. Breakfast was legendary each day (served in their B&B a few steps away.) On our first day there we were in MAJOR need of a washing machine and when I asked about the closest laundromat, Lee laughed and said, "Give me your clothes." Jack was always giving advice on where to go and what to do. (And take his advice when it comes to tour guides. We didn't, and had a HORRIBLE experience with a "tour.")

One of the biggest reasons we wanted to stay here was the fact that it was far away from town. We wanted to fall asleep to the sound of the waves. Unfortunately 5 nights a week there is a really loud disco that starts at around 7PM and thumps until the wee hours of the morning. The first night we arrived we hoped it was just a random party. We just ended up cranking the A/Cs for white noise and slept with earplugs in every night. It was a huge bummer. (We live in Center City Philadelphia so we are not overly sensitive to noise.)

Like another reviewer, we had hoped to snorkel off the dock. We too arrived during a storm so it's hard to say what caused what but there was a TON of trash in the water even on calm days. Including... bathroom trash. There is no other way to say it. It was a huge bummer. Again, who knows where it came from or what, but the water was not suitable for swimming while we were there. Maybe other times of year it is?

The cabins themselves need sprucing up to justify the prices. For example, our shower curtain was moldy. The bed was... well... Jack mentioned they're getting new bedding soon and that is a veyy good thing. The cabins just felt like they hadn't been updated in... years. (It will be noted that they WERE cleaned every day.)

Koko does have a ton of positives. Kyaks were available for us to use and we took 'em out to the mangroves one morning which was a great experience. The dock itself is neat and has great views - we even saw a visiting ray from the dock! Oh and the walk into town takes about 15 minutes or you can hop in a taxi for 50 cents, which is REALLY handy.

All in all, we would have been thrilled with Koko if we paid $40-50 a night. But to justify the prices the cabins need updating, they need to invoke some sort of sound ordinance (or be upfront about the noise on the website), and the residents need to band together to clean up the bay. Again, we REALLY wanted to love this place - the hosts were nice and accommodating, but the actual accommodation fell short.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrieRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Colon hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
429 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
558 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
138 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koko Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koko Resort

Address: Las Cabanas, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range: $80 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a picture postcard. Cabins built over the water of a beautiful bay. Various size houses. Steps from the beach. 5 Minutes to town. Fantastic sunsets from the dock and lit up fish viewing at night. Full kitchens, AC, fans, maid and laundry service. Full time security, Safety boxes in rooms. Wireless Internet. Kayaks, bikes, snorkel masks free. Grocery delivery. We speak English and Spanish and will help you with arrangements for a perfect vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Koko Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koko Hotel Isla Colon
Koko Resort Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing