We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Koko Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koko Resort
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Isla Colon
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I travel a lot around the world, but this place is unique and fantastic. Jack and Leigh are so friendly and give you the best local tips that you can ask for. Jack also make an amazing breakfast every day. The cabin is so nice and spacious and we did not want to leave at all. Would definitively come back and recommend it to everyone. One word to describe it: amazing. And very safe and clean also :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    69
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
72
151
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

in local residential area
cabins over the water are very nice
Lee and Jack are very helpful arranging excursions, getting taxi transportation, ect.
actually they are willing to do anything to make your stay more enjoyable

if you don't like staying in a neighborhood with the locals this is not the place to stay

all in all we give it a "thumbs-up"

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise4946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We just came back from a weekend in Bocas del Toro, and we stayed at Koko Resort. Our experience was just wonderful! We stayed on the Island Suite, but got to know the rest of the hotel too. It is on a residential area so don't expect for it to be surrounded by other big hotels, but that is part of its charm. The main street (where all the action is) is just 15 minutes away if you walk, and less than 5 minutes if you take a cab. The place is beautiful and clean (we highly recommend watching the sunset from the dock), and the breakfast is AMAZING! The owners go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and at home. We are definitively going back!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GloBrenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed at Koko Resort for a few days in early July. Jack, Lee and Cubby are fabulous hosts (and Jack is a great cook!). The cabins are adorable and picturesque. The bay is beautiful. The neighbors are friendly. We had a wonderful time in Bocas del Toro and would recommend Koko Resort to anyone in the area. Jack and Lee helped us schedule awesome tours/activities, helped us avoid the crazy cab drivers (153- you know who you are), and sent us to delicious restaurants- they even called to check in on us at each destination. Above and beyond. Hope to return soon! Thank you Jack & Lee

katia / aaron

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

First night we stayed in BAHIA DEL SOL, there we missed the orivacy, so we changed to the dolphin House, from KOKO Resort (the owners are the same!), which was a very very good decision!

We loved staying in this fully equipped house, withe the view on the bay, the hammoc in front of the house, and alle the privacy we could get. We stayed 2 nights there and were totally relaxed! We enjoyed the delicous breakfast, which is included, and walked from here to bocas town (a 15 minute walk).

We can totally recommen staying here!

Room Tip: The house in the fron provide the best view on Saigon Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReiseLieschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Our family of five stayed at Koko Resort for 6 nights in early June 2011. Upon arrival our flight had been changed so there was no one to greet us but no big deal! We hopped in a taxi (60 cents per person, $1 if you have luggage) and were off to Saigon Bay.

Lee greeted us at the gate of Bahia del Sol. They were wondering why we were so early and we told them of our flight change. They felt very badly that they weren't there to greet us and offered to make us breakfast, a very nice gesture on their part as they weren't expecting us for breakfast.

Lee got us right into our room (also nice as we were not only very early, it was very early in the day!) . We stayed in the two room suite that is right behind the main cabins. The rooms were very nice and comfortable and we truly enjoyed what time we spent in them. We had a dead battery in one of the ac units and shortly after I told Lee about it, the batteries were replaced. This was the only problem we had the whole time.

Breakfast every morning was great and it was a treat to get to know both Jack and Lee who are two fascinating people! We even hung out at Bahia a few days just to chat with them. Jack and Lee are quick to recommend a place, help make a taxi or tour reservation and are just generally very helpful. Jack even took our son with him to walk the dog, which my son loved. The tours we went on were all great (and cheap by Central America standards) and we really fell in love with Bocas while there.

We will admit that when we first arrived we were a little put out by all the trash in Saigon and were wondering how we were going to spend six nights on this dirty tiny island. Well, after one day we were "Bocatized" and had a hard time leaving. I think you truly need to spend a few days here to immerse yourself in the wonderful, wacky, beautiful surroundings of Bocas. A stay with Jack and Lee (my kids call her Koko lol) will only help. Oh and they even did our laundry. Which was much needed and very sweet of them.

We hope to someday go back to Bocas and stay with Jack and Lee.

Room Tip: Island Suite was fantastic for 5 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

What a great place! I don't know quite how to review KoKo, but suffice to say I love the place! The cabins are perfect- roomy but quaint, with a kitchen, large bathroom and dining area, plus the porch and the dock. I can't say enough good things about the cabins. The ocean breeze is nice, although on a still, hot afternoon, the cabin can get warm; thank goodness for A/C (my one minor complaint- the A/C is slightly underpowered and the large bed is upstairs in the hotter part of the cabin). Jack's breakfasts are great, and he doesn't mind getting up a bit early if you're flying out on the 8am plane. The price isn't the lowest around, but it's worth the slight splurge and still cheaper than a lot of vacation stays. Don't miss staying here if you're coming to Bocastown!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandsunsurf72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
0.9 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
134 reviews
3.8 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
303 reviews
4.5 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koko Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koko Resort

Property: Koko Resort
Address: Las Cabanas, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a picture postcard. Cabins built over the water of a beautiful bay. Various size houses. Steps from the beach. 5 Minutes to town. Fantastic sunsets from the dock and lit up fish viewing at night. Full kitchens, AC, fans, maid and laundry service. Full time security, Safety boxes in rooms. Wireless Internet. Kayaks, bikes, snorkel masks free. Grocery delivery. We speak English and Spanish and will help you with arrangements for a perfect vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Koko Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koko Hotel Isla Colon
Koko Resort Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing