We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Little slice of paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Marlin Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Colon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Marlin Resort
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Isla Colon
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little slice of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were turned onto this place last minute by one of the friends of the owner of the last place we were staying. We booked it "sight unseen" because of their description of the location, the surf and it's owners. It is located right on the sand on Caranero. The Pickled Parrot is run by the owners in is over the water right in front of the suites. We liked George and Jessica immediately. The beer at the restaurant is ice cold and their chicken sandwich is delicious! The view couldn't have been better from the bar seat. Our room at the Marlin was HUGE! Like a small apt. Sleeping in a king size bed was great and the air conditioner was a wonderful addition. This was by far the best shower we had all vacation too. Hot, hot water was greatly appreciated. Everything was clean and the price was fantastic! Surf was close, Bocas town was a five minute water taxi and Bi Bi's restaurant is walking distance for a great breakfast waterfront. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifire77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Walking to the surf break on carenero, we wondered upon the pickled parrot bar rest , and talking to the owner george he informed us he had a couple of suites, and one was avalialble for a couple of nights, we looked at it and it was ausome, great view of the break, large rooms with king beds and air con, 5 min boat ride to bocas town, this was us, the bar has top shelf liquor with ice coold beers, the food was to die for, hugh 1/2 pound burgers, cribbean crealo fish and the ty soup was the best, the surf was up and we stayed for 5 days it rocked.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfbreak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

We just happened to stumble upon this place when we visited The Pickled Parrot for a beer on a Sunday afternoon and ended up leaving our hostel the next day and stayed here for 5 nights!

We met George and immediately liked him, he mentioned he had 2 suites and 50 metres from the bar and we ended up staying there for 5 nights. The suites are great value, my girlfriend and I had the bedroom with a super king sized mattress and a mate had the bed in the front room. Both beds were extremely comfortable, our bed was the best bed we've stayed in in our trip (we've been away for 7 months so far).

the bar is beautiful, the best view of Isla Carenero by far. We loved it there, fishing at night from the bar and watching the nurse sharks scavenge for leftovers in the clear turquoise waters below. If there is a more relaxing place in Central America, we've yet to find it.

We only planned to stay there for 2 nights but we just couldn't leave such was the hospitality and kindness showed by George and his wife. Another review mentions Georges son, Jorge... What a cool little guy!

All in all we had a sensational time there and we'd definitely stay there again if we're back in this part of the world. We've told a few friends to head out to Bocas and relax for a week or two just to escape the hustle and bustle of the mainland.

Zapatilla Island has the best beach we've seen outside of Thailand so far (we're off to the San Blas Islands in a few days so that might change!). There's a very nice beach only 200 metres from the bar.

All in all you cannot fault this place, George let us run up a bar tab and as we're English we had quite a large bar bill! Oh, and he only sells fish/lobster if he gets it fresh, ask him what he's got and if it's fresh he'll tell you. We had stunning lobster dishes there that were so fresh and tasty.

10/10. Thanks George and Yessica for making us feel so welcome. If anyone wants any more info, feel free to message me.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faceman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2008

What can I say about the Blue Marlin. Maybe it was the time of year we chose to go there. We arrived on Bocas and took a water taxi to Blue Marlin at 8:00 a.m. We were supposed to be picked up at the airport by Yessica who it turned out was on the SAME flight we were on yet made no effort to try and locate us and transport us to the island. We walked the 3 or 4 blocks from the airport to town, found a water taxi and made our way to Carenero. We were met by George, Yessica's husband, who was friendly enough but was in trouble with his wife because the rooms were not made up for us. We waited in the bar area while Yessica cleaned the room for us, all the while being bitten by the sand fleas or no seeums. George did give us some spray concoction he had which helped. After we were shown to our room, which was modest at best, we put our bags away and took a walk up the beach area toward what we thought was a town. We discovered that there were no roads at all on the island and that all transport was by water taxi or walking, and told to not take the path that cuts across the island through the indians village because they had dogs that would attack us. Needless to say we decided that this was not the place for us to spend our 5 days and took a water taxi into Bocas town to try and l find a place to stay. We ran upon Hotel del Mar which had several rooms. We selected a second floor room with balcony overlooking the water from across the street. It was very nice, clean and they had tv service and breakfast. Blue Marlin was very basic. The bed was okay but we only had ONE lightbulb in the bedroom area, no lamps by the bed to read by (we knew there was no tv) but thought we would be able to at least read at night. The bathroom had only one light bulb as the others were burned out. We asked about that but they were never replaced. There is not much to do on this island and the best place to stay by far would have been Dona Mara down the beach. We had some food there and the people running it were very nice. Sometimes when planning a trip using the internet you make a mistake. Blue Marlin may be good for some travelers but not us. It is way too remote, buggy, no amenities in the room and just plain nothing to do. Stay on the main island of Colon in Bocas town. We highly recommend the hotel del mar. It's reasonable and nice. Maybe it's our age showing that Blue Marlin didn't suit us. Just beware if you stay here. We even thought about the Buccaneer next door but when walknig the beach did not see a single traveler staying there either.

  • Liked — Not really much. The bed was okay. THat is about it
  • Disliked — Location. Way too remote. Nothing to do.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank clwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

I can only say good things about the Blue Marlin. We stayed only 2 nites and wished it would have been more.
The Blue Marlin is small and very private. The owners are so warm to welcome and help with anything that you could possibly need on your stay. .."Thank you George and Yessaca"
The Pickeled Parrot has some really great food and drinks located in a fantastic setting out on the water.

As I said at the start, This is just the right place to enjoy a vacation.

  • Liked — On the beach
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mrfuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2008

My husband, myself and our 11 year old daughter stayed here and had a great time. We had been staying at a place down the beach which costed us twice as much. We literally stumbled onto this place and stayed. The food was awesome we loved the Thai Soup and whole snapper cooked in garlic butter, YUM! We were going to have dinner on the main island but decided to stay in at the Pickled Parrot and have the soup again and of course several more of George's special Jimmy Buffet Margaritas. Yeah, the bugs were bad but "Hello " we were in the Caribbean surrounded by mangroves, the bugs are bad all over the Bocas Islands even at a 5-star expensive resorts. We just brought our super backwoods bugspray and didn't complain. Swimming in that warm beautiful Caribbean water was well worth every bite. I highly recommend this resort for families it is quiet and has good safe swimming and kayaks for use. We stayed in a room with a king bed in a separate bedroom and then a single bed in the living area. They have an additional room which attaches to this for a bigger family.

  • Liked — food and drinks
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marycloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
154 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2008

Our family of 5 (with kids aged 9,6 and 3) stayed March 2007 (with 3 kids it is tough to get these reviews done). Bocas is an awesome area with tons to do. George and Yessica know lots about the area and can point you to tours, etc.
For the price, definitely above average accommodations. large 2-room 'suite' for lack of a better description. Plenty of room for our family. Noise from the family above was minimal, though the common wall with the other downstairs apartment was a bit thin-wear yourself out having fun during the day and you'll have no problem sleeping.
The Pickled Parrot was great for the price, the beer and sodas were always cold and the owners have great stories to share. A testament to the food is the fact that our 6-year old ordered the same thing every night-seafood green curry-prepared very well with the fresh seafood delivered that day-yes-a boat pulls up and the chef gets his pick of fish caught just hours before.
The beach area had chitras/sand fleas, but mild when we were there (light compared to many other places I have been in CA). Using the kayaks and snorkeling around a small reef a kayak ride away were good times (not great snorkeling, but fun adventures).
The kids living nearby were quick to make friends with our kids, play baseball, play in the water, etc. The real metric is whether we would go back again-if we were going to stay in either Bocas Town or on Isla Carneros, definitely, but I think if we went back to the Bocas area we would also try a different island to do somehting different.l

  • Liked — The pickled Parrot Restaurant
  • Disliked — The Sand Fleas
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoulderTravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
0.5 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
3.2 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Resort

Property: Blue Marlin Resort
Address: Isla Carenero, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel
Blue Marlin Resort Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing