We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Hotel Casa Max

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Max
Ranked #15 of 45 Isla Colon B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The place was extremely clean, hospitable, a quick walk into town. The restaurant on the premised was very good, and it was not a noisy hotel like others in town. Air Conditioned, Ceiling Fans, modern washroom in the room, and real cable TV.

Close to amenities and away from the kid backpacking scene of dumb drunks kids.

Next trip back I will book here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 95 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

We paid for our room without first inspecting it and it was the last room available. When we walked into the room it stunk like bug spray so we decided to check the mattress for bedbugs and it was infested. The owner wouldn't give me my money back then finally did after I started to make a scene and the other guest were paying attention. I understand bed bugs do happen but to argue with me saying that its their policy not to give refunds was completely unreasonable considering we had checked in and out within 3 minutes.

Room Tip: Check the mattress under the seam before paying.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sunshinesteve123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

An excellent small hotel for the money, in a good location. The rooms have recently been refurbished in a simple , but very clean & useful style. The restaurant is a very open & airy space over most of the ground floor and the breakfast was first rate. Unfortunately the restaurant was not open for dinner whilst we were there, but it does have a good rep. However, there is a good alternative nearby.The owners were friendly & helpful. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue&Paul-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Nothing to fault about this hotel. The hosts were accommodating and friendly, the location was great, the hotel was roomy and airy. The restaurant there was extremely affordable compared to the rest of the island and the food was great. There was in room wifi, cleaned every day and hot water showers. We had an attractive room with fan and private bathroom, and it was quiet compared with the main street just round the corner. We stayed 6 nights in Bocas and loved every minute

Room Tip: Upstairs room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mid21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel - we had a great time. Friendly service, good location. The room was lovely (modern bathroom and polished floors) and we got clean towels every day. We ate breakfast there once - best omlette I've ever had. Didn't get around to eating dinner at the restuarant but the Indonesian food looked really good. We had air con and a fan... it was luxury for $45 a night! Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room upstairs - there looked like there were some good ones with views over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We had a great room that had been recently renovated! Brand new bathroom, A/C and ceiling fan, and wifi. It's in a great location close to town and the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We arrived to Bocas del Toro in the rain, and Casa Max was the first place we checked to see if they had rooms. It is a block off of the main road and close to plenty of bars and restaurants (we especially enjoyed the Rip Tide bar that was around the corner). We were with another couple who took a small, basic room on the main floor, but our room on the second floor appeared to have been very recently renovated with wood floors, new bathroom etc. In fact during our stay a flat screen TV was installed! Not at all bad for the price that we paid! Especially during high season! The hotel has an Indonesian resturant attached to it that we only tried once for breakfast (delicious!). They also have security at night which was nice. We would have no issues recommended Casa Max.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
104 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 3 in Isla Solarte
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
#4 of 45 in Bocas Town
327 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tesoro Escondido
Tesoro Escondido
#1 of 1 in Bluff Beach
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Max

Address: Avenida G Norte | Bocas del Toro, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Colon
Price Range: $67 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our place in the Caribbean, Hotel Casa Max A family hotel run by Arie & Shirley coming from the Netherlands. Located near the heart of Bocas town, in the centre of Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro. Offers charming private rooms in a modern redesigned two story wooden building. Some rooms on the 2nd floor have a private balcony. There is free wifi in public areas and the rooms include internet smart TV. We have a restaurant on the ground floor that offers an international menu, Breakfast from 8 to 11 am and Dinner from 4 to 9 pm. Feel free to ask us for suggestions on activities to keep you entertained. Visit Bocas del Toro, stay at Hotel Casa Max!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Max Hotel Isla Colon
Hotel Casa Max Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing