We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable jungle retreat most suitable to...”
other travelers have booked this property
Beautiful Bluff Beach just a minute walk away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Bluff Beach just a minute walk away
The Cabana Hammock with the pond in the background
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Beautiful Bluff Beach just a minute walk away
The Cabana
Hammock with the pond in the background
Hammock with pond in the background
bathroom
The cabana and the pond
Picture taken from the property with Bluff Beach in the distance
Path to the Cabana
The Cabana
The property
Monkeys on the property
One day we counted 16 monkeys on the property
Moneys on the property
Picture of the monkeys taken from the cabana
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Old_K00t
1 review
“Comfortable jungle retreat most suitable to surfers”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Bluff Beach is a beautiful area and I'm glad we got to experience it. Sterling's cabin is perched on a hill a couple of hundred yards up from the only road that parallels the beach. While we were comfortable at the cabin and enjoyed nature at it's finest in terms of birds and butterflies, more must be said about location. The day we arrived for our two week vacation was the only day we were able to swim at Bluff - from that day forward the surf was too high. Under those circumstances we went in to Bocas town more often than intended. We rented bikes from Sterling at a very reasonable rate but discovered quickly that we were one way riders, taking taxis for the return trip ($15). Oh yes that road ... for some reason we thought it was 3 miles from town but it was more like 7 or 8. coming from town it is paved for about 1/2 way and then it gets interesting. The second half is a road composed of stretches of dirt, sand and rock ... long stretches of potholes with shorter stretches of flat so you bounce around a lot in the taxis or push the bikes every now and then over the rough spots. There was a spot where you had to ford a 6 - 8 foot creek and the aforementioned high surf threatens to reclaim some of the sandy parts of the road. Staying at Sterling's was an adventure we will long remember. We do appreciate Sterling's kind helpfulness and insights into living in the Bocas area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Had the pleasure of staying at Sterling's Eco cabin for 3 nights. Everything we expected and more. Cabin Sterling's friend Megan picked us up and took us to the cabin, explained the in's and out's' gave us some good pointers and left us to enjoy. Rented a wheeler from the Flying Pirates which gave us the freedom to explore the island. The Caimans in the pond entertained us everyday. The monkeys had supper and breakfast with us. If you want the jungle experience with all the comforts this is the place. We would have found the town of Bocas to loud. Used the Pirates trails to explore one day and went to starfish beach on the wheeler the next.
Thanks Sterling and Megan

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JnKKMille...
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful private cabana surrounded by nature, a short drive from Bocas Town”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here with our toddler in the beginning of March. It was our first time to Bocas del Toro, and if we ever go back we will definitely stay at Sterling's EcoCabin again. When we arrived to the island, Sterling met us in town and drove us out to the cabana. He was very friendly, eager to help and gave us many good recommendations for the area. The drive to the cabana is gorgeous as you follow the coastline the majority of the way. It is set back from the main road and is on a hill overlooking the surrounding jungle and your own pond. There is so much wildlife all around, it was really a treat. You could hear the frogs at night and we woke up to a caiman leaving the pond in the morning to go on a hunt. We saw so many beautiful birds and other creatures. The cabana is well-screened so bugs were never an issue.
From the cabana, it is a short walk to the beach which sits across the street from the driveway of the rental. The beach is beautiful and the whole time we were there it felt like we were the only ones on the island, with the exception of a few local kids that came out to play. The beach has very strong riptides though so isn't recommended for swimming (at least that time of the year, I don't know about the rest of the year). It is also a turtle hatching beach.
There are a couple restaurants not too far away, but in order to get back into Bocas Town, it is best to either rent a vehicle or get a taxi. We rented a four-wheeler one day and took it from the cabana through town and then up to Starfish Beach on the northwest side of the island. Definitely do this!
The cabana is beautifully constructed and has a nice porch overlooking the pond, with two hammocks. It is immaculately clean and the bed was comfortable. There is a nice kitchen, though we ate most of our meals in town. There is a toilet and sink inside the cabana, but the shower is outside. Because it is an eco cabin, the water is a bit brisk for showers, but tolerable. I would especially recommend this place to couples looking for a romantic getaway or for single people. We enjoyed it with our daughter, but if you do bring young children, you'll just have to make sure they are careful on the porch because the railing is designed for the best view and not to hold kids up.:) There are also chickens and lizards running around the property, which we enjoyed. Carnival was going on while we were there, so I was especially glad we stayed outside of the main town as we were surrounded by beauty and nature's noises rather partying in the middle of the night. It's a much more unique experience than in town also. If you love nature and don't mind being a little off the beaten path, this is the place for you.

(I'll try to add pictures when I'm able).

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The building itself, the view and the surrounding nature.
Liked least: If you want to get to the main town, it is too far to walk, but it is a beautiful drive.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueFoodi...
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent 'unplugged' stay”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my boyfriend booked this cabin for a full week in May. We had never been to Bocas so we didn't know what to expect. Sterling and his girlfriend were such a great help in getting us to the cabin (somewhat distant from the town center) and basically making us feel welcome. They shared tips and recommendations for where to eat. The cabin is completely made of wood and receives solar power. It is small, but very charming. One bed, bathroom (outside shower), fridge, a small table and small kitchen is more than enough to have in that cabin. It has a porch where you can sit and enjoy the sound of the waves or just relax while trying to get a glimpse of the caiman who lives in the pond below. Have no fear, it is a beautiful place that I will highly recommend to others travelling there. I am used to being online all day and watching TV, but I am very happy this place lacked both as it allowed us both to enjoy our time in a better, more productive way. We rented Sterling's quad for a day and we were able to explore the island a bit. There are 2 restaurants within walking distance. The road from where Bluff Beach begins can get quite muddy during rainy days, so beware. The beach is a 5-minute walk, tops, but not very calm waters as it faces east, so avoid swimming there. A taxi headed downtown is around $12. Sterling was great and even drove us to the airport on the day we checked out. We hope to be able to visit some other time. Thank you for everything, we had a blast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kickdiva1
Palm Springs, CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Private Paradise”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Every review has been spot on! The cabin is new and secluded. It is in the middle of the jungle so you get the plants and animals that go along with it including the tropical sounds. The beaches are beautiful with very few people around and only a 5 minute walk from the cabin. We loved the cabin and Sterling, but think we should mention a few things that might help you decide if this is the place for you. The cabin is a 20 min. quad ride on a dirt road back to town, which was a blast to do during the day, and is also on the way to the "Flying Pirate Monkey Trails" Without a quad, A taxi will cost you anywhere from $12-$15. There are also 2 beach bars within a 15 walk from the cabin. This is an eco lodge, so it runs on solar power and has no hot water, and an outdoor shower. If you are a sociable party animal, this is not the place for you. IF you love nature and privacy, this is the place you want to be!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the porch listening and watching the jungle.
Liked least: The outside shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UsLil
us
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We couldn't have asked for better accommodations during our stay in Bocas Del Toro. We rented a 4 wheeler and got groceries in town, then met Sterling and followed him to the cabin. The cabin was perfect size for 2 people and had everything we needed! It was tucked off the road surrounded by palm trees and a view of a pond. We saw and heard lots of wildlife-including monkeys and frogs. We took advantage of the outdoor grill and the firepit. The cabin was well beyond our expectations! Bluff Beach is amazing with so much to explore. If your looking for a quiet, clean and beautiful place to stay, I highly recommend Sterling's EcoCabin. Thanks again Sterling for everything! We will be back;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2014
Thanks for the great review. I am glad that you guys enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you guys soon. Cheers, Sterling
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing