We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sand Dollar Beach Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Sevilla(Isla Colon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koko Resort(Isla Colon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Los Delfines(Isla Colon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Angela(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bocas Inn(Isla Colon)
View Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Laguna(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Isla Chica(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
172
19
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
19
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morninggreat hostsper personbocas del torobotanical gardenshomemade yogurt and granolaa short taxi rideeggs benedictsouthern plantationupstairs verandachocolate farmair conditioninglocation was perfectbreakfast burritofalling asleephome from homelarge porch
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 194 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I recently spent two weeks in Panama. Not until we spent five nights as guests of Sand Dollar Beach Bed & Breakfast were we able to embrace the country's beauty and get a hands on experience from the owners, Sharon and Mark. You could tell our hosts took great pride in their beautiful establishment. They shared their extensive knowledge of the area, offered ideas on what to experience, and set up tours for us. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. The large porch was wonderful for viewing the sea, bird watching, or reading a book in one of their hammocks. The breakfasts, prepared by Darmius, were delicious and varied from day to day. When we did venture out to Bocas town, we couldn't wait to return to Sand Dollar to chill out and take in more of its charm. I thought it was quite nice, after phoning for a taxi to pick up their departing guests, that Sharon would wait patiently near the road, in the hot sun alongside the guests, until the taxi picked them up. When we had to leave, it felt like we were leaving close friends. What a welcoming experience! We will gladly return one day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sully5452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Sand Dollar Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

We enjoyed meeting you and are happy you were able to extend your stay. There is so much to do in Bocas and you were able to get below the surface, enjoy many activities and still find time to relax. As for waiting with you at the gate, it was my pleasure. I hated to see you go! We hope you can make it back next year. Thank you for your positive review. It's good to know what people appreciate and where we might improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Mark and Sharon made my husband and I feel at home the minute we were dropped off at the Inn. We immediately sat down to breakfast which was wonderful and fresh every morning we were there. The rooms were comfortable and the large porches were welcoming. Mark and Sharon were full of wonderful ideas for things to see and do, and even accompanied us on a Cacao tour. Sharon took pictures and immediately emailed them to me.
The location is ideal! Just far enough away from Bocas town to be peaceful. The beach is right across the street!
We would recommend this welcoming spot to our closest family and friends. We hope to be back in the near future!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Sand Dollar Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. It's always fun for us to get to know people from all over the world, right on our front porch. Thank you for your compliments. We enjoyed the cacao tour on Bastimentos with you. By the way, the Bocas Brewery opened this month and has been a great success. You'll have to come back and try it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We recently spent four nights at the Sand Dollar B&B. It is located just a short taxi ride outside Bocas del Toro town (close enough to enjoy Boca's good restaurants and to have fast access to all the other islands and attractions), yet has an air of a remote location that allows you to "leave it all behind". The rooms and amenities are very comfortable. The inn has great verandas (with a very busy hummingbird feeder) and is surrounded by a big private lush tropical garden. You don't even have to leave the premises for great bird- and other wildlife-watching! Breakfast is delicious, thanks to the incredibly friendly and competent Damaris! What made this place really special and unforgettable are the hosts Sharon and Mark, who make you feel so at home from the first minute of your stay that you get the feeling you are visiting your favourite friends or relatives! Thanks guys, we will definitely return if we get the chance to come back to Panama! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Sand Dollar Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thank you for your review. We were happy to have you stay with us and hope you can come back again. Thank you for teaching me the names of some of our birds and sharing your fantastic photos. I am quickly becoming a bird watcher. It's difficult not to be, as they come by the verandah all day long for us to admire. We are always working to make our business better, and are glad you left Panama with fond memories of your time at the Sand Dollar Beach Bed & Breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

From the moment we were greeted at the gate by Sharon and Mark, the innkeepers, we felt we were visiting friends. Sand Dollar offers a comfortable environment, excellent breakfasts, view of the sea, gorgeous garden and comforts of home.

Close enough to town for taxis and accessability to all the charms of Bocas.

We will return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilahfresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Sand Dollar Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

We think you made the right choice with an extended stay, as it allowed you to really get comfortable and get to know the area. Not to mention, we enjoyed your company! It was lovely sharing stories and meals with you and other guests. Although we didn't get much time for Art, I enjoyed a short painting session with you on the verandah, and appreciated your tips. We certainly hope to see you in the future. Thank you for your positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful stay in a lovely four room B&B plantation style, rooms breezy and comfortable on upper floor, with shared balcony to relax and enjoy the beach view, and below owners apartment and kitchen, and balcony for breakfast and shared time with other guests.
A great experience that I would recommend to family and friends. The property is perfect for a tropical vacation experience set in awesome grounds / tropical vegetation and best of all the owners, Sharon & Mark are a welcoming couple who make their guests feel like old friends. Very nice people who are relaxed and help in just about every way. My wife and Anne loved our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Sand Dollar Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you Martin and Anne, for your positive review! We want you to know that we have purchased an electric kettle to make that afternoon tea time easier. Do come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews