We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasteless, very tasteless (only Restaurant! not Hotel)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Limbo on the Sea Hotel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Isla Colon
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“tasteless, very tasteless (only Restaurant! not Hotel)”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

location and optic of the El Limbo Hotel is nice, but our food was not so good.
Catch of the day was a tasteless piece of fish including fishbones.

this was, overall, a disappointing dinner with my wife.
OK, it was not expensive, but I guess there are better options.
cheers

(PS: I cant rate the hotel, this rating concerns only the resto)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    34
    38
    17
    19
See reviews for
17
56
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our Xmas dinner at the restaurant at the Hotel Limbo by the Sea even though the starter, supposedly ceviche, was just prawns with a touch of chopped onion and some sauce. The main course, Mahi Mahi with a wonderful sauce and tasty vegetables and coconut rice, was excellent as was the dessert, a crunchy caramel and lemon biscuit. One of the best meals we had in Bocas, and we had a few!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank expatriado45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We decided to spend an extra day in Bocas (after Playa Tortuga) and chose this place based on price and close to the water taxi we needed to catch early the next morning. Bathroom was a bit tight, but the shower was roomy. Great AC after a long hot day at Starfish Beach. Ate dinner downstairs and everyone in our group (4) enjoyed what they got. We were misinformed about breakfast and had to leave before it started. We ate at the small red building across the street- delish.

Room Tip: Saw the wifi antenna on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoGoingGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

So this is the type of hotel that's best booked on arrival when you can negotiate the rate (which they are very amenable to). It's right in the center of Bocas town, on the water. Most of the rooms don't face the main street, so they're pretty quiet. The rooms with balconies facing the water are more expensive and worth it if they fit your budget. All rooms have flat screen TVs (with CNN, E! etc), hot water showers with good pressure, A/Cs, full length mirrors and mini fridges. There is WiFi in the lobby and rooms. Rooms are cleaned daily. The waterfront patio is one of the best ones in town.

We checked out about 10 places when we arrived into town and this was by far the best deal for what you get. We were easily able to negotiate $10 off per night and probably could have gotten an even better deal if we tried.

Yes, the breakfast is awful. I've never had suck overcooked eggs in my life and we tried both scrambled and over-easy (not easy at all) and it was pointless. The coffee is watery. The orange "juice" is basically Sunny D or something like that. For good breakfast, skip this and simply go to Johnny's Bakery down the street.

WiFi doesn't always work properly. TVs may need some adjusting. But for $65 per night that we paid, it wasn't a huge deal. We slept well, the A/C was always working, etc.

Bottom line -- good value for what you get if you can negotiate a rate.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the street if you like peace and quiet. If you can stretch the budget, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartcooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Limbo in Jan.The hotel has great location in the center of Bocas town overlooking the sea. However, the service is rather poor and the staff not very friendly. On average you wait 1h to get the breakfast and the guys serving it do not look very happy doing this job. Our first room for 2 nights was quite nice with a balcony but due to the overbooking we had to change to a smaller room in the first floor for the last night. That was quite a horrible experience when my girlfriend went to a bathroom in the middle of the night and there were 3 big cockroachers waiting there. I told that reception the next morning and they did not even apologise for that. In the end the manager offered a 6!!! USD discount on the price of 75 USD per night.
Regarding the fact that we were paying 100 USD per night on our first 2 nights I would definitely expect a better service and accommodation.

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms in the first floor as it doesnt smell good and there is a lot of noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas_climbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isla Colon hotels

1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Great location! Take the rooms with seaview! Breakfast is ok, staff is ok, rooms are clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panamatravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Slept in the stardard room for two nights. Was staying at an other hotel before, but prefered this one for location and atmosphere. We have checked other sea-side hotels in Bocas, and from what I have seen, this one was the best value for money option in my opinion. Although 'down town' no problems with street-noise and conveniently close to just about everything.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fly_eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Colon hotels
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#6 of 13 in Bocas Town
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan's Cay Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel
#8 of 13 in Bocas Town
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Limbo on the Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Limbo on the Sea Hotel

Property: El Limbo on the Sea Hotel
Address: Calle 2A. Isla Colon, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Limbo on the Sea Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your El Limbo on the Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Limbo On The Sea Hotel Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing